We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience I could have lived without”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“An experience I could have lived without”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

This is an attractive hotel with many good features. BUT in an establishment that has such a high nightly rate, I do not expect to run out of toilet roll, nor do I find it acceptable to leave a half finished bottle of body lotion in the bathroom and not replace it - how far can one go on the 'nickel and dime' routine. I have rated all the other hotels I stayed in India on this trip at a much higher level, and I will never return to this place. In addition to my earlier small complaints - the Concierge desk certainly takes its time to respond to queries - the internet is an additional charge - the lake view rooms lose the sun off their decks well before 3.00 p.m.

This place does not get my vote.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
Thank you for the opportunity to speak to you over the phone.

First of all I would like to thank you for writing the review following your recent stay at The Oberoi Udaivilās. Feedback from our guests is always greatly appreciated and helps us to constantly strive for excellence.

I am extremely sorry to learn that you had issues with the replenishment of room amenities and delay in response from the concierge service. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and the concerns have been discussed with senior team members and corrective measures and improvements have been put into place.

Despite your review I do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to restore your faith and regain your confidence in us. Please advise me when your travel plans next bring you to Udaipur so that I may personally take care of your arrangements. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Yours sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,555
    142
    36
    18
    9
See reviews for
456
804
41
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

I have stayed at hotels in many places and nothing can compare to the environment created at Udaivillas. The service is like no other. Despite the high occupancy, at times I wondered if I was the only one staying there because of the attention that the staff provides and the serenity that is created, especially at night. I traveled to several cities in India after staying here and could not find the same sense of peace and comfort. My recommendation is to stay here last if traveling around India. You will leave on a high note.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadjad78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 10 March 2011
We are so happy to read your TripAdvisor review following your recent visit to Udaivilas.

It is our pleasure to learn from your review that you experienced the sense of peace and comfort here that you were looking forward to.

Thank you so very much for appreciating the hotel ambience, the service and our staff. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back, again, to The Oberoi Udaivilās.

Thank you and best regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

I loved the Oberoi hotel in India, we stayed there on our honeymooon period and had the rooms with private swimming pool it was a dream... The service, staff, food of the restaurant were high standard even the spa had extremely nice treatments. The hotel is quiet and extremely well decorated. Modern and clean. GREAT EXPERIENCE
Plus all the Oberoi in India have this principle of no tipping for each action but instead leaving an enveloppe at the end of the stay at reception so it avoids you to be worried about having the right cash all the time. The best hotel we stayed in Rajasthan during our 3 weeks travelling the North of India.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrinettevacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaivilas-Oberoi, Jan. B. Tibaldi, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 2 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!

We really appreciate your feedback about the hotel facilities, service, food, staff and the location.

The team Udaivilas is pleased to know from your review that their efforts were so well appreciated. Guests' feedback actually works as the great source of motivation!

Thank you for writing such a lovely TripAdvisor Review!

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back, again, to The Oberoi, Udaivilas.

Thank you and best regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

I've stayed in many 5 star properties but I like none more than Udaivilas. The hotel is breathtaking, the location is amazing, and the staff is the best there is. Next time I go to India I will travel to Udaipur just so I can stay at this hotel (well, ok, the shopping and the sights are great too). This hotel wraps you in luxury, but not the uptight, formal, can never relax type of luxury. It, like other Oberoi Vilas properties, take you away to a place where you can relax and marvel at how someone could build something so beautiful. It's worth the trip to Udaipur. If you can get one of the rooms that access the off-room swimming pools it is great, and if you want to really splurge for a suite, they have private infinity pools. From the time you are picked up at the airport to the moment you leave, it's special in every regard and nothing you'll ever forget.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sobe21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaivilas-Oberoi, Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
Fabulous review indeed!

I would like to thank you for taking out precious time of yours to share your experience following your recent visit to The Oberoi Udaivilās in the form of such an amazing TripAdvisor review.

We are delighted that the location, facilities, service and the most precious posession of ours, 'the team Udaivilās' left lasting impressions with you. We will be sure to share your feedback with them.

Thank you so very much, once again, for your Trip Advisor review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your holiday while staying with us.

We look forward to welcome you back to The Oberoi Udaivilās on your return to Udaipur.

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

Udaipur is The City of Lakes - so beautifully adorned with natural lakes and foliage. Green, clean air, slow pace with all the amenities of lovely residents, walking about on your own.
The Oberoi is a luxurious place, transporting you to a magical time. The staff is superb and attentive. Worth the splurge - a life experience in and of itself.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YingMei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaivilas-Oberoi, Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 21 February 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with us following your recent visit to The Oberoi Udaivilās.

Your trip advisor review about the hotel, staff and the service have been shared with the team Udaivilas. They are pleased to learn that your holiday, while staying with us, was fabulous.

Thank you so very much, once again, for your Trip Advisor review.

We look forward to welcome you back to The Oberoi Udaivilās on your return to Udaipur.

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

We stayed in the Oberoi Udaivilas for two night as a part of our 8 nights Oberoi vacation. Among the 4 hotels that we visited on this trip, the Oberoi Udaivilas was simply breathtaking and probably the best hotel we have visited in our life. Immaculate service, amazing rooms and views, this hotel and Udaipur in general is simply a must if you ever come to India. Thank you Oberoi for an unforgettable trip!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busytraveler-lah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaivilas-Oberoi, Jan B. Tibaldi, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 9 February 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with us following your recent visit to The Oberoi Udaivilās.

Your feedback regarding the service, rooms and views has been shared with the team Udaivilas and they are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday while staying with us.

Thank you so very much, once again, for your Trip Advisor review.

We look forward to welcome you back to The Oberoi Udaivilās on your return to Udaipur.

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

A luxury retreat with a unique view on the old city and the lake.
Make sure to get a room with lake view and you will not regret it.
You will have your feet in an infinity pool starting from your private terrace.
The restaurants are serving in a pleasant atmosphere really a good selection of Indian food and the waiters are knowledgable about ingredients. They recommendation and menu setting were an experience for the taste.
The SPA overlooking one of the swimming pools is outstanding: treatment with onsuite steam bath.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElettraStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaivilas-Oberoi, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 17 January 2011
I would like to thank you for taking out precious time of yours to share your experience with us following your recent visit to The Oberoi Udaivilās.

Your review has been shared with the team Udaivilas and they are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday while staying with us.

Thank you so very much, once again, for your Trip Advisor review.

We look forward to welcome you back to The Oberoi Udaivilās on your return to Udaipur.

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,875 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#21 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Property: The Oberoi Udaivilas
Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing