We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does't get any better than this!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It does't get any better than this!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Checked in late after a long ride to Udaipur. The greeting with cascades of flower petals and a garland of flowers was amazing. The room was to die for...like an elegant ocean liner of the 1920's with a fantastic waterfront view. Even at 11:00pm they sent us an elegant dinner on just 20 minutes notice.

You feel like you are in heaven at this place which far outpaces anything else in India.

Room Tip: anything the've got
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardiacDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,670
    196
    37
    18
    12
See reviews for
691
1,537
101
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was such an amazing place, we did not want to leave. The property is an actual palace, the location is on a lake, the service is 5 star plus, the food is amazing, the tailor and jewelry shops at the hotel were both very good. There is not one bad thing to say about this hotel. We were there for 3 days and 2 nights, and honestly they were the best part of an amazing trip staying at 5 star hotels. I can not recommend this hotel and staff more. If you do not stay here you are missing out, why look at the lake palace when you can stay at it. Its the place to stay in Udaipur.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the city palace and make sure you get some pool time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided to stay here for two nights from Jan 5 to 7th. I got sick with fever the afternoon we arrived and it got worse at night. The hotel had a doctor come and see me at 2 am in the morning. They had the right medication as well and I was feeling better in no time.

The service is exceptional. The staff in the restaurant call you by your last name and they remember your meal preference. My wife and I are strict vegetarians and we don't eat onion garlic either. I only had to mention this one time on the booking form and it seems like the staff new every time without me even mentioning it. The food was amazing too. Very fresh and they have a great variety to choose from.

The manager would personally go around to ask if everything is up to standard.

Truly an amazing experience. The location is breathtaking. It's refreshing to stay here and one can't leave without wanting more from such a fantastic hotel.

Don't believe the bad reviews. The rooms are next to perfect. Bathrooms are elegant, staff is courteous, and it's quiet unlike the hustle and bustle that is India.

Recommended to anyone who wants to experience what it means to live in luxury.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Npat4332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the Taj Lake Palace as part of our honeymoon trip. The location is breathtaking, but it was the high level of service that was the highlight of our stay. Our room was on the top floor, with a spectacular view. We ate at the all-day dining restaurant Jharokha, Rose took such good care of us, our evening was amazing and we also had breakfast there. We were lucky enough that Rose was working each time. The 2nd night we decided to try the rooftop restaurant Bhairo. It was a little chilly given the time of year but they brought a fire pit (heater) and beautiful shawls to ensure we were comfortable. The whole experience was amazing, taking the boat back and forth to the main land was a novelty but most of all I have to say, it was the service that made it a memorable experience :)

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor, over looking the lake and the main palace....unbeatable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at the Taj Lake Palace in Udaipur for 4 nights over New Year. From the moment we arrived the whole experience was magical. The staff are all amazingly friendly and polite and just can't do enough to help make your stay special. We dined in all 3 restaurants and all are excellent but different. One of the nicest features of the hotel is that there are so many little terraces and spaces to escape to where you can have some quiet time. The pool area was particularly nice although it was relatively cool when we were there. We would have no hesitation in recommending this establishment.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
318 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Glorious arrival by boat from the private jetty to the hotel. Lovely staff. If you are doing the Taj experience the rooms are smaller but still very luxurious. No business centre but laptop available at no extra charge from reception.

Food very good & great New Year's Eve party. Given the restrictions of the property, very small pool but still a beautiful area to relax & have tea. The hotel's boat trip around the lake at sunset is also a must. This was the end of our trip & we were exhausted so the boat trip proved to be a really convenient way to take in most of the sights of Udaipur. Did take advantage of the ticket which gives you access to the other Taj hotels on the shore opposite.

Transfers very professionally organised. Again, a beautiful well run property from Taj & also a bit of a must if you're doing this part of India.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarristerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

In fact paradise is an understatement.. I will always remember Udaipur because of Taj Lake Palace. Service with a smile was the highlight of our stay. The location was breathtaking, the hotel was marvellous and I am speechless about the staff....
They went out of their way to arrange everything that we asked for. Their eye for detail in every aspect of service is commendable. The food was delicious and the spa (Jiva) was the epitome of relaxation.
Here's a great big thank you to Shivika, Jyoti, Srikant, Vaidehi, Neha, Manish and all the others who were responsible for making our trip the best that we've ever had!

THHHAAAANNNKKKK YOOOOUUUU!!!!!

Room Tip: Try the rooms facing the City Palace... Beautiful view during the evening when the Palace is all lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debonnayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 156 in Udaipur
1,793 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 156 in Udaipur
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
2.0 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#18 of 156 in Udaipur
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Property: Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing