We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience! You must stay here once!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“What an experience! You must stay here once!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We decided to stay at the Taj Lake Palace because we love James Bond film, and of course, this hotel (former palace) makes an appearance in Octopussy. The hotel delivers for sure! There is a gorgeous landing in the City Palace complex, which belongs just to the Taj Lake Palace Hotel, where they check your bags and you can check in and they get ready for you at the hotel while the boat arrives. Once we got off the boat, we were showered with rose petals from the roof and welcomed with a cooling guava drink. We arrived on Holi (a very colorful holiday in India) and because of this, a lot of the guests did not venture out into Udaipur, so the pool area was a bit crowded, but hey, what do you expect--there really isn't that big of an area for guests to roam, given that the hotel covers the entire island. The staff seemed a bit overwhelmed by the pool that day (they ran out of seats), but we found the next day was much better. We had room 230, which was on the second floor, looking over the lake, and I would recommend this view. It was nice to look over the lake as opposed to facing inwards to the hotel. The room itself is very nice, and you get the feeling that you really are staying in a restored palace. The only one thing to say about the room is that the bathroom pipes were a bit noisy, which I forgave them for--I mean, to have all that plumbing in the middle of an island? We ate one night on the rooftop restaurant, which was exceptional (it isn't Indian food, but it was excellent). We found the service exceptional everywhere at the hotel. They have a note in the room, too, which asks that you just pay a tip envelope at the end so they can divide tips amongst the staff, which I thought was kind of nice. There is a cultural show each night with music and dance, which we enjoyed, and there is also a boat ride around the lake nightly as well. My pet peeve about this is, there was no mention in any of the hotel materials that there is a charge for this boat tour, and then we had a $20 (US) charge per person for this. I probably would have done it anyway, but I was a little bitter that there was no mention that this was not free. The key cards list this as an activity and stars things that have an additional charge, and there was no star on this. My only other pet peeve is my gripe regarding all of the Taj properties--internet is not free, which I feel should be a given at luxury hotels. A couple of things I would highly recommend--getting a spa treatment. It was truly one of the best that I've had in recent memory. We had booked a couples massage package which included a bottle of champagne and private jacuzzi time. Another thing--do the morning yoga. It is so peaceful and relaxing overlooking the city at sunrise. I'm pretty much a novice at yoga, and there were people of all levels there. I really regret not making my husband join in, because it was probably one of my favorite memories from the hotel. A final note--there are about one million pigeons who also find the Lake Palace a lovely place to stay, so some people might not like that because they can be somewhat noisy, but as a credit to the staff, they do a great job cleaning after them. The Oberoi also has a nice property in Udaipur, but for a once in a lifetime experience, you really should stay at the Taj Lake Palace.

Room Tip: it is worth it to stay in a room overlooking the lake, preferably on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelrabbit2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,734
    198
    38
    18
    13
See reviews for
727
1,560
104
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Very unique, there is really only one Taj Lake Palace with its history - both old and recent!

We had a beautiful room with a view of the palace onshore. Certainly different to anywhere else in the world we’d say – a little more “touristy” than some other Taj hotels but that was to be expected and did not detract from the beauty.

Staff were all lovely. Food from the Bhairo restaurant was absolutely excellent - although it is now closed for the summer - the local dancing show was rather good, bar was nice (bit short on their measures!). A lovely and unique pool as well. The spa boat experience was also truly unique and wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slhguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed here two nights with my boyfriend..Wish I had stayed one more. This place was an absolute dream and even though it rained the two nights we were there, we still got to enjoy the glamorous pool, drinks and atmosphere. Food was ok but wasn't worth the money so I would maybe recommend venturing out for some other options. Not too sure why some reviewers complained about the "small pool". It's actually pretty decently sized and, to be fair, given this is a 300 year old palace, I think we can excuse this minute detail.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blomli07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Beautiful hotel on the lake, and service was impeccable too. Amazing experience to live in the maharajah's palace.. Food in both the Indian and Intl restaurants were awesome too.. The only bad thing was that when we tried tO rent a car through the hotel, they quoted us exorbitant prices and we ended up sourcing for a rental car ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel is perfection, every area and everything thing about it, the rooms, the communal areas, the service, the breakfast, dinners, staff everything.
Every where in the world we go we start our evening with a whiskey sour and that gives us an idea of the level of the service and this place came in joint first with a place in Laos:)
Words don't do this place justice you just have to stay and experience it.

Room Tip: We had 323 which was big and wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I spent three weeks travelling through India.We are usually budget travellers but we decided to splurge on the Lake Palace.It was certainly a great experience. The sunshade and rose petal shower to greet you was already mentioned but it is memorable.The service offered by every employee was outstanding. With so many persons attending to our every need from those who met you across the lake, the boatmen, the sunshade escort, reception, the wait staff, the garden attendants and other auxiliary staff, you certainly felt like royalty.
Our hostess Neha was so gracious. We had mentioned to her that this trip was an early celebration of our wedding anniversary. We left to go on the sunset cruise and returned to our room to a beautifully decorated cake together with some delicious Indian sweets laid out on the table and a lovely handwritten card from Neha for our anniversary.
While this was clearly an expensive hotel there was such warmth.You always felt as a welcomed, honoured guest. The dancing programme after sunset was wonderful and we were pleasantly surprised to be served free canapes. We left just before the end of the show, only to have chocolate leaves and other sweets(gifts again) delivered to our room.
The hotel and grounds are immaculate.Clearly a lot of maintenance was taking place.But always so discreetly that nothing interfered with the peacefulness and sheer beauty of the place.
I would certainly recommend the Lake Palace to everyone. I think you would have to pay much more than we did for a hotel and service like this in another part of the world.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Mom,dad and our 10 year old twin daughters took the boat from the Hotel mainland jetty.
Arriving by boat alone has always a win-win situation.
Stepping out of the boat on the landing and walking towards the entrance we were showered with multi coloured (real) flowers.
In the cool lobby we were offered the dot on forehead and a refreshment and were then guided to our connecting rooms.
Then onwards shown around the hotel.
And it had it-naturally matured but with soul and beautifully maintained, just great.Beautiful mosaics ,fountains ,decorations we enjoyed it so much and felt utter relaxed on our last day.
The girls had a little go in the kitchen with the chef and we had some stuff done in the Spa (watch the bill!!!)
Then on to the pool, where strangely enough they have dedicated hours for kids!!!We were ready to check out so they changed instantly their policy.
G&T's and some great cold tea drinks for the girls were the best we had sofa while we were enjoying a nice performance.
The dinner was the wrong choice and a bit odd (on the roof so great views) and totally unsuitable for the kids.I had a lamb rack which I think came deep frozen cooked and all including dressing from New Zealand to India!
The breakfast was fantastic and the girls had their hands henna painted via the Spa (again watch the Bill!!!!)
All in all it was Magic.
Will we come back?Yes for lunch or drinks.

Room Tip: we had 2 connecting ground level rooms facing the Grand Palace ,great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 161 in Udaipur
1,830 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 161 in Udaipur
2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 161 in Udaipur
701 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Property: Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing