We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

My wife and I Visited Udaipur and stayed at Taj Lake Palace. It was such a surreal experience. Nicely located in the middle of a lake, surrounded by marvelous palaces and greenery, Taj Lake palace is the place to be.

They picked us at the airport and took us to the city lake palace from where there was a ferry service to the hotel. It looked fantastic in the lights. We were received with flowers and welcome drink. The hospitality was impeccable. The staff were very courteous and knowledgeable. They helped us out with the local tour as well.

It was so fantastic that we hardly had the mood to venture out into the city. A very relaxing experience indeed.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the lake. If you can get one on the side with the city lake palace, you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thyagu_delli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,615
    193
    36
    17
    12
See reviews for
676
1,501
100
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

There is literally nothing at this hotel that is less than perfect - from the moment you are taken there by boat, to the checkin, to the room, to the dining options, daily cultural programs. If possible, stay in room 251 - we stayed here and it turned out to be King's room - has a private balcony that allows you to watch the daily performance from a private balcony. We checked out the presidential suite at the hotel and this was better :)

Room Tip: 251 - only room to stay in! It was the king's room and is better than the presidential suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anandaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Attention Honeymooners!!! This is one of the best places you can come to. It is an experience not to be missed if you can afford it. The Hotel live up to the Taj Standards. Everything over here makes a moments forgettable in one life.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emanurag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We visited The Taj Lake Palace as part of a tour of northern India. We arrived around 6pm and were amazed by the noise from the birds nesting on the island/hotel. Our room was close to the courtyard, very noisy and very small with a low ceiling. For once we complained and the manager accepted to move us.

Other than this, the hotel is beautiful, the service is amazing like all Taj properties. You should be aware that some rooms are much smaller than others.

The New Year's eve celebrations were very well organised, great fun as it was based on local Indian dances and music. My husband and I had a great time and it was lovely to look out to Udaipur at midnight.

This was not our favourite Taj property during the trip (nothing can compare to the Rambagh palace in Jaipur!), but it is quaint, unique with good service and good food.

AFR

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AFR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

The Taj Lake Palace is without doubt the best hotel I have ever stayed in with customer service being at the heart of everything they do.
The welcome was so warm and despite leaving our passports at another hotel we were checked in rapidly and given a comprehensive tour of the hotel and facilities.
The staff at the Taj Lake Palace very kindly retrieved our passports and delivered them to our room within a few hours with no hassle whats so ever.
Nothing seemed too much of an effort. It was my partners birthday and they treated us both to a wonderful stay with complimentary canapes, birthday cakes etc.
It is an expensive hotel, especially for India but in our opinion it was well worth the money and will certainly return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TD4E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

This hotel has a fantastic location. I would say that it is the most special hotel from all the 5 starts that are located in lake Pichola. The only way to go to this hotel is by taking their boat! It is so totally exotic and makes you feel wow! We visited for the first time after sunset so the water was cool and the view of the Taj from the lake was spectacular. The food at the restaurants was great too. Desserts were fantastic. If you can afford the rooms here, this is definitely worth spending.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devdarshini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in January as the last stop in our tour of Rajastan. From the time we arrived at the Jetty to be taken by boat to the hotel, the service was exceptional at all times.
We were upgraded to a Palace room with a view of the lake on arrival, which was very nice. The room was beautifully furnished and the view was fantastic. The rooms are a little smaller than some of the other Taj Palace hotels in Rajastan, but the location easily makes up for that.

The service at the restaurants was simply fantastic. The breakfast has a great spread and you can also order hot food from the menu. At dinner we were given food items to sample, which were very tasty. Shafiq served us on 2 occasions and he went out of his way to find us a nice table with a view, and was very attentive. We ordered a 4 course Thali which has small potions of several Indian dishes in the entre' and main. This gave us the opportunity to try various different dishes.
When my wife asked about the recipe for a particular dish, the sous chef Chhote came and spoke to us, gave us a recipe book, and explained how the dish is made.

There is an excellent cultural show each evening. Don't miss it.

The hotel is spotless, and the Lotus Pond is a view to behold. The temperature controlled pool is very nice and the 2 Jacuzzis in 2 corners of the pool area have a great view of the lake.

If you are ever in Rajastan don't miss this place. We will definitely try to visit again sometime.

Room Tip: The Lake view rooms are unbelievable. when looking out it feels like you are floating in the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Property: Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Agoda, DerbySoftTaj, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing