We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanna really feel like a KING? Go here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wanna really feel like a KING? Go here”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

If I were to say which was my "the most" favorite hotel in the world, then without batting an eyelid I would say Taj Lake Palace Udaipur! Five stars are just not enough to rate this magnificent gem!
Oh my god they really know what luxury and hospitality is all about! And they take it very very seriously .
I think they have totally about 87 rooms and what really got me is that they know the name of each and every guest. If any hotel staff crosses you first they stop greet you by your name and they allow you to first move on, they never show their backs to their guests ( an Indian tradition which most people don't understand)
I have been to many a five star hotels but never have I seen such genuine courtesy and gracious hospitality.
I was really taken aback by this aspect of theirs that they recognize each guest by name and face that I actually asked their GM how do you do this. What he told me was really simple, he said they were trained to serve each guest like a king , period.
The cultural shows in the evening by the courtyard are simply awesome. They show case the traditional arts and dances of Rajasthan , which have been around for more than 2000 years!
The food is one of the best Indian food I've ever had ( actually managed to get the recipe for a dish from the chef). Best if wines and liquor , you name it and they have it.
The sunset gondola ride in the lake is a must. You just have to relax and sip on the champagne and enjoy amazing sunset .
The rooms are something which most people have never seen. You have to remember that this was an actual palace made by a king as his outhouse, so the everything you touch is kingly.
Actual 500 year old marble and construction , which I should say the taj group has really conserved and maintained flawlessly.
All in all I would say that if you can afford $2500 for a two day stay of two then you SHOULD SHOULD SHOULD visit this place.
Visit this hotel and you actually feel like a VIP for the duration of your stay! No questions about that!

Room Tip: Please insist on a lake facing room to the west, you'll see the best sunsets of your life!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aseem D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,737
    198
    38
    18
    13
See reviews for
727
1,561
106
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

How to describe this jewel of a hotel hovering on the lake. From the moment you arrive you know you are somewhere special and the wonderful service reinforces that feeling. If you can have one of the Royal Suites then the Khush Mahal suite is like staying in a jewel casket. Waking to the morning light shimmering through the coloured glass windows is unforgettable, as is an early swim before the rest of the world is awake! A place of dreams, and a place to make your dreams become reality, fabulous! If there is one place you must stay, this is It!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidSmithAmazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The reception, the jetty to the hotel, the hospitality, the setting-the Tata's get better over time.

The service over the meals was truly royal, the package was fitted in with all the little things that could make us feel special. From the Property Manager to the Buttler-they know how to make you feel SPECIAL.

Exorbitant yes, but a life time experience!

Its good to leverage in the off-season to trim the cheque, as we did.

Room Tip: Palace rooms with a view of the Lake Pichola and the Udaipur city in the backdrop -truly an experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMsviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

i've stayed previously on business but for once had the pleasure of 3 nights at the hotel with my wife during a holiday to India. Incredibly attentive service from all staff, excellent comfortable guestroom - I found the bed perfect but my wife found it a bit soft. Food very good but pricey and drinks expensive. A very enjoyable and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: lake side rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anderes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

How to describe this jewel of a hotel hovering on the lake. From the moment you arrive you know you are somewhere special and the wonderful service reinforces that feeling. If you can have one of the Royal Suites then the Khush Mahal suite is like staying in a jewel casket. Waking to the morning light shimmering through the coloured glass windows is unforgettable, as is an early swim before the rest of the world is awake! A place of dreams, and a place to make your dreams become reality, fabulous! If there is one place you must stay, this is It!

Room Tip: A view of the lake is part of the treat, and Khush Mahal is simply stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avidtraveller096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

If you are reading this wondering...should I ...shouldn't I...my advise to you is DO IT! This was one of our biggest splurges on a six week trip to India with many wonderful hotel stays. But everything about this place puts it at the absolute top of the list. The character of the hotel is entwined with its history and pedigree as a "real" palace, as opposed to some newer hotels that are built to resemble a palace. Somehow (we never figured out why) my husband and I were upgraded to a spectacular room once regularly used by the Maharaja's grandfather. The glorious painted ceiling, fresh huge flower arrangement, window-seat overlooking the lake, fresh fruit or truffles surprising us upon return to the room all added an incredible feeling of living for even a few days like a Maharajah yourself.

But beyond the exquisite guest rooms and public spaces; the sensational buffet breakfast that keeps you full until dinner; the charming nightly entertainment in the courtyard, the romantic rooftop restaurant with braziers keeping you toasty on cool evenings (we were there the last few days of February)...what truly sets this hotel apart is the absolutely outstanding service. From the rose petal shower upon arrival to the generous parting gift, this hotel delivers more than any we have ever experienced.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just stayed for four nights could have stayed for much longer. Stunning hotel, both for location and hotel itself. Everything was first class, service was faultless, and staff even better. Knew our names from the moment we arrived and nothing was too much trouble. I had a bit of illness from before I arrived and everyone was concerned and was asking after me. Chef even came out to recommend food. If you can, get a suite, they're magnificent, that said the entire hotel is. If you are in Udaipur you really should stop here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlWeare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 161 in Udaipur
1,835 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 161 in Udaipur
2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 161 in Udaipur
703 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Property: Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing