We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special and unique place to make memories, wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Special and unique place to make memories, wonderful service”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here for just one night, which was not enough really, but we had already stayed a couple of nights elsewhere in Udaipur and done the sights, so we just stayed in the hotel and made the most of it. Our room was not enormous but a nice size with sofa, writing table etc. and I think they had upgraded us from our booking. The bed and bedlinen were amazing. There is a beautiful pool and I had a treatment at the spa - excellent and reasonable prices for a five star hotel. I hadn't really read the reviews before going as my partner booked it, so all the nice touches were a surprise, which I won't spoil for you. The food is incredibly good - Indian fine dining + Western. The service is wonderful - customer service is very good all over Rajasthan but this was the best we had had. The staff know your names from the start and make you feel that you are a very important customer to them. There are few downsides, although we were there in monsoon season and unsurprisingly there is a lot of moisture in the air. This meant that some of our clothes felt damp, as the AC was sucking in such humid air I think. We mentioned it to the front desk and they sent someone to look at it straight away and offered us a different room. Also the open internal courtyard does mean the noise can echo a bit and the birds make a racket at dawn - take some earplugs. But these are minor things. In the end it is an old building and unique. There is a newer high end hotel on the lake, but without this history. And that's not to mention James Bond! They do a very good job of maintaining this historic building and to such a high standard - the logistics are mind boggling. We came away with very happy memories, which is what it's all about.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,734
    198
    38
    18
    13
See reviews for
727
1,560
104
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

It's an actual palace that you stay at & they truly make you feel like Royalty :). It's the people that make the place worth it & i must say that the staff here was SUPER good. We really had a FAB holiday, we didn't step out of the property in the 4 days that we stayed there except for 1/2 a day when we went to see the city palace & the crystals there. When we got back to the Lake Palace, we realized how we actually missed being there for the 1/2 day that we stepped out. The food is excellent & the service & staff just do a wonderful job of making the experience even better. It's very cosy & perfect I would say, I am not sure if I would want to stay at another property if I were to visit Udaipur again on holiday. Don't know what more to say, it's an experience that one should enjoy if you can afford it. Eyes Shut I would go back there over & over again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoshanDutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This legendary hotel is as good as you imagine staying in an Indian palace would be. You're greeted by a shower of rose petals when you arrive. The food and service are perfect. Also, because I had to mix work and pleasure, I was pleasantly surprised to find the Internet access is fast and reasonably priced (600 Rp for two devices fro 24 hrs). I tried room service in the evenings and breakfast in the restaurant. The selection and quality of food are great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The welcome at the jetty is really warm and I immediately had a good feel about our stay here. Unfortunately the first room we were shown into was not at all to our taste and a real let down after all the other hotels we had visited. I mentioned this and thought no more. Within a few minutes however we were contacted to say that there were some alternative rooms we could view and we ended up with a really lovely room. I was impressed by the efficient handling of the matter and from then on I was really happy there. It is mesmerising being able to stand and gaze at the water and all the activity going on around you. This is such a different setting for a hotel that it is difficult to capture in words how truly special it is - it is a little piece of magic

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Not just honeymooners, anyone looking for a luxurious holiday full of pampering head here. I love taj properties, their hospitality, little details that are taken care of! Everything from arrival to departure are so carefully thought of. His hotel is speak because besides its rich history my parents came here for their honeymoon. I can only believe ow romantic this is after seeing it now. It is beyond stunning, the boat ride, flowers, smiling staff, gorgeous rooms! Must must do if you go to dubious and if you can afford it. I will be staying t the leela his time because its a sponsored trip for work so ll do a face off.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessofspice82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

From the moment you arrive at the Taj private jetty, the calm welcoming smiles of the staff soothe away all travelling worries as they take you into their care and pass you a refreshing ice cold towel.
Arrriving to rose petals falling from the sky as you step into the Palace, walking to breakfast to the sound of a live flautist hanging notes in the air beneath a dome in the terrace above, and the complimentary gifts just kept coming - delicious canapes at the bar, chocolates in my bedroom at the end of the day, taster dishes brought around to the table at every meal, folk dancing and music every evening, a parting gift as I checked out - incredible attention to detail and magically delivered. I slept beautifully, swam in the heavanly pool, sat tranquil in the beautifully appointed sitting rooms - heavanly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimimakestracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

You stay in a palace. You are pampered royally. They truly go out of the way to ensure you have a memorable stay.

Beautiful rooms, a lovely ambience, extremely attentive service, the best of chefs and cuisine.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor lake side rooms facing the City Palace. A marvellous view. You will feel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subash1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 161 in Udaipur
1,830 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 161 in Udaipur
2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 161 in Udaipur
701 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Property: Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing