We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2010

We stayed at this amazing property during our honeymoon. The sheer beauty of the palace was matched with the superb service of the staff. Something we are still raving about. A once in a lifetime experience!

Right from the rose petal welcome, surprise upgrade to Rang Mahal, chapagne-spa, honeymoon surprises, warmth of the staff who could almost preempt our service requirements to the elegance and pristine beauty of the palace; Everything kept us spellbound.

WoW!

Thanks for the wonderful memories!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vermas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,464 - 2,470 of 3,098 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2010

actually i stayed there in 2004 but the date of stay did not have that criteria.
it was a haven in an amazing country. the service was gorgeous the rooms were amazing. i was roughing it with friends till i put my foot down (and my money) it was so worth it. The staff of the hotel were friendly and when they found out that i had roughed it they changed my room to ultra luxury without a charge. it was a big birthday and they made sure i never forgot it. The food was great. the people were great and i plan to have my wedding there if i ever get married, if not i will just come whenever I can. if you want heaven on earth this is it. Although ultra luxurious it was not snobby not one false move. loved loved it and all the people there. So Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

We arrived in Udaipur from Delhi after a 12 hour delay at Delhi International Airport -- tired, frustrated, and overall a bit worse for the wear. I think we had to email the hotel staff about four times during the day to inform them of the status of our flight, so that they could arrange pickup from the airport (40 minutes away) when (if) we finally arrived. Due the delays, we missed one entire day of the two we had scheduled in Udaipur.

The reception process was wrinkle-free, from refreshing towels at the boat landing, to whisking off our luggage, to getting us into our room immediately and handling all the check-in formalities there. Ok, so we could have done without the shower of rose petals and red smudges on our foreheads (we were TIRED!), but the concierge had heard of our airport delays and treated us to an upgrade to the Virkha Suite -- a very welcome surprise.

We headed for the bar almost immediately (believe me, we needed a drink!). Sat outside on the terrace, which we had all to ourselves. At some points during the stay it seemed as if we had the entire palace to ourselves, it was so quiet and spacious. I asked for a glass of bubbles and was given two to try (both Indian -- Marquise de Pompadour and Sula -- and both good, although I liked the former slightly better). The general practice when one orders wine is for the staff to bring out a bottle of what was ordered plus two others (in the same general category) and offer a taste of all of them. At first we thought it rather unnecessary, knowing what we like and what we don't like, and of course we assumed they were trying to sell us a higher priced glass, but in fact that wasn't the case. So nearly every time we ordered a glass of wine, the two of us got to taste six. Very nice touch.

On to dinner in the Indian restaurant (Neel Kamal) to enjoy fantastic thalis. Not wanting to go with the all-veg thali or the all-meat thali, we asked our waiter if we could re-arrange some of the offerings. No problem. Service was brilliant, from the hostess to the maitre d', to the chef. We did find one of the lamb dishes rather tough, and mentioned it to the maitre d'. Big mistake. Lesson one: NEVER complain about the food, because they will bring you more. The chef came out and was so dismayed he immediately sent out another lamb dish for us to try (as if we needed more food). But the intentions were good, and in fact the second lamb dish was quite nice. We tucked off to bed happy as clams.

The next day was to be our last in Udaipur -- or so we thought. I came down with acute gastritis (not food related) in the morning and spent an entire day in bed. Finally had to ring for a doctor in the evening, and the hotel of course had one on call, so he came up to diagnose me and prescribe meds. Excellent man, total cost (1,000 rupees/$20 US) added to bill. Hotel staff dispatched to the chemist's to fill prescriptions, while other staff came up to mix my salt/sugar/lemon concoction. My husband ended up dining alone in the Indian restaurant while I watched The Poseidon Adventure (one of SEVERAL titles available in the hotel's DVD library) and he came back with a handwritten get well note from the staff, a rose and a tray of cookies for me.

The next morning we realised there was no way I'd make the six hour drive to our next destination, so we remained at the Lake Palace for another two nights -- at the regular room rate still. Staff demonstrated constant concern for me and did everything they could to make my stay as comfortable as possible. They even booked us a private shikara ride around the lake that evening, as we hadn't really been able to take advantage of the activities that were included in our original package. The hostess at the restaurant continued to send me biscuits to the room throughout our stay, asked for a photograph with us, taught me how to wrap my new sari, and generally exuded warmth and loveliness.

Breakfast every day was quite good -- well organised, excellent food, and a great venue, particularly if one can manage to get seated in the little private alcove on the corner!

Getting to and from the town is simple and efficient -- the policy is "guest is coming, boat is going" so there was never more than a 2 minute wait to get from hotel to dock or vice versa.

Yes, some of the exterior could use a good scraping and repainting, and the pigeons are a constant annoyance, but one could do far worse than staying in this beautiful place. To those who reviewed it as "terrible" -- it's difficult for me to believe that you stayed in the same hotel that we did.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandering_Tine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Excellent Restaurants . best garden view .

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mayanklovesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

Our 25 year old dream of staying here was finally realised last year, and indeed this exquisite palace did not disappoint - it far exceeded our expectations, and we will return! From the moment we arrived at the pier to be greeted by a charming and beautiful hostess who handed us scented towels till our sad departure 2 days later we savoured every second of our stay. Our bags were whisked away in a separate boat to await us in our room while we sped across the water marvelling at the floating fairytale white creation awaiting us. I felt like a princess ascending the red carpet while rose petals fluttered down from above. Check-in was in our room - a nice touch. Our lake view room was elegantly and sumptuously appointed with a stunning view across to the City Palace, the lake water turning gold at sunrise - my husband, a keen photographer, was in his element! Lovely toiletries, fresh fruit, kettle, an assortment of teas and coffee. Food was excellent (both on the rooftop with its sweeping view, and in the coffee shop where we loved the wonderful fruit selection and the scrumptious pancakes and waffles!). Service was outstanding and discreet - nothing was ever too much trouble, but the staff never hovered irritatingly as happens so often in India: my son gave a little shiver on the roof at dinner and a few minutes later a Kashmiri shawl was draped around his shoulders. The entire palace has been impeccably and tastefully restored and is a delight to wander round, with antiques, beautiful furniture and artwork (loved the huge brass camels at the coffee shop), lovely views round every corner, exquisite scent just floating through the air, a flautist playing in the early morning... We felt privileged to have been able to experience this very special place and applaud the preservation of one of India's treasures.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuefromSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We loved our stay at the lake palace. The hotel was a palace in the centre of the lake and it was hauntingly beautiful. When we looked out of room we'd see the waters of the lake gently lapping on the walls and creating a super shadow play with the lights floating in the water.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jay_katari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

its a place of peace clam with full of new things which v never seen before or heard before

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mishtorster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 165 in Udaipur
1,909 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 165 in Udaipur
2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#19 of 165 in Udaipur
717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#34 of 165 in Udaipur
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £504 - £1,069 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing