We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sublime hotel with perfect service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“sublime hotel with perfect service”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Beautiful hotel on the lake, and service was impeccable too. Amazing experience to live in the maharajah's palace.. Food in both the Indian and Intl restaurants were awesome too.. The only bad thing was that when we tried tO rent a car through the hotel, they quoted us exorbitant prices and we ended up sourcing for a rental car ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,678
    196
    37
    18
    12
See reviews for
695
1,541
101
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel is perfection, every area and everything thing about it, the rooms, the communal areas, the service, the breakfast, dinners, staff everything.
Every where in the world we go we start our evening with a whiskey sour and that gives us an idea of the level of the service and this place came in joint first with a place in Laos:)
Words don't do this place justice you just have to stay and experience it.

Room Tip: We had 323 which was big and wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I spent three weeks travelling through India.We are usually budget travellers but we decided to splurge on the Lake Palace.It was certainly a great experience. The sunshade and rose petal shower to greet you was already mentioned but it is memorable.The service offered by every employee was outstanding. With so many persons attending to our every need from those who met you across the lake, the boatmen, the sunshade escort, reception, the wait staff, the garden attendants and other auxiliary staff, you certainly felt like royalty.
Our hostess Neha was so gracious. We had mentioned to her that this trip was an early celebration of our wedding anniversary. We left to go on the sunset cruise and returned to our room to a beautifully decorated cake together with some delicious Indian sweets laid out on the table and a lovely handwritten card from Neha for our anniversary.
While this was clearly an expensive hotel there was such warmth.You always felt as a welcomed, honoured guest. The dancing programme after sunset was wonderful and we were pleasantly surprised to be served free canapes. We left just before the end of the show, only to have chocolate leaves and other sweets(gifts again) delivered to our room.
The hotel and grounds are immaculate.Clearly a lot of maintenance was taking place.But always so discreetly that nothing interfered with the peacefulness and sheer beauty of the place.
I would certainly recommend the Lake Palace to everyone. I think you would have to pay much more than we did for a hotel and service like this in another part of the world.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Mom,dad and our 10 year old twin daughters took the boat from the Hotel mainland jetty.
Arriving by boat alone has always a win-win situation.
Stepping out of the boat on the landing and walking towards the entrance we were showered with multi coloured (real) flowers.
In the cool lobby we were offered the dot on forehead and a refreshment and were then guided to our connecting rooms.
Then onwards shown around the hotel.
And it had it-naturally matured but with soul and beautifully maintained, just great.Beautiful mosaics ,fountains ,decorations we enjoyed it so much and felt utter relaxed on our last day.
The girls had a little go in the kitchen with the chef and we had some stuff done in the Spa (watch the bill!!!)
Then on to the pool, where strangely enough they have dedicated hours for kids!!!We were ready to check out so they changed instantly their policy.
G&T's and some great cold tea drinks for the girls were the best we had sofa while we were enjoying a nice performance.
The dinner was the wrong choice and a bit odd (on the roof so great views) and totally unsuitable for the kids.I had a lamb rack which I think came deep frozen cooked and all including dressing from New Zealand to India!
The breakfast was fantastic and the girls had their hands henna painted via the Spa (again watch the Bill!!!!)
All in all it was Magic.
Will we come back?Yes for lunch or drinks.

Room Tip: we had 2 connecting ground level rooms facing the Grand Palace ,great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Wow - what a place - what a palace.

A Honeymoon trip here started only so-so after a wonderful late night welcome as the room (Number 235) was disappointing even if it had a large private terrace with wonderful views of Lake Picola. We both felt as if we had been put into the 'cheap seats' so to speak so when I expressed our disappointment the following morning MV Srikant on behalf of the concierge did an outstanding job of getting us moved. He said Mr Wheeler you will not be disappointed with the new room we have for you - he wasn't wrong!! The suite he put us in called Mayur Mahal was utterly without comparison to the earlier room even if it didn't have an outside terrace. This was what we were expecting for the money we paid and the honeymoon experience we were anticipating. Thank you MV Srikant - you were indeed not wrong.

All of the staff and i mean ALL of the staff were worthy of the highest praise from myself and my wife Nicky. Friendly, polite, gracious, helpful and always aware that staying at the Taj Lake Palace was for all the visitors something special - and it undoubtably was. Yes you could critisise the hotel for a tiny gym, a diddy swimming pool, insufficient sun loungers etc etc but that would be mean spirited.

To add to the overall experience the Hotel even laid on a couple of electric storms which were a sight to behold with thunderous downpours of rain which were several weeks ahead of the start of the monsoon period.

Thank you for a terrific experience - we will return - when we can afford it !!

Room Tip: avoid 235 in the gods unless you want to be out of the way and you really want that private terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pwheel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
163 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

My first stay here and I have just fallen in LOVE with this hotel.

Reasons:
1. The location in the middle of the lake is peaceful, tranquil and unique.
2. The hotel itself is beautiful and our room 242 is very spacious.
3. Many things that other hotels would charge for are free: eg
a guided boat tour of the lake followed by a cultural performance. A nice touch!
4 . Staff are super friendly and cannot do enough for you.
5. There are 2 restaurants on site - Indian and International. We ate at the international restaurant twice, both choice and quality were excellent.
The breakfast selection is also very good.
5. The spa is sensational - had a wonderful 2hr treatment - reasonably priced too.
6. Although not large - the pool area more than met my needs.

My only grievance is being charged for wi-fi!! ( a pet hate of mine). It should be free particularly at hotels of this quality.
That said - this is the best overall hotel experience I have had in quite some time.
Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at the Lake Palace and also Amet Haveli, as we wanted to get a view of the Lake Palace from the shore.

The Lake Palace is not just a hotel, it is an experience! From the moment you arrive to get the boat to the moment you leave, you are treated like royalty - from the sunshade usually used for kings between the boat and the reception to the rose petals that they scatter over you as you arrive.

We were upgraded to a Lake View room as it is the end of the season, so to our delight we had a view of the shore and the City Palace - we left our curtains open all night as it was so fantastic!

The pool is great and the staff bring mineral water when you get out of the water - and slices of cucumber to put on your tired eyes - oh! the relaxation!

At dawn there is a (free) yoga class overlooking the city - this was great and catered for someone who is good at yoga and also me (rubbish!) - and the teacher came and told me quietly when it would be a good moment to take a photo of the sunrise!

There is traditional dancing at sunset and the hotel is generous with canapes - although the hotel is expensive, we never felt they were money-grabbing. We had a wonderful breakfast and were given a whole range of Indian dishes to try as well as the buffet.

I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: The whole hotel is wonderful - try to go when it is low season and you could be upgraded!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kthernehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 156 in Udaipur
1,798 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 156 in Udaipur
2,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
2.0 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#18 of 156 in Udaipur
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Property: Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing