We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here for a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This legendary hotel is as good as you imagine staying in an Indian palace would be. You're greeted by a shower of rose petals when you arrive. The food and service are perfect. Also, because I had to mix work and pleasure, I was pleasantly surprised to find the Internet access is fast and reasonably priced (600 Rp for two devices fro 24 hrs). I tried room service in the evenings and breakfast in the restaurant. The selection and quality of food are great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,831 - 1,837 of 3,096 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

The welcome at the jetty is really warm and I immediately had a good feel about our stay here. Unfortunately the first room we were shown into was not at all to our taste and a real let down after all the other hotels we had visited. I mentioned this and thought no more. Within a few minutes however we were contacted to say that there were some alternative rooms we could view and we ended up with a really lovely room. I was impressed by the efficient handling of the matter and from then on I was really happy there. It is mesmerising being able to stand and gaze at the water and all the activity going on around you. This is such a different setting for a hotel that it is difficult to capture in words how truly special it is - it is a little piece of magic

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Not just honeymooners, anyone looking for a luxurious holiday full of pampering head here. I love taj properties, their hospitality, little details that are taken care of! Everything from arrival to departure are so carefully thought of. His hotel is speak because besides its rich history my parents came here for their honeymoon. I can only believe ow romantic this is after seeing it now. It is beyond stunning, the boat ride, flowers, smiling staff, gorgeous rooms! Must must do if you go to dubious and if you can afford it. I will be staying t the leela his time because its a sponsored trip for work so ll do a face off.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princessofspice82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

From the moment you arrive at the Taj private jetty, the calm welcoming smiles of the staff soothe away all travelling worries as they take you into their care and pass you a refreshing ice cold towel.
Arrriving to rose petals falling from the sky as you step into the Palace, walking to breakfast to the sound of a live flautist hanging notes in the air beneath a dome in the terrace above, and the complimentary gifts just kept coming - delicious canapes at the bar, chocolates in my bedroom at the end of the day, taster dishes brought around to the table at every meal, folk dancing and music every evening, a parting gift as I checked out - incredible attention to detail and magically delivered. I slept beautifully, swam in the heavanly pool, sat tranquil in the beautifully appointed sitting rooms - heavanly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimimakestracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

You stay in a palace. You are pampered royally. They truly go out of the way to ensure you have a memorable stay.

Beautiful rooms, a lovely ambience, extremely attentive service, the best of chefs and cuisine.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor lake side rooms facing the City Palace. A marvellous view. You will feel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Subash1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A 3 night stay at the Taj lake palace hotel turned out to be the most amazing experience of my life. My friend and I enjoyed the 5 star luxury and unmatched pampering of the Taj group of hotels. Right from the reception at the airport, smooth check in, quality of food, immaculate hospitality, most friendly staff the Taj lake palace never fails to surprise. The rooms are excellent with every aspect taken care with attention to detail.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nausher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This was the most amazing hotel I have stayed in, I was in a suite room and the history in that room alone was enough to make the stay special. Back that up with the location, the brilliant service the quality of the food, the relaxing boat trip out to the hotel...made this a very memorable and enjoyable stay. I also had a massage which was wonderfully relaxing. If in the area it is a must stay as the whole experience exceeded my expectations

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pptuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 165 in Udaipur
1,908 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 165 in Udaipur
2,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#20 of 165 in Udaipur
716 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#33 of 165 in Udaipur
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £491 - £1,017 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing