We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel for a special occasion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel for a special occasion”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife selected Taj Lake Palace for a special occasion birthday which we celebrated with a group of friends from Australia and India. The staff at Taj Lake Palace provided us with an experience of a lifetime, and did everything possible to make this party truly memorable. We celebrated under the stars on the Mewar Terrace, overlooking the beautifully lit City Palace. Our rooms at the hotel were very grand and opulent, and were certainly up to the luxury standard expected from this class of hotel. This visit was our third to Udaipur, but it is the first time we have stayed at the Taj Lake Palace. It would be very difficult now to stay anywhere else in Udaipur. Absolutely spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RicN195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,671
    196
    37
    18
    12
See reviews for
692
1,537
101
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We spent one night in the palace. From the time you reach the jetty, till the time you leave the jetty, the staff treats you like royalty. It is worth every penny spent.

We went here in July 2013, in the off season, and were lucky to get an upgrade to a room with a balcony, on the the 2nd floor. The view from the balcony was great - we could see the Oberoi Udaivilas, the Leela and the Jagmandir island. The room was smallish, but comfortable.

As we were celebrating a special day, we got a cake and handcrafted umbrella from the hotel. They even took a picture for us and had it framed by the time we left.

We dined in Jharokha and Neel Kamal both. The food was delicious. We even received complimentary deserts for two of our meals. The service in the restaurants is great as well. At each and every place, you will feel well taken care of!

The breakfast experience wasn't too great though. The waiter forgot to tell us what we could order as part of the menu. Also, our toasts took a very long time to come (we were through with our breakfast by then) and the eggs weren't made the way we had requested. This was the only disappointing bit of our stay.

The palace has played host to the sets of a James Bond movie. You can ask the concierge for the DVD and watch it in your room, which will come with a bowl of pop corn and pepsi cans.

We went for the heritage walk, the boat cruise and the evening entertainment session. All of these were well organised and enjoyable.

We also used the spa, which was very elaborate. The therapists were good. Please book well in advance, especially is you want a couples therapy room.

The pool area is lovely. We were attended to by Bagh at the pool, who was friendly and great to talk.

The place is a must do, at least once in your life.

The one little not so great experience at breakfast will not stop me from giving this place a five star rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rapunzzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxenhope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just had the most magical two day stay in the Lake Palace Hotel as part of our tour of India. We stayed in this hotel in 2010 and had wondered if we would enjoy the experience as much as we had first time around. We should not have worried. From the moment we arrived at the reception jetty on the shore to the final minutes as we departed for the airport the Lake Palace did not disappoint and indeed it surpassed our expectations. Staff throughout the hotel are superbly trained and your every wish is catered for effortlessly. Once at the hotel, a sense of calmness prevails and you feel special just sitting looking back to the magnificent setting of the City Palace and Udaipur.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed in Lake palace from 6th to 9th Sep.. Lake Pichola is full with Water.. weather was pleasant and the Staff was truly helpful matching the Rajasthani culture of " Padharo Mahre Des"

I was in room 205 with Freat views of Lake, CIti Palace and a nearby Cable ride to a Temple on a hill.. Occassiaonal Boats goining here and there and Citi Palace lighting in the night were great..

Cultural Programmes, Roof Top Dinner and the Jharokha Restaurant were other attractions..

Room Tip: try to get a room with either city palace view or Jagmandir palace view.. (other two sides are front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravindra_khangarot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faridabad, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

It is normally perceived that Rajasthan is big NO in summers but I recommend those people to visit udaipur once.the hotel is very luxurious and best part is arrival by boat n on arrival u get garlanded as well.
I was upgraded to suite as well and my stay was very majestic.one should try to have at least one meal at its restaurant with lake view.i also enjoyed jacuzzi which is next to swimming pool.

Room Tip: Corner suites are having very good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepakdexit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
216 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The culmination of our trip to India was staying at the Taj Lake Palace. As its name implies wasca summer Palace now converted to a hotel. The rooms, food and staff was superb, but paled in comparison to the site. Sitting in the middle of a lake it was like a fairy tale. There was a winter palace, summer palace and monsoon palace. Life was good if you were the top of the food chain

Room Tip: Either one to see sunset or sunrise. Suggest sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

One glance at the Lake palace and you realise this is one of the most unique palace . The whole beautiful white palace stands majestically in centre of the lake. .

The Chandra Prakash suite was mesmerising with the ornate painting on it high ceilings , guilt moulding , carved marble pillars , private terrace with alcove and so on . .

Food n service in Jharoka is excellent . . Somehow everyone knows you and are aware of your food preferences . .thank you Amit , Praveen n Rose . . I particularly enjoyed dining in the alcove . . The views in the evening was breathtaking . . You see the lit up city palace n surrounding hotels on the banks . .

Its like dining in Venice and overlooking Budapest . . Very Unique . . Do not miss Rialto bridges little cousin from the restaurant . .

Dining in Neel Kamal is not be missed , Versace dinnerware, royal Rajasthani cuisine n lovely service . .

An unforgettable experience . .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vidhya_shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 156 in Udaipur
1,798 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 156 in Udaipur
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 156 in Udaipur
695 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Property: Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing