We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel experience I ever had : a fairy tale” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best hotel experience I ever had : a fairy tale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

If you are looking for the ultimate fairytale hotel, where the setting is amazingly beautiful and the hotel and service perfect....run to the Taj Lake Palace. I think everyone has read about the fame of the hotel, the reality is exactly what you think and more.
The service could not be kinder and more professional, the food in the restaurants outstanding, the views prettymuch from everywher are fantastic.
Even though of course you should gou to Udaipur and visit the town which is very interesting and charming, the temptation is to stay in you fabulous hotel/island.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with view towards Udaipur.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertoOpera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,570
    187
    36
    15
    12
See reviews for
664
1,470
98
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here for 1 night at the end of a very brief trip to India. Arrived at 7am on the overnight train from Agra. Collected at the train station and then taken to the beautiful dock for the short trip over to the island. The dock in itself is beautiful and there are plenty of staff to welcome and assist even at this early hour. The trip over gives some beautiful views of the City Palace but aware it can be cold on the boat! We were warmly welcomed on the island, luggage unloaded while we walked through the shower of rose petals. As expected our rooms were not ready, but we went and tucked in to a wonderful breakfast in the buffet restaurant - excellent food and service and reasonably priced for a hotel of this quality. We then freshened up and took the boat back to the mainland to explore Udaipur. On returning, we could move into one of our two rooms - we had interconnecting rooms on the ground floor, which were beautifully furnished. The rooms were quiet and had lovely views over to the City Palace. We spent some time by the pool, which is in the most beautiful setting - only one negative, the water was FREEZING! It could do with a heater for the cooler months for sure! Lunch by the pool was relaxed and service was good. We took the hotels boat trip in the evening, which was nice way to spend 45 mins and then had a drink while watching the local dancers. We had dinner in the Indian restaurant - nice for us adults, but a little bit of a struggle for our kids but to be fair, the kitchen made a big effort to accommodate their likes and dislikes! I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel - the property and setting are magical, and the service is sublime, some of the best we have had anywhere in the world. No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenMargarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipomo, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This hotel experience is one of the best I have had: location, decor, restaurants, food, setting, ambience, staff, service, room decor, etc., etc. It is a price-y experience, but worth every penny and then some, as other reviewers have pointed out!! This is 10 star hotel if such a rating exists.

My one caution is to make sure that your city-facing room is not on the first floor with one of the huge spotlights that highlight the Lake Palace for night-time viewing from Udaipur just below your window. It seriously negatively impacts the experience for you.

Another suggestion is to take the 90 minute Indian cooking class (mine was private because I was the only one who had signed up for it) offered In the kitchen of the hotel's beautiful Indian restaurant. I walked away with new cooking skills, an apron and a small cookbook for a relatively small $$ investment. BTW, these can be scheduled around your itinerary.

And, finally allow some time just to savor the place and take advantage of some of the special services offered, the lovely bar, etc. Our itinerary was so packed that we jettisoned a couple of activities in order to do [too] a little of that.

Room Tip: With the caveat mentioned above, pay for a city facing room (and/or eat in the prix fixe internation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAtraveler94087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

From the get go till the very end, our stay here was fabulous. Just before entering the hotel, fragranced rose petals rained softly on us. As we got there at a non-peak season so they promptly upgraded our lodging. Besides that, they took such good personal care in everything from the room service to the food to the amenities was perfect.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindtsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Nothing like staying in a palace! Everyone was great to us and greeted us by name every day. The food was outstanding and the dancers at dusk were always interesting. We stayed in a suite which made it all that much better. Spa on site so do not miss a treatment of some kind. Would highly recommend to anyone that wants a stay of a lifetime! The staff, everyone one of them, were outstanding. Thanks for an incredible visit.

Visit was in Nov, 2012

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulSac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed at this property for 3 days and 3 nights on our honeymoon. We did use the honeymoon package so there was a ton of stuff included. Udaipur is an excellent place to visit in January. It can get a tad chilly in the evening, but it is almost perfect weather with sunshine and bright blue skies in the day.
On arriving at the airport we were received by a member from the hotel. Our driver was very courteous and knowledgeable, being a local, and shared with us the history of the area as well as information on local activities and attractions. Once we got to the docking station we were welcomed by more staff from the hotel. They made sure we did not have to worry about our bags or anything else except safely getting on the boat that took us to the hotel, without falling in the water and making a fool of yourself. There is no traditional check in desk, instead you are greeted with a welcome drink, and sat in the beautiful lounge. When you are finished-a staff member will give you a tour of the property (if you wish) and then show you to your room. They take care of the whole check in process including taking/returning your passports to the room.

The property is incredibly beautiful. The Taj has done a great job preserving the "royal feel" while ensuring it is functional. And we could write a novel on all the wonderful amenities. The food is excellent (at all three restaurants), the prices reasonable (considering the luxurious experience), the location is breathtaking, the spa services are phenomenal, and the service is unreal. Every staff member we encountered was not only efficient and accommodating, but unbelievably friendly and willing to go out of their way. Our "butler", Abdul, was incredible and even accompanied us to the city palace on his break!!!!!! My husband forgot his swimsuit, so we called to see if they could recommend somewhere close we could go purchase one. Rather than just giving us a nearby store location ( like most concierge service would), they took his measurements and sent someone to pick one up and deliver it to our room.......for $3! Unreal. It is clear that guests are the number one priority at the Taj Lake Palace.
I have traveled all over the world, and been to many 5-star hotels; but I am convinced there is no place more relaxing and luxurious than the Taj Lake Palace. We are already planning our return trip ;-)

-Sarah and Varun Kurup

Room Tip: We had our own little patch of green next to our room which was private. Ask for something similar w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S-and-V_Kurup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We had high expectations for this hotel, and they were exceeded in almost every way. Yes it's very expensive, but you get more than your money's worth.

You get to the hotel by boat. Only guests or guests of guests are admitted to the property. When you arrive you are greeted by a shower of rose petals from the roof. And the spoiling only goes on from there. All the employees were unfailingly friendly, professional, and helpful. It is truly amazing how much attention to detail there is. I left a tour book on our desk, and the turndown service left a bookmarker next to it. I left my toiletry bag on the sink of the bathroom, and they placed a beautifully stitched handkerchief under it. Every evening, in addition to the turndown service, the staff comes by and leaves a small plate of sweets. They just cannot do enough for the guests.

We used almost all of the facilities during our stay. We were upgraded to a royal suite, #217, which had a large king bed, full living room (no separated wall however) and an octagonal windowed turret room, and large bathroom with separate shower and tub, and double sink. It was exquisite, but up two flights of stairs and a few twisty corridors. It looked out over the lake toward the pleasure palace on another island.

The spa is small but beautiful. An hour massage was 3500-4500 rupees, which was quite reasonable. Do book ahead because the spa is small.

The pool area, next to the spa and a small gym, was immaculate and looked out over the lake toward the city palace. Drinks and food can be ordered as well.

The hotel offers a free daily tour of the palace at 4pm (our guide was only so-so), a boat trip around the island to the neighboring pleasure palace island at 5 (which was well worth it), and traditional Rajasthani music and dancing in a courtyard in the bar at 6 (which was excellent).

There are three restaurants: the rooftop restaurant offers continental cuisine (I.e., non-Indian if you need a break from Indian food). Not only is the night view of the lit up city palace wonderful, so is the food. There is a 3 or 4 course menu (about $80-100 each) or a la carte dining. The menu is extensive and the wine list excellent. They also had Indian sparkling wine which was quite good and dry for about $11 per glass.

The coffee shop is where breakfast is served, and also offers all-day dining. The walls and scalloped arches are all marble and beautiful, and the dining room faces the city palace. They offer a breakfast buffet which was large if not lavish, and included an omelette station, and also a menu of mainly Indian dishes like dosas.

There is also a fancy Indian restaurant for dinner, which was excellent and again, reasonable for where you are.

The restaurants are for guests only, but do book ahead, especially for the rooftop restaurant, to avoid disappointment.

There is also a small area for shopping, which includes a jewelry store (fine and silver in a range of prices), a store selling clothes and such (they will make custom shirts next or same day for about $90). And a fancy souvenir shop. They are obviously not cheap, but they don't try and soak you either.

In sum, the property is truly a fantasy, service is extremely high, and they really don't try and gouge you once you are there for other services. My only criticism is that the wifi was not free and costs about $10 per day, which I think should be included. If you can afford to splurge, do it here. It's worth a diversion to Udaipur all on its own. Stay at least two if not three nights. And do pay extra for a room looking out over the lake. Also, try to avoid rooms off the main courtyard garden, as birds come to roost there in the evening and they are really loud (but quiet down by 9 or 10). Our room was not in that area but it have to imagine the noise was intrusive as just walking through that area was deafening.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sfoartboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Property: Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing