We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the most romantic location I have ever seen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2010

The Taj Lake Palace is undoubtedly one of the best hotels in India. Situated right in the middle of Lake Pichola, this hotel is a floating dream hotel. The service is amazing and the looks from the room are spectacular.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kannandgr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,434 - 2,440 of 3,096 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2010

There are thousand excellent reviews on this hotel on the web. Mine is not going to destroy this tendency: it is outstanding hotel wich has a huge history behind its walls, which has outstanding location, which has outstanding staff. It was worth each dollar that has been spent there (be prepare to spend a lot of money here). I have visited the place during off-season time, but it was amazing (just for the notice - the heat of Rajasthan is quite bearable for those who are living in the South of Europe so do not fear to take the trip during this time - the places are not crowded, and the level of service is impecable). It is a real fairy-tale that You have to experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrii_rozenblume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

It was recomended by a friend to stay in this hotel. The City Palace, which stretches along the eastern shore of Lake Pichola, leaves visitors spellbound.the best choice for a romantic stay would have to be the Taj Lake Palace. Often referred to as one of the world's most romantic hotels, it's a magical 250 year old white marble and mosaic summer palace, located in the middle of Lake Pichola. It seems to miraculously float on the lake,the level of service there is quite like no other.A real treat is the royal spa boat, which will take you on a romantic escapade while you soak in the hot tub with a glass of fine wine or champagne. every one should visit and stay in the palace, its a excellant and unforgettable experience . thankyou.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KUTTACHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Staying at the Taj Lake Palace surpasseed all our expectations. The lake and surrounding countryside / hiftorical buildings provide a magical back driop to the hotel whuich is itself almost unreal.room service is good

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pankaj791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

The hotel is located on Pikala lake. There are plenty of rooms fore vistors nearly 80+. Every room has satellite tv, private bathrooms and internet access. It has dining restaurant Neel Kamal whichg serves the variety of food cuisines. facilities of hotel include free breakfast, sauna, spa, business center, Swimming pool, Fitness Room and room service is great and make You feal like really special.. I had a great time there and recomment to all...

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandeep1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Went to Udaipur for holiday in Feb 2010 and had booked the Lake Palace in Advance. It was on the insistence of a friend who had been there once. The money spent looked worth the moment we stepped in. They treat you like royalty and the food is the most awesome we had for a long long time. The sightseeing arranged by the hotel was not bad at all and we covered many places in Udaipur in quick time. Overall, I feel it was a wise decision and we enjoyed a lot........

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelverdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

I dont have enough words to describe the fantastically beatiful and romantic loaction of this hotel. This is a 5 star hotel and is quite expensive, but definitely worth the money if you are planning a memorable occasion (honeymoon or anniversary) :-)

We stayed for 4 nights in 2005, and were absolutely blown away by the grandeur and luxury of this hotel. All rooms are lake facing, and the rooms are equipped with the best of stuff out there.

The service offered by the hotel is super great and all the staff are fluent in english. We were picked up by a uniformed chauffer at the airport (included in our room rate) and were waited upon at all times during our stay. They actually take you across to the hotel in a private motor boat!

The bar at the hotel is fantastic as is the restaurant. There are several areas in the hotel to enjoy a nice cocktail and watch the old royal palace across the lake. The on site spa is absolutely great!

Our biggest tragedy was that we went in June (height of summer in India) and we did not check if the Lake Pichola had water in it. As a result (when we reached the Lake palace hotel, the lake was bone dry with NOT A DROP of water in it). We got a camel ride in the lake instead of a boat ride. Although this is not the usual case, it seems that there was drought and thus no water in the lake. However, no one told us, and we did not think that it would be a question to ask the hotel/travel agency!

If you are going there, it would not hurt to email the hotel staff in advance and clarify if there is water in the lake. Although, it put a little dent in our stay, we absolutely enjoyed our stay there. Will go back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SVG108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 165 in Udaipur
1,908 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 165 in Udaipur
2,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#20 of 165 in Udaipur
716 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#33 of 165 in Udaipur
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £491 - £1,017 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing