We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable - a slice of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unforgettable - a slice of heaven”
Reviewed 23 August 2009

This hotel is a dream come true. Came here for the honeymoon package and have never felt better treated in any hotel. Service was fantastic, the hotel itself is stunningly beautiful, food is excellent, I could go on and on. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFTravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParveenChander, Parveen Chander Kumar, General Manager at Taj Lake Palace Udaipur, responded to this review, 28 August 2009
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Lake Palace, Udaipur!

Thank you for updating your experience with us Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you have had a very pleasant experience in our Palace and your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence. I have shared your compliments with all our staff members,

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Taj Lake Palace, Udaipur is committed to delivering to all our guests.

With warm regards,

Parveen Chander Kumar
General Manager | Taj Lake Palace,
Post Box No.5 | Udaipur Raj 313 001 | INDIA | p +91 294 242 8800 | f +91 294 252 8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,734
    198
    38
    18
    13
See reviews for
727
1,560
104
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Absolutely spectacular. If you come to this part of India, go to Udaipur to stay in this hotel. Everything about it is unbelievable. Truly one of the world's best.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPCbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParveenChander, Parveen Chander Kumar, General Manager at Taj Lake Palace Udaipur, responded to this review, 28 August 2009
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Lake Palace, Udaipur!

Thank you for updating your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you have had a very pleasant experience in our Palace and your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence. I have shared your compliments with all our staff members,

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Taj Lake Palace, Udaipur is committed to delivering to all our guests.

With warm regards,

Parveen Chander Kumar
General Manager | Taj Lake Palace,
Post Box No.5 | Udaipur Raj 313 001 | INDIA | p +91 294 242 8800 | f +91 294 252 8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We had read a lot about this beautiful Taj property from our friends/relatives and also read the wonderful reviews online. However, nothing matches to the real experience! You drift into a dream world from the minute the hotel car comes to pick you at the airport. The guys truly pamper you. The property might be a bit small in size but the staff makes up for it! They upgraded us to a suite which was quite a grand surprise. Our suite had a small “jharokha” from where you could see the other forts. Unfortunately the lake had all dried up so the view wasn’t that great but it looked real nice at night when the palace lights were lit up. The restaurant manger along with the chef used to come to our table during each meal to check if we were being served well and if we wanted any special preparation. Best of all they served us so many freebies! You can easily ask for meal for one person instead of two since they will send so much stuff your way any which ways :)

My most memorable holiday so far was at Oberoi’s Wildflower resort in Simla. But it is now the Udaipur Lake Palace experience. Everything was perfect – right from the food to evening performances. The staff treats everyone like royalty! They ensure privacy of guests and yet appear out of nowhere if you want something. Amazing!

  • Liked — The super friendly and attentive staff!
  • Disliked — The dried up lake... I wish the hotels nearby would pool in money to make an artificial lake!
  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravelinIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall England
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We bought a Madhur Jaffrey cook book in 1984 and it has a recipe 'The Lake Palace Hotel's Aubergine cooked in the pickling style'. We found a photograph of the hotel and promised ourselves that one day we would stay there. In January we did. It was more than we had ever dreamed of.

Lake Pichola was quite low but the reflections, particularly in the evening were fantastic. with the City Palace golden and shimmering and the flocks of birds skimming the water. We checked in at 10am, thank you other reviewers for the tip, and checked out at 2pm the following day, so we squeezed in 28 fabulous hours!

We were upgraded to the Mayur Mahal suite, husbands 60th birthday, cake, flowers, dining room, double bath, Molton Brown products, choice of 3, yes 3 bath robes each, Maharinas swing in bedroom, stunning lake views. Paradise, heaven you name it, we were so happy. The staff are fantastic, they are so friendly but dont bother you. Always on hand to grant your every wish. The restaurant service was first class, they even made us a packed luch to take when we left for no extra charge. The dinner on the rooftop restaurant was unforgettable. Book in advance.

We took an evening cruise, had a swim and watched the evening dance show. We hardly wanted to sleep but the rose petal strewn bed, the chocolates at turndown made it difficult and we slept till dawn. Oh I want to go back, Udaipur and the Taj Lake Palace Hotel is the place of dreams.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlieCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

It is just amazing and if you can just afford the one night as we did then just go for it.
It is very special. The rooms are glorious and make sure you book a room with a lake view. The internal gardens are heaven scent. and the birds are amazing. One would not comprehend that because it is surrounded by water, in this oasis of granduer. The opulence along with tradition is everywhere, If you are romantic then to the Pontoon dinner. It is divine and it will cover you for Valentines dinners for the rest of your days.
Do make sure you take a swim in the pool and experience the nightly dance troupe.
Fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatherly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Yes, it is expensive, but it is worth every penny. Just book this hotel for your stay in Udaipur, it is heaven on earth! Absolutely everything exceeded my expectations and I just wish that I can go there again soon.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greattripsChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Having wanted to stay here since a little girl - we turned a blind eye to the prices (ouch!) and treated ourselves mid India trip to night here. Woweee.

This place just oozes elegance, romance and history.

The original room we were given was a little disappointing - a spa suite with two floors (first floor - spa beds / second floor - bedroom) - it wasn't a good use of space with nowhere to put our bags etc. However the lovely management worked hard to ensure we got a room which met our expectations - and boy, did they deliver! We were shown into a gorgeous suite with windows opening over the lake, a four poster bed, loungers everywhere... Amazing!!

From the moment we checked in at the quai to the moment we reluctantly checked out we were in bliss. The views, the food, the pool, the staff, the architecture, the spa, the room... Everything had the boxes ticked by us!

Yes - it's expensive, but what an experience... Wouldn't have stayed anywhere else!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcg79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 161 in Udaipur
1,830 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 161 in Udaipur
2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 161 in Udaipur
701 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Property: Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing