We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It was a dream come true.You have to come here to experience what Lake Palace is all about,no words can desribe them.We came (me and my friends family) here from Jodhpur with kids.Starting from the Boat ride which takes you to palace standing in the centre of the lake ,to welcome by showering of rose petals is a experience which will go down your memory lane.Front office staff are very hospitable.Palace is very beuatiful ,nice garden with lots of Birds and the breeze makes you feel in heaven.Food is very nice ,specialy the Four course Thali . At Neelkamal Mr Hariram ji and his team made us eat so much that i cannot tell you.Our Palace rooms were very nicely done ,truly luxurious ,housekeeping staff takes good care of you..Children enjoyed each and every moment boating,swiming .In morning and evening you will hear the beuatiful sound of Flute being played which changed the total feel of the palace.Every day they had folk dances in the evening which were very entertaining
Food was very good ,so was the serving staff starting from a lovely breakfast at Jharokha at the lake side resturant was awesome. One suggestion they can have more choices in oriental , thai and Italian food .
Overall Awesome

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gagan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,642
    195
    37
    18
    12
See reviews for
685
1,518
101
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It was a birthday gift from my husband and worth every paisa!! Amazing stay! Courteous staff and service. The location was awesome and we got a lake-facing room. The view of the City palace in the evening was stunning! Most memorable holiday!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms have a scenic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VPalwankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Formerly a residence for the king of Jaipur, in the 70's, it became a hotel for the common man like us to live like a king for the duration of our stay. The service was impeccable from the time Guarov met us at the airport to when he dropped us off. All of the staff new our names upon our arrival. The guard met us at the boat and walked us under his umbrella to the entrance, where they showered us with rose petals and placed a mark of blessing on our foreheads. Priya made certain every need was taken care of and she always had a beautiful smile for us. They offer a dance program to watch every evening and a flautist awakens you in the morning from his perch beneath a dome on the second floor. They have two different restaurants to choose from and the food is delicious. As well, in the early evenings one has the option of taking a historic tour of the hotel as well as a sunset cruise to the pleasure palace across the lake. I would highly recommend both. The rooms are lush with every possible accommodation you might need. They even deliver two newspapers to your door each morning. The pool looked wonderful as well, though we didn't have to time to enjoy it. They also have a cigar lounge, and at times, someone is available to do your astrological chart and horoscope if you are in to that sort of thing. Finally there are some wonderful stores on site if you're looking for that particular gift or keepsake to take home with you. We had a wonderful talk with one of the shop keepers who sold Pashmina scarves and was actually from Cashmere. What a delight all the way around.

Room Tip: splurge for a lakeside room with a view of the palace. Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

As usual the trident and Oberoi hotels never disappoint. Udaipur trident is very well appointed and is absolute value for money. The service is excellent, the staff extremely courteous and friendly, the food superb, and the ambience and location of the hotel perfect. These guys maintain very high standards and don't compromise. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sushantsareen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We went to have lunch...and were rudely greeted by the security guard who told us that only hotel guests were allowed into the private road. He did not even ask if we were guests...how did he know?? Anyhow, we were surprised and disappointed with the inhospitable way we were handled...after that...who would stay? We ended up eating at renovated royal palace, also lake side, in town at a fraction of the price and as nice of a view and good food. We were grateful the drive into town gave us a sense of the beauty and atmosphere of this little Indian "Venice".

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jjeenn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
135 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

After two months in India, I can say that this is easily one of the nicest hotels in South Asia. Great attention to detail at every turn, from your first arrival celebration, to the fact that every staff person know your name before you've even been introduced. Udaipur is a very fun, beautiful city to visit. Even if it were not, however, it would be worth the trip to stay at the Taj Lake Palace.

Room Tip: Splurge for a lakefront room, preferably facing the City Palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tedster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed one night with my friend. This hotel must be the best hotel in India or in the world. It seems to cost a lot but it was quite valuable if comparing the quality of this property and nice staffs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bholabhola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Property: Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing