We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel I've Stayed in...EVER” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Hotel I've Stayed in...EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had a 2 week trip throughout India.

We stayed in Udaipur, Jaipur, Agra, Cochin, Marari Beach, Munnar, and probably a few more cities I can't remember.

This was by far the nicest hotel we stayed in the entire trip, not to mention that I've personally ever stayed in.

The service was impeccable, to the flower petal entrance, the cleaning service, the pool guys bringing fresh water and iced cucumbers, we felt so comfortable and welcomed. With out it being stuffy. It was this amazing service with zero attitude. Most times when I stay at a fancy hotel (which I normally prefer boutique hotels) I feel like they are super snotty and you don't get good bang for your buck, well not here.

Even the food was reasonably priced for a beyond luxury hotel. Breakfast was AMAZING and included in our stay. They even made us a boxed breakfast when we had to depart early one morning.

I still have the incense they gave us when we departed!

Room Tip: choose a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieKate14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,568
    187
    36
    15
    12
See reviews for
663
1,470
98
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We recently got married and the events before and after the wedding had drained us out. So, I decided to gift my wife a short vacation trip and decided to start the new married life with royalty, hence I booked Taj Lake Palace.

We arrived on 22nd April and stayed for 3 nights. The outstanding hospitality started from Udaipur airport itself, when they sent a Jaguar to pick us up. The beautiful surprise which I kept from my wife was the welcome with flowers at the entrance of the hotel, this is where I felt, I hope I have given was she deserves. The wonderful & beautiful lady Ms.Neha escorted us to our room which was one of the original rooms during the hey days of the mahal. Being a lover of history, it was a perfect gesture for me.

The team was thoughtful enough to decorate the room with flower rangoli and had sweets and cake placed on the table behind a small cloth umbrella (called the lucky umbrella). Everything about the room was "Royal". I was even happier to see my wife enjoying the hospitality and the property, worth every rupee spent.

Luckily on the last day of our stay (after checking out), we decided to lunch at their restaurant 'Jharokha', again every dish we ordered was top notch. Luckily, we met the kind GM of the hotel Mr.Shyam Kaikini and had a wonderful discussion with him. Thanks to him and Taj's hospitality we were gifted the same cake that we got on the night we checked in.

Everything was special and it made my wife extremely happy (which I wanted), for which I am very thankful to everyone at Taj Lake Palace. Please accept my heartfelt regards and as promised we will visit the property again in November/December (Hope to get the same room).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Utk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
249 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The combination of the lake, the palace and the service makes it really one of the leading hotels in the world (and I stayed in some). The service is impeccable, from the reception, to the room service, bar, restaurant, etc. All neat and clean. The coordination of the motor boat service between the palace and the main land is well crafted, you never wait too long. The interior garden is really nice and the detail of flute live performance from above in the garden is magic. Another advantage is that you are walking distance from the City Palace, the city market, the Haveli museum and ghats,and the temples. It is worth every penny.

Room Tip: I do not think there are bad rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

From the moment you arrive at this palace till the moment you leave, all personnel is trying to give you the experience as if you are a royal/VIP. The atmosphere and surrounding is amazing, as well as the food. But by far the best element of this hotel/restaurant is the feeling/service they try to give you. It is expensive but it will exceed every expectation you have.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophiehaverkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

this hotel has an amazing approach and the hotel is really pretty and the food is also good but avoid going in summers because the lake starts to dry up so its not as much as fun as going in the winters or monsoon season.....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pun999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

This was my third visit to the hotel but the first time we stayed in the hotel. Starting with the reception at the boat jetty till the see off again it's a wholesome experience. The food is just great and hospitality is warm. The place has a quaint charm. Taj has made a true effort to recreate the erstwhile mewari ambience. It's value for money

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bindukat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel rightfully deserves its reputation as being one of the best in the world. Aside from the most breathtaking arrival by boat and a welcome which includes being showered with rose petals, Lake Palace is luxury at every turn. The rooms are simply beautiful, the staff subtle but ever present and ready to meet your every request. One evening we returned to our rooms to find that the chef had made personalised mud cake desserts for our family...

It was such a nyc place

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Property: Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing