We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Oberoi's attention to detail and unobtrusive service has once again left us with the most lasting of positive impressions. The views across Lake Pichola towards the palaces are absolutely stunning. The choice of taking a boat across the lake to the hotel was one of the most memorable experiences of our lives and a great way to experience this city, a 'Venice of the East'. The architecture and beautifully manicured grounds of the hotel transport you to a time of forgotten elegance and luxury. The amenities such as the gym are of a high standard and the heat of the day just enticed us to make use of both the icy cold pool wrapping around the hotel and also the main pool for a little less chilly dip. The restaurant served great food with very atmospheric dancing adding to the charm at night. If you are seeking a very special, unique experience in possibly my most favorite city in Rajasthan look no further.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aar0n76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2011

Thank you for giving words to your experience in the form of such a generosity and informative TripAdvisor review.

On behalf of the team Udaivilas, I really appreciate your review!!

it's indeed a pleasure for all of us at Udaivilas to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and still relishing the finest memories of your trip. It is absolutely inspiring to know that you were very well satisfied with the facilities and services rendered.

Thank you so very much for sharing your experience. The other travelers would definitely be benefitted with the glimpse of your experience.

Thank you once again for such a wonderful review!!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oberoi Udaivilas on your return visit to Udaipur.

Jab B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,862)
There are newer reviews for The Oberoi Udaivilas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,470 - 1,476 of 1,864 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

We just got back from a 2-week trip in India , staying only at Oberoi Hotels. First one was the Udaivilas in the beautiful lake city of Udaipur .


This palace hotel may only have been completed in 2002 and therefore lacking 'real' history, it more than makes up for it by making any stay there the best and most wonderful one could ever experience.

Pick up at the airport was efficient and very friendly; a very capable staff member waits for you and accompanies you to an airconditioned car where the driver presents the weary traveller with cool, wet towels and bottled water. Ah, the joy of travelling Oberoi! The wonderfully romantic experience then begins with a transfer by boat across Lake Pichola towards the Udaivilas, followed by a short ride in a golf cart to take you from the pontoon to the impressive entrance terrace where smiling staff members accompany you to the hotel's entrance. After a traditional Indian welcome, personable General Manager Jan Tibaldi puts in an appearance and warmly welcomes you to his pride and joy. A very nice and personal touch, here the GM is more than merely a name on a letter or a picture in a brochure.

The hotel is a jaw-droppingly gorgeous, no matter how you look at it. All marble with exquisite designs and beautiful furniture, its open and airy atmosphere makes for a truly palatial stay with not a care in the world. Everything you want and even what you had not thought of yet, has already been taken care of or will be in a heartbeat; softly, discreetly and efficiently.
Dining is a daily pleasure with high quality food, with both western and Indian / Rajasthani specialties. We specifically recommend the 'thaali', a tasting menu of various local specialties. Ask for a recipe and the Executive Chef will be happy to send it to you with his compliments.

We had the good fortune of staying in a luxury suite with private pool .... bliss! A beautifully appointed big living / dining room, equally impressive bedroom with magnificent bathroom (again, all marble), plenty of closet space, comfortable bed and a good-sized pool with elevated private dining terrace overlooking the property and Lake Pichola ... there are no words to describe the magic quality of that particular combination of luxury, view, the sound of crickets, a star-filled sky during a warm, balmy evening and a refreshing dip in your own pool on a hot day. Not to mention the sense of truly living in a palace and yet, feeling very much at home.

A big compliment and thank-you to Jan Tibaldi and his team for making our stay at Udaivilas the most memorable and most enjoyable one of all. Truly unforgettable and hopefully, an experience to be repeated some time in the future.

Perhaps the only thing that was 'out of sync' with the whole experience was the fact that internet was not available on a complimentary basis. In this day and age, and certainly in a hotel such as Udaivilas, one would expect that to be part of the service. That would be our only suggestion to the Oberoi Group as a whole.

To any future traveller, you will not be disappointed if you are looking for the ultimate in contemporary luxury, combined with the historical feeling of staying in a rajasthani-style palace where discretion, efficiency and the magic of India are what makes it a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

Room Tip: Luxury suite with private pool is the ultimate experience!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JardinTulipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2011

First of all my heartiest thanks for taking out the time to write such a detailed TripAdvisor review.

Your feedback is informative indeed!! I really appreciate your generosity to mention everything you experienced so precisely that it makes one visualize the scenes!! Thank you once again for including everything that a traveler could be benefitted with.

Team Udaivilas is so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and taken back home the fine memories for life time. It is quite inspiring to learn that you appreciated the facilities and the services rendered so precisely.

Thank you so very much for sharing your experience with us and the other travellers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oberoi Udaivilas on your return visit to Udaipur.

Jab B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We had a fantastic stay. The property itself is stunning with its expansive grounds, sweeping courtyards and charming design/architecture but equally importantly there is no let-down from Oberoi's consistently high level of service...while we will always remember the property what truly leaves us feeling like we've had a great holiday is our impression of how we've been treated by the hotel and we find Oberoi second to none in this regard. The food was excellent if pricey and the only disappointment (which I have found in other Oberois as well) is the below-average quality of the coffee...Still, this was a small blemish on an otherwise magical stay. The rooms were well-appointed with all of the expected modcons and we felt extremely relaxed throughout...This is a great property and well worth a visit...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2011

Thank you for writing such a precise TripAdvisor review.

The team Udaivilas is very happy to learn that you enjoyed the facilities and services rendered were upto your satisfaction.

Thank you so very much for sharing your experience with us and the other travellers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oberoi Udaivilas on your return visit to Udaipur.

Jab B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Beautiful property to go.It is spread in 28 acres.Fascinating views.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumeet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2011

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review.

It is our pleasure to know that you liked The Oberoi Udaivilas. Thank you for sharing it with other travellers.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Oberoi Udaivilas on your next visit to Udaipur.

Jab B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Amazing hotel in an amazing location with excellent service - what else do you need to relax and enjoy your vacation? We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Thank you for writing such a concise and generous TripAdvisor review. It is quite inspiring for all of us at Udaivilas to learn that you liked the facilities and the services rendered. Thank you so very much for sharing your experience with other travellers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oberoi Udaivilas on your return visit to Udaipur.

Jab B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We have stayed in many hotels around the world and the Oberoi Udaivilas is so far one of the top 3 hotels.

Everything is just great!

Our driver stopped at the lakeside, we were invited to board our private boat to sail over the Pichola lake, the golfcar waited for us on the other side of the lake and drove us to the entrance. There are no real reception but we did "check in" in our room. As the staff said: "It is better this way because you can make yourself comfortable".

Service: excellent, personal, friendly ++++
Food: easy to gain weight because the food is just excellent
Rooms: wow, nice, with your private garden, great view, very good quality
SPA: very good service, the locker room is very nice including a dryer for your swimsuit
The rest of the resort (gardens, bar, entrance, swimmingpools, restaurant outside, the smells ): what can you say.... nothing, just enjoy and feel like heaven

The real resort is much better then you see on the pictures. It is maybe not good to write a review because we want to keep this treasure for ourselves, but yes, we just have to give Udaivilas our best recommendations.

To the staff at Udaivilas: Thank you very much !!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KjetilandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2011

It is motivating indeed for all of us at Udaivilas to see such a beautiful feedback after our guests depart!!

I really appreciate your generous feedback with regards to everything you included in your review!!! Team Udaivilas is so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and taken back home the fine memories for life time.

It is quite inspiring to learn that you appreciated the facilities and the services rendered so precisely.

Thank you so very much for sharing your experience with other travellers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oberoi Udaivilas on your return visit to Udaipur.

Jab B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Excellent property and very helpful staff. The location is unparalleled. Located on the Pichola lake and surrounded by beauty. The Candle room is a treat to behold in dark.

The grounds are lovely, serene and peaceful. The lake is breathtaking, especially in the night with reflection of the lights in the water. The hotel provides a free boar ride to explore the lake.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zerosum0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

Thank you for writing your feedback on TripAdvisor review post your stay with us at Udaivilas!!

I appreciate your generous feedback with regards to the property and it's location, the gardens, the surropundings, and the most precious asset - Team Udaivilas.

Team is pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the facilities and the services rendered. Thank you so very much for sharing your experience with other travellers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oberoi Udaivilas on your return visit to Udaipur.

Jab B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 163 in Udaipur
3,050 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#5 of 163 in Udaipur
2,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#18 of 163 in Udaipur
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313 001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £385 - £1,106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing