We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 177 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed here with my family of total 4 for 2 nights, and experienced the best service till date. The stay includes the arriving with private jetty with the people standing with a best possible welcome and a boat ride of lake around hotel, to see the other magnificent hotels. I will be coming back with my future wife for Honeymoon......

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paras26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,730 - 1,736 of 3,231 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here with our five month old daughter for three nights. They offered us to upgrade to a palace suite; however, we preferred to stick to the palace room to avail the lake view we wanted. Neha the person who escorted us to the room and completed the check-in formalities was amazing. They took care of so many things - had a bassinet ready for our daughter, did a special cake cutting to congratulate the new entry in our family. Neha was ready with a camera when we cut the cake. To our amazement, she handed us a framed photo at the end of the stay.

The staff at Neel Kamal was outstanding, food excellent. Our special thanks to Kalu Lal who was there with a smile on his face every morning at breakfast in Jharokha. Food in Jharokha is excellent as well.

We have stayed at Four Seasons, Ritz Carltons and Waldorf Astorias of the world - but this Taj beats them all by a huge margin. Must experience it at least once in your lifetime. Totally worth the money.

There so many little things that they do differently than other 5-star hotels that make this hotel unique. For example, we were going out for dinner and my daughter was sleeping in my hands when we walked to our car. The staff took care not to slam the door after we sat in the car, instead he shut it as quietly as possible.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enlightenedones29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have stayed at a number of really good hotels but this could well be the best.
It's all down to the attention to detail and the customer experience you get. From arriving at the private jetty, the short boat ride and the arrival at the hotel jetty where you get rose petals shower down on you as you enter - and you have not even got into the hotel yet! (I did feel sorry for the lad who had to sweep up the petals after each arrival - but I suppose it's a job for someone!)
Absolutely spotless inside without being clinical - pure luxury. Just go and experience it.
We'll be back in 2015.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bronx2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We visited this beautiful hotel on the recommendation of our son who proposed to his now wife there in 2011. There are many other top class hotels on the edge of the lake but they all look out at the Taj Lake Palace so why not stay in the one that everyone else is looking at? The service is outstanding with every member of staff from front desk to waiting staff to gardeners being friendly and doing everything possible to make your stay an ultimate experience. I apologise for misspelling names but have a chat with Hemant in the bar - his knowledge of cocktails and martinis is amazing and he is happy to spend the time ensuring that you choose one you will really enjoy. Equally Bagh Singh at the pool is not just friendly and helpful but ensure that you want for nothing during your relaxation time. Cold towels, fresh water, shade or whatever are always provided about 2 minutes before you have started to think you need it. All 3 restaurants are wonderful; we have visiting some amazing hotels over the years but the view from the rooftop restaurant beats them all. The food in the Indian restaurant is lovely and our waiter Nage Nura made sure that the spice level suited our tastes.
Definitely do the Historical tour followed by the lake boat ride. You can do the tour at 5pm, boat ride at 6pm and then watch the cultural dancing at 7pm. It's all scheduled to fit well together.
We had booked a Palace Room and on arrival were told that we would be upgraded to a suite the next day when one became available. Our first room was 131 which is a lovely room with a sitting room but it is in the same courtyard as the bar and was very noisy with birds. This courtyard also needs replanting as it is a bit barren. We were then upgraded to room 121, which is a stunning suite off of the main courtyard. This courtyard is absolutely beautiful so definitely ask for a room here (in fairness most of the rooms go off of this one). We spoke to a few other residents who had luxury lake view rooms and the concensus was that they were a bit small so pay for a Palace room or suite if you can. Our special thanks to Jyoti who I believe was the duty manager. She was helpful, attentive and kind beyond the call of duty. She is a great asset to the hotel and a lovely young lady. We are so impressed with the Taj Palace properties that we are now members of the Inner Circle Club and book directly through Taj by internet. Each hotel has a great concierge who will arrange all transfers, tours etc by email and with total efficiency so you just book your flights and Taj do the rest at very competitive rates. My apologies again for spelling names wrong and for not mentioning all of the other members of staff who were so good. We will definitely plan to return to the Lake Palace in the not too distant future.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JSOCBrentwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed for two days in January-2014 to attend a wedding. The service was awesome. They were very very welcoming at the hotel. Check-In and Check-Out was fast. The Food was exquisite. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevangDhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

It is definitely one of the most romantic hotels you will ever stay in so I was not surprised that it is one of the Leading Small Hotels of the World. A short 5 minute boat ride brings you to the hotel where the attentive staff awaits to greet you with rose petals. Service was top notch in all areas through out our stay. Take advantage of the historic walk offered around the property, the sunset cruise that stops at Jag Mandir (small fee charged to your room), and the evening cultural show in the courtyard at no charge. There is a beautiful open-air seating area with a bar where you can have your horoscope read, play chess, enjoy some reading, or catch-up with friends and family though there is an internet charge for using your own devices. The ambience and food at Neel Kamal was exceptional with staff assisting you in the many selections if needed. Don't miss having dinner at the European roof-top restaurant with spectacular views of the lighted City Palace. A choice of three or four courses is had though I have to admit the dessert and starters were by far the stars over my over cooked pork tenderloin entree. You can also opt for both starter and soup, skipping dessert for the three course option. Plan some time to relax at the pool. Though the area is not that large, you won't find a more beautiful and relaxing spot. The Jiva Spa also offers a couples treatment room with excellent massage therapists. I would skip the tempting rose petal bath though as the jetted tub is over due for replacement and you weren't covered in many petals either....though the Moet Chandon was wonderful! If you are looking for a special place to celebrate a special time put the Lake Palace high on your list.

Room Tip: request a room with City Palace view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilybob24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

after 3 days we reluctantly left the Oberoi Hotel in Udaipur as it was full due to a wedding and moved to the Lake Palace. Our doubts were immediately proved wrong from the moment we alighted from the boat to the moment we left it was pure magic. We stayed for two nights and one day did not leave the hotel - it was the perfect place to unwind. The service and ambiance is fantastic. We compared the two hotels and both are wonderful. It was no problem getting to the town as we had thought as there is a boat waiting to take you across the lake and it was actually faster than the journey by road from the Oberoi. The hotels are equally wonderful.

Room Tip: I always want a room with a patio or balcony but this hotel does not have any but lake view rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 177 in Udaipur
2,022 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#42 of 177 in Udaipur
513 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#7 of 177 in Udaipur
2,877 reviews
2 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £295 - £2,349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing