We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical place...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Wow!!!! The approach to this island hotel from a boat s stunning. Like a scene from a romantic Grace Kelly film, the wind was rustling our skirts and the sun was setting low behind the mountains of Udaipur....We were showered with rose petals as we stepped off the boat onto the Hotel property. It was a magical and luxurious place to say the least. The rooms looked out onto the water and it felt like were in a boat.. majestic and royal, it used to be the MahaRaja's real palace!! The rooms are unique in their decor, resembling a fantastical representation of a king's quarters 300 years ago. I loved it. The food was amazing. We even stumbled across the real current MahaRaja as he was privately dining at a restaurant there as we made a wrong turn looking for the restroom. Heeee. Quite fun! I recommend this place with flying colors. An experience like no other.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic!!!!!! I recommend 105 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,738 - 1,744 of 3,187 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

lovely surroundings, excellent hospitalty, good rooms with completely-equipped bathrooms.
tasty food, nice health club, antique furniture in the rooms.
the boat ride to the hotel from shore and the maid shielding you from the sun under a huge umbrella...oh! i enjoyed all that immensely.

Room Tip: higher floor rooms have a better view of the lake and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnavazdentist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We went for our 25th wedding anniversary because it looked like such a mystical, dreamy place to always remember. We even bought formal Indian outfits for the occasion. We had extremely high expectations due to the cost, but they managed to exceed our expectations! There was nothing that was too difficult or too much trouble. They booked a whole terrace for our anniversary, and we got to choose our menu. We were surrounded by candles overlooking the lake. It was the most special night of our lives. The staff were exceptional -I mean REALLY exceptional! Everything about the palace was absolutely perfect. If you have a special occasion, this is the place to celebrate!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Palace room overlooking the lake - it makes it much more special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dualdesigner05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel, it's unique! In the midle of the Lake! The service is perfect! All of them are so nice, helpfull! Loved the view, the room, everything!!!!! Would definitely be back again!!!!!!the sunset from my room was wonderful! The dinner at the roof top impecable!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank lee08br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I went to Udaipur few days before. I visited at Taj Lake Palace. It is an amazing hotel. Really, rooms are amazing. I like room services of Taj Lake Palace. I really feel luxury in hotels. I have no more words to describe.

Room Tip: Ask to weightier if you want a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank praveen828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have been back a while but I still wanted to share the most amazing experience we had at The Lake Palace. If you go to Jaipur which in it's self is a beautiful Indian City then please do not stay anywhere else but here, I guarantee you will not be disappointed.
The team of staff are simply exceptional, what ever words I use to describe them will never be enough you will need to go and experience it for yourselves.
The food is also world class in both the European and Indian restaurants and a great breakfast too.

Room Tip: We had booked a room that over looked the lily pond which was superb however we were upgraded on our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank humphtj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

we have stayed in many hotels but here in udaipur it ws one of the best hotel.the quality of foods/service/ cleanliness/everything was good.style of wellcome was excellence by doing tilak.i would agai like to visit this place

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saksham2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 175 in Udaipur
2,003 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#38 of 175 in Udaipur
508 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 175 in Udaipur
2,844 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#22 of 175 in Udaipur
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £344 - £1,890 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, DerbySoftTaj, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing