We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
michigan
2 reviews
“awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

First of all this hotel is located in Monroe mi, it’s an awesome location for travelers like me. We can just go down there enjoy the country environment and feel the nature. Second of all they do have a indoor heated swimming pool and spa, it was really nice and clean, the water was warmest I ever remember. I really enjoyed it, and also the morning hot breakfast made my day. Above all they let me extend my check out time with no extra cost.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danny_romeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,615
    193
    36
    17
    12
See reviews for
676
1,501
100
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

As long as you are willing to forfeit the gym (two treadmills snugly fitted in a room) and the pool (a cold puddle), this hotel is magic. The service is a bit fussy in typical Indian style, but it works. The rooms are nothing short of spectacular. The first night we were given "baby" sized rooms (i believe 110 and 111) but for the remaining nights we were moved to wonderfully spacious and beautiful rooms. Also, afternoon tea is wonderful, as is the 5-6pm afternoon dance.
Udaipur itself is quietly magic (and stands in sharp contrast to the tourist ripoff extravaganza that is Jaipur). The Lake Palace fits right in. I m returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zazzzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

Okay... I don't usually spend so much on a hotel room but I kept questioning myself: "How often do you get the chance to visit Udaipur? How often do you get the chance to stay on a very small island?? How often do you get the chance to stay at a palace???" After a quick analysis of my finances it didn't take me too long to decide to splash out on a room at the Taj Lake Palace.

We had just one night at the Palace (1 January 2011) and then a couple more nights at a cheaper hotel in Udaipur.

In all honesty we didn't really get to utilise all the facilities that we could/should have. We didn't use the antique car service… I really wanted to but we had our own driver drop us off. I didn't go to the yoga session… I really wanted to but the bed was too comfortable. I didn’t use the spa facilities… I really wanted to but the pool had me in its lap. I didn't do the organised tour of the hotel… I really wanted to but the view from the roof terrace had me in a trance.

We did do the lake cruise… which you need do only once. We did have lunch on the roof terrace… the food was good but it's the view that is so amazing and special. We did have dinner in Neel Kamal… the hotel's Indian restaurant and the food and service was just fantastic. We did have breakfast (included in the room rate)… the view from our breakfast table was outstanding and the food was great.

We did swim in the pool... in fact, we swam several times. These were my only swims during this trip to India... and it wouldn't have mattered if the pool was freezing as I was determined to enjoy the pool and that view. Happily, the pool is heated to a perfect temperature. I know I will remember the pool and that view until I am a very, very old man.

The Lake Palace is a truly great place to stay. Sure it's done up to within an inch of its 5 star rating... sure, there might be a little too much glamour for some... sure, it's expensive. James Bond fans (it was an Octopussy location) will probably love it; devotees of "shabby chic" will probably hate it. Travellers who want to take some time out to rest and recuperate in absolute luxury will love it; time-constrained travellers wanting to visit all the sights in and around Udaipur will probably not have time to enjoy all that the hotel has to offer.

If I had my time over (or if I ever go back) I would stay there two nights... just so I could really soak up the luxury. I must also mention the staff, who were always fantastic and very helpful (by way of example, I had been having loads of trouble cancelling some forward Delhi accommodation that I no longer needed… the Lake Palace staff took my problems away and sorted them all out for me).

Now about the cost factor... a friend once told me I shouldn't stress about spending more on certain things and that you should always dilute monetary concerns with the following question: "In 10 years time will you remember how much it cost?" 10 years??? It's 14 days since I stayed there and the bill has been paid, gone and is almost forgotten. There are no regrets.

I absolutely love Udaipur and I completely adore the Taj Lake Palace.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GregDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

A unique experience, end to end. Location, history, quality of service, kindness of staff. It will stay in my memory for years.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fvi92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed at the Taj Lake Palace during December 2010. Having read previous reviews and recommendations from friends and colleagues, we were expecting something special and were certainly not disappointed.
The setting is simple breathtaking and outwardly has to be one of the most beautiful hotels in the world.
From the moment you arrive at the boat launch, to the moment you leave you are made to feel like royalty adding a special feeling to a very special place.
A stay here has to be a must for any traveller passing through Udaipur.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foramandmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

It remains the classic place to stay in Udaipur although it is in not exactly value for money and next time we will try the Leila Kempinski.

We had requested a renovated room but as the hotel was busy with a wedding and we checked in relatively late we were disappointed by the small room we were given. We did raise this with the staff and were moved to a suite in the heritage part of the building the next day. This made our stay extremely enjoyable and comfortable.

The staff was extremely friendly helpful and courteous. Dinner on the roof is spectacular or romantic whicever suits and the quality of the fod both the international and Indian cuisine was very high.

One problem I suspect all properties near the water have is that of pigeons. It particularly manifests itself at the pool. The hotel trying to keep them away but there are not just occassional dropings in the pool area.

A comment I will make to every property we stayed in India - I expect internet access at a 5* property to be included in the price.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller9182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

There is a reason for this hotel being consistently rated so highly. From the rose petal shower welcome, the attentiveness of each and every employee and the ambience of this palace, everything is perfect.
We had a lovely lake view palace room with a bathroom to die for. I can't think of anything which was not thought of. Great housekeeping and great service.
Truly a royal experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Property: Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Southall Travel, DerbySoftTaj, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing