We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
188 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We loved staying at this hotel. We were treated great by the staff. The food was good, the spa was relaxing and the atmosphere was amazing. We loved looking out our window at night back at the city lights. We liked the boat ride to get to the hotel and the arrival was fun when we were showered with flowers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butch J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,671
    196
    37
    18
    12
See reviews for
692
1,537
101
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
148 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This was incredible experience of life. Everything is impeccable and meticulously drawn up. To start off, we were graciously greeted at the airport. We had ordered for a SUV for pick up but it was upgraded to Jagaur. Upgrade gave me a feeling that we were heading for great experience and what else can you expect when you head for a Taj property. I got a feeling that I would be treated like a Rani as we started our sojourn, but what unfolded was unbelievable. So it is true that if Indian want to do something well, they have the mettle in them.
As soon as we reached the Lake Palace entrance we were greeted by a set of smiling and happy people. The cool and fresh air caressed us and engulfed us in its beauty. The first view of the pristine Lake Palace on the serene waters of Lake Pichola was a welcome site. We were whisked away on well equipped boats to the entrance of the Lake Palace and were welcomed with rose petals. How very Indian…ahaa feeling. The front office was very helpful, polite and though we reached well before our check in time, they ensured we were comfortable and familiarized us with the property. We were led to a sumptuous buffet breakfast by the lake side. By about 9:30 A.M. we were comfortable in our room which over looked the lake. We felt our room was floating on the lake. Needless to say everything was perfect in the room with no reason to complain. The place smells very pristine and marvelous despite the fact that is midst a lake. Kudos for keeping the place so sparkling.
Evenings are quite interesting as local cultural dance and show is organized by the open bar on a backdrop of birds chirping vigoursly. Further magic unloaded when we headed for dinner. Of course our choice was Indian food, lo-behold what a job the chef did…all the three nights we stayed, we were left clicking our fingers courtesy the par excellence dishes rolled out. We were there on the Diwali day and were very impressed with the way hotel ensured that Indian traditions were followed to the last t. Infact, since last couple of years we have been on a vacation during Diwali and this was the first time, when we found we were touched by the Diwali fervor away from home with puja, lights, candles, phuljharis followed by sparkling wine.
Don’t miss the sunset boat ride, well worth even if you have taken similar boat rides earlier. The romanticism of the place just gets on and gives the relaxing effect. So if you wish to have sneak peek into the life of Raja’s and Rani’s of bygone era, this is place to be. Regret not that you didn’t see Venice because I can’t help but say this so much exotic than Venice.
I have run out adjectives to define this incredible place. Three Cheers to Taj Lake Palace team (indeed appear a motivated lot… because they exhibit so much pride been associated with this place), keep India flag flying high.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avidtraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Taj Lake Palace is an amazing place!! I feel like the people who wrote the imperfect reviews were at a different hotel and rated Taj by accident. The service is outstanding - to say the least - and words can not described the outstanding service!! Literally, if I looked slightly confused for a moment - either while walking around or sitting for a meal - there was someone there within seconds asking if I needed anything!! The breakfast is outstanding - in fact, they open breakfast early if there are any guests with an early flight! The rooms are very clean and they bring truffles at night after they turn down the sheets and and set out your house shoes. Oh and last but not least- the whole place smells amazing!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kaybeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Wow. This where your dreams and fantasies come together . It is beyond incredible. You arrive buy the shores of the lake to an open reception by a private pontoon. Your luggage is whisked away. A cool drink is given and your private boat awaits to take you to the hotel. Its pure magic. On arrival you are greeted in the magnificent Indian ceremony of welcome with the addition of a Rose petal shower rained on you from above. Everything is perfect and seamless . We were given a chilled guava juice and taken on a tour of the hotel which is magnificent with gorgeous open bar areas and cosy seating areas overlooking the water, a stunning water garden . We had been upgraded to a royal suite and it was gorgeous. Every amenity that you could possible want was there. For me a dressing area with a makeup place. Was a dream. An incredible marble bathroom with walk in shower. Our first night we sat in the courtyard to watch an Indian local dance under the trees sipping chilled champagne. Magical.
The rooftop fine dining restaurant lit by candles is a must if only for the magical view and atmosphere. The food is fine. Breakfasts in Jharokha the casual dining area overlooking the lake were perfect with fresh fruit juices in season . I had one of the best dinners in India there.
Nothing was too much for the staff from arranging a shopping trip to a marble artisan factory to helping locate a suitcase for the masses of shopping. Everything was truly perfect.

Room Tip: We were given a Royal palace suite which was fabulous. Choose a room with a lake view as it is magic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monasheaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I had a wonderful experience from start to finish at the Taj Lake Palace in Udaipur. When you arrive you are showered in rose petals, greeted to tea, and are received by a very welcoming and friendly staff. I was able to choose my room after viewing several. The rooms are nicely prepared with welcoming gifts for you. There is plenty of beautiful spaces at the restaurants, outside lounges, rooms wherein you can take in the spectacular views of the city. The staff is so attentive. The amenities are great. The restaurants are good, and even though there was a buffet breakfast the staff made offered custom fresh cooked meals. It was so cool taking a boat back and forth to the hotel. My overall experience was so relaxing and welcoming. They even give you a nice gift upon departure. I will only stay here at the Taj when I go back to Udaipur. It's such a beautiful location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank softwintertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had stayed here on one of our trips. We were welcomed like maharajas. It truly was a great feeling. The staff were very friendly. We had invited one of our friends over for dinner and it was a beautiful view of the city from the middle of the lake. Stay was fantastic. I loved the EGGS BENEDICT ordered during breakfast. We got a lake view room with a view of the city. Enjoyed the cultural programs and the pool. Must stay place at least once in your life.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshuar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Went to the lake palace with my wife after staying at the trident Udaipur (which is quite good too ) but the experience of this Taj property was just superb..we were upgraded to the next higher category at the outset.....the weather was ideal considering we had mild rain showers...being in the middle of the lake and looking at the beautiful rain showers from outside our room was just a wonderful experience...The guide present in the evening was very professional ....we were complimented with drinks to add.....

When we got down to have dinner, We were pampered endlessly by the staff and ended up having delicacies we didn't even order courtesy the chef....the chef personally came up to us and spoke about the recipes specifically....we left with great memories and an unforgettable experience.....it's completely worth the hype and Definitely worth a visit in your lifetime....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit_Khaira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 156 in Udaipur
1,795 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 156 in Udaipur
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 156 in Udaipur
695 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Property: Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing