We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of life's unforgettable treats”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I returned after a 10 year absence to this iconic hotel (yes, for once "iconic" is the mot juste) in May 2014. We had tried to do so 5 years ago but it was then booked up and the lake was empty. Now the lake has been restored. We were delighted to find the hotel exactly as we remembered it. Coming from the extraordinary and massive Umaid Bhawan at Jodhpur, this seemed at first a tiny jewel of a place, but soon we adjusted to its compactness and luxuriated in the beautiful decoration, views, superb service, wonderful food and the unique location which makes every arrival and departure an event. As always in Taj Hotels (in my experience) the staff provided a cosseting, efficient service, always seeming to do their job as if nothing mattered but one's comfort and enjoyment. We had let slip that we were celebrating a major anniversary and a beautiful cake was provided for us with a delightful edible painting on the top depicting us on a camel. A lovely touch. Altogether a memorable stay in a very special hotel. Everyone should allow themselves this treat at least once in their lifetime. Also, Udaipur is an excellent city for shopping!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,065)
There are newer reviews for Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,546 - 1,552 of 3,066 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

A very friendly welcome and the driver of the boat took our photo as we motored to the palace. Again we were made welcome with a cold drink and after the paperwork was completed we were taken to our room. We had a view of the beautiful city palace especially in the late afternoon where it glowed in the setting sunlight. We went to both restaurants and staff (including the chef) went out of their way to make our experience most enjoyable. In the evening we enjoyed martinis in the bar which the staff made perfectly the way we asked for.
The hotel is very beautiful and we went on the evening tour of the areas with explanations given.
This is more than a 5 star hotel. We were surprised to be told that all of our meals and drinks were 'on the house' on our last day at the hotel.
We thoroughly enjoyed our short time there and hope we will be able to visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nefer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

An amazing experience in a secluded and very well retained palace. It does feel like you live in a real palace and its people ensure that everything is up to the highest standards. The hotel isn't very large but big enough with many areas where you can relax, enjoy a drink have a lovely meal. The fact that is inside the lake initially concerned me as I wasn't sure how easily and regularly I could reach the shore and explore the city; however this was not an issue at all as the boat ride is only 5 mins and there is always a boat waiting for you either outside the hotel or at the jetty. I cannot praise enough the staff. On a a downside I think we were given one of the smallest rooms but it was overlooking the lake. So I think it was either a larger room overlooking the gardens or a smaller one overlooking the lake. We did see both rooms to choose but later I realised that the room we took at the back side was one of the smallest ones. Unfortunately I dont remember the room number to share with the readers. The pool and the pool are not exceptional but adequate. I guess withing the grounds of the palace and there were only so much they can do with regards to the pool. Finally I found the breakfast kind of minimal, still enough to feel like you are having a healthy breakfast but compared to breakfast served at other Taj Hotels this was very limiting. Overall a very pleasant experience and I am glad I had the opportunity to live it.

Room Tip: There are a couple of small rooms at the back corners of the palace. You gain the lake view but you...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank antinoosgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at this property to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary, so naturally we wanted a really romantic place to celebrate our special day. I am happy to say that I couldn't have taken a better decision. From the moment we stepped into their jetty we were treated like royalties. If romance were to be structurally represented as a palace, it would take the shape of this hotel. Despite having gone during an off season, the experience has been nothing short of breathtaking. The palace lives up to its reputation of being the pleasure palace for the kings, views, room, entertainment, facilities and most importantly the staff are just fabulous. Service is very personal and intuitive. The restaurants are very impressive and clearly specialize in not only the local delicacies, but also international dishes. Their specialty restaurant is a must try for people wanting to sample some exquisite Rajasthani dishes. The palace offers some stunning sunset views and mesmerizing night visuals of the beautifully lit up forts and old structures on the banks of the lake. Its location is in close proximity to all the relevant tourist destinations of Udaipur. While best visited during the winters; personally I feel any season will be breathtaking in this palace hotel. It is a must stay for anyone looking for experiencing romance truly royal style.

Room Tip: Ask for lake facing rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pritampatnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We went to Umaid Bhawan last year and decided to go to Lake Palace for my b day this year. The location is excellent and the boat ride to the hotel is refreshing. Our room was lake facing and had an amazing view of the lake. The service at the hotel was okay, nothing spectacular or worth remembering. There were many things that fell short of our expectation. The girl who was supposed to look after us, asked us on our arrival if we were celebration something special. We told her that it will be my b day on 28th. On my b day she didn't even remember that it was my b day. I didn't bother with her not even remembering but we asked for a cake to be set up in the evening for a small celebration. This cake was not there on our arrival and after asking twice did it arrive. The cake was nothing special and we didn't even bother to finish it. In fact it was the same sort of cake which they served us on our arrival. We had a dinner in our package which we choose to take on the last day of our stay. WE asked if it was possible for have the dinner in our room as our son is still young and keeps on running around. They said it was not possible and eventually we went to the restaurant, only to return because he and one other kid started playing and disturbing the guests. Then they said it was possible to have the dinner in the room. It was an unnecessary ordeal to go through. On last day the cleaning department didn't change our cups, neither did they empty the waster basket. With a 2 year, cleanliness is an issue for us. They didn't change the soaps everyday. There were these little little things that they should have looked into. The service failed to register an impression which we had hoped for, especially when staying with Taj. I must say that the service as Umaid Bhawan was spectacular. They spoiled us. And after that experience we consider that service as a threshold. And if any service falls short then for us its not good enough. On my b day, at Umaid Bhawan, we had a cake and champagne waiting for us with special compliments from the Manager, when we had just requested a cake. They really took care of everything which even we didn't think of. So Lake Palace needs to buckle up if it is looking for returning customers. It will take more than a shove and a push for us to go back there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sparklelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The service was impeccable. The Indian food was delicious. The views were stunning. Each day the staff made designs using fresh flowers--some of them were about ten feet by ten feet--filled with variously colored flowers. Really really great if you are in India and tired and need a break.

Room Tip: I was lucky and got a free upgrade--ask for one!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maxwell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel in Udaipur, India lives up to the high expectation of guests. It has been a few years since we stayed here but we have pleasant memories to this day.

The room rates are expensive but it certainly is worth staying here for even one night. One can only go to the hotel in a boat and just before one arrives there is a large statue submerged in water ( I never figured out the reason for the statue being there).

Great location, good rooms and very friendly staff.

Munir Daya

Room Tip: All rooms face the lake.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 163 in Udaipur
1,872 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#5 of 163 in Udaipur
2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#17 of 163 in Udaipur
711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#35 of 163 in Udaipur
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £316 - £1,083 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing