We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must at least once in Lifetime” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi Udaivilas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A must at least once in Lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed from 17th to 18th April for a Wedding, beautiful property, perfectly maintained freindly staff though you would like much more smile and greetings throughout the day. Nice breakfast with good service. Excellent food. The whole atmosphere is like a Paradise.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakesh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Guest Relations Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Thank you for taking time out and for sharing your experience on trip advisor.

I am glad that we were able to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Your appreciation of our product and service is a great source of encouragement and we are motivated to preserve and attain even higher standards of service excellence.

My team and I look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits to the city of lakes, Udaipur .

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,523
    140
    36
    18
    8
See reviews for
448
784
39
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

There are hotels. And then there are hotel experiences. The time spent at Oberoi Udaivilas easily ranks as one of the best times of my life. From the boat ride across the lake to the hotel itself, everything was stunning. The property is unbelievable, everywhere you look is artful and poetic and romantic. For example where else would you be provided with ice cold jasmin scented towels, cold water and a rosewater spritzer bottle at poolside? And the pool-stunning. There is even a wildlife reserve complete with monkeys, peacocks and wild boar. And the service is superb. We found ourselves actually putting the do not disturb sign on just to discourage the attentiveness of th staff. Where else does this happen?

Room Tip: Every room is good however some face the water and others face the wonderful lawn. The lawn rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moontide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
We are deeply touched by your kind words and we wish to convey to you our heartfelt thanks for sparing time to evaluate our product and services.

Rest assured that your positive and encouraging comments have been transmitted to all our staff and they are delighted to know that their attentiveness was noted and appreciated. They are also happy to learn that they were successful in giving you a taste of the romantic environment which suits “The Venice of the East” the most, even on your brief travel for the purpose of business.

Your words mean a new drive of motivation which recharges us to continue exceeding your expectations and achieving the highest standards of service excellence.

I sincerely hope that our distinctive service will persuade you to stay with “The Oberoi Hotels & Resorts” in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Oberoi Udaivilās.

Thank you and kind regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberteuringen
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel during our trip thru India. The Oberoi in Udaipur is one of the best hotels we have been so far. The room we had was with semi private pool. The room is very nice and modern. but most of all: the staff is soooooo friendly, unbelieveable. Also the restaurant was very good, food excelent and we have not missed anything there. The view from the room is fantastic, to the lake and city. We can only recoomend this and there was not one negative point.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eckhard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review on the Trip Advisor. We are all very glad to read that you were fully satisfied with your stay with us.
Your generous feedback has been shared with the entire team at The Oberoi Udaivilās and they are very proud to have made you and your partner’s stay with us a fantastic one achieving the desired perfection.
Your appreciation of our product, services and the friendliness of the staff is a great source of motivation for us and we are recharged to preserve and attain even higher standards of excellence.
We sincerely hope that this memory will stay on with you forever and persuade you to stay with “The Oberoi Hotels & Resorts” again and again. We look forward to welcoming you back amongst us.
Thank you and kind regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Having now visited this hotel for at least five times the quality of service and customer care sets such a high standard that any other establishment cannot catch up. It brings the rating of 6 stars into question as they exceed all levels of standards set so far. This Oberoi property set new standards in every part of its operation and has never let me down.
As a family, we have been visiting Oberoi's since 1946!! and now 3 generations have continued to be overwhelmed by their continuing attention to detail,friendly ,yet not over the top, customer care, excellent kitchens and food, as well as outstanding venues and sites.WELL DONE Udai you have again exceeded all expectations and I hope I will be able to visit you again in the future.

Room Tip: Phone in advance and the best value are the lake view with semi private pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
It is with immense pleasure that we have read your review on the Trip advisor. The Oberoi Udaivilās team wishes to thank you for devoting your precious time to give us your feedback. You and your family’s loyalty to The Oberoi Group is highly appreciated and we value your comments.

Your appreciation of our performance is a great source of inspiration for us and we are enlivened to preserve and attain even higher standards of excellence..

Thank you again for your being such wonderful brand ambassadors and for recommending the various properties of “The Oberoi Hotels & Resorts” to your friends and acquaintances. We all look forward to welcoming you for a sixth time among us.

Thank you and kind regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

This unique property truly pampers you with the exotic luxury of its rooms with semi-private pool, overlooking lake Pichola. The staff provided an impeccable service and every possible help to make our trip memorable one. The main attraction within the hotel is the Bada Mahal an old hunting lodge build by the maharanas of Udaipur and Roop Singh (he has served the ruling maharana). There is a 20-acre wildlife sanctuary on the premises, with wild boar, peacock and Indian spotted deer.

The chef has this ability to create meals that have a fantastic combination of different cuisine. The food is absolutely Divine!! The restaurant manager Natasha was always around and took care of us and our kids very well. The general Manager of the hotel is one of the finest G.M I have ever met, the staff under his leadership is well trained and always greeted us with smiling faces and folded hands he made our stay a memorable one with memories lingering in our minds for ever. The moment you enter the hotel, you will feel the real taste of royalty, gentle rippling fountains, manicured lawns.

Room Tip: rooms with semi-private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arora_simrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
We want to express our gratitude for having chosen The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. We wish to acknowledge your generosity to extract time to evaluate our product and services in detail.

Your genuine feedback has been shared with the team at The Oberoi Udaivilās with a special note to Roop Singh Ji at our hunting lodge- Bada Mahal and they are equally delighted to discover that they were successful in giving you an authentic “taste of royalty”.

Your appreciation of our performance is a great source of inspiration for us and we are enlivened to preserve and attain even higher standards of excellence.

I sincerely hope that our distinctive service will persuade you and your family to stay at our manifold of “The Oberoi Hotels & Resorts” properties across the world in the near future.

Thank you and kind regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Having previously stayed at and been blown away by the Oberois in Agra and Jaipur a few years ago, we had very high expectations of this hotel, but came away feeling short-changed.
Don't get me wrong, it is a beautiful property, in extensive and well-maintained grounds, opulently furnished - but something felt definitely "off" with the majority of the staff. They were courteous, yes, but somehow robotic and cold. Almost no-one ever smiled (the ladies on the spa reception were particularly miserable-looking - I almost turned around and walked out again), and we did not have the feeling that this was a happy place to work. There were a couple of notable exceptions - the pool attendants at the main and spa pools, who looked after me very well, and the charming Chef Rupak, who came out to speak to us after dinner every evening with a big smile on his face and even typed out one of his own recipes for us to take home when we complimented him on the dish - but they were sadly in the minority.
A few points that might be useful to others before booking this property: Note that the beautiful pool shown on all the hotel's marketing pictures is not actually available to us mere mortals who can only afford the lowest room category at EUR 400 a night excluding breakfast. We had to make do with the curiously named "main pool", which is an ugly, long, thin pool only really wide enough for two people to swim next to each other. I can't imagine why the architect decided to be so stingy with the size of the pool when everything else is so generously proportioned. I think it is the worst hotel pool I have ever seen in a 5-star resort. On one day a British family arrived with 4 extremely badly behaved children who were jumping into the pool from both sides, making it completely impossible for anyone else to use it. Another day I was unable to sit at the pool because all the loungers were taken - there are only about a dozen or so, which is ridiculous for a hotel of this size.
The room itself was as expected, attractively furnished with some nice personal touches to make it feel more like a grand stately home than a hotel room. The bath, however, was far too small, impossible to lie down even for a short (1.63 m) person like me; a taller person would have had trouble even fitting their legs in! The outside space was extremely disappointing - just a small balcony with a table and two chairs, which were so dirty as to be completely unusable. The cleaning staff never ventured there for the duration of our stay, and it clearly hadn't been touched for several months; it was desperately in need of repair and repainting, not to mention a good scrub clean. This is such a shame as we would have loved to have had a romantic breakfast or after-dinner drinks outside in our own private space, but it was unwelcoming and clearly unloved. Again, I think the architect could have done much better here - the property is so large it would have been easy to give every rooom its own attractive outdoor space with perhaps a day bed or swing. After dinner (in a gorgeous outdoor setting by the lake), there was nowhere else really for us to go - the bar was entirely indoors, and we wanted to make the most of the gloriously balmy evenings and starry skies, not sit in an air-conditioned room.
I'm not sure whether standards at Oberoi properties in general have slipped since our last visit, or whether this hotel was a one-off - either way, the staff would benefit from a visit to the fantastic Raas Haveli in Jodhpur to see what warm, welcoming customer service really looks like. And the pool there was much nicer too - at less than half the price!

Room Tip: Unless you can afford the most expensive rooms with access to the semi-private pool, I wouldn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linds_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed valuable feedback from you and your partner’s recent stay with us.

Please allow us to extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced with respect to the staff not being as friendly as desired with the exception of Chef Rupak and the pool attendants.

We regret the inconvenience caused due to the pool not being as big as desired. I am surprised you weren’t apprised about the other pool adjacent to the spa which is broader in dimensions and offers beautiful views of the lake. This is also the same pool beyond the infinity pool that is visible in the pictures of the hotel.

Rest assured your feedback has been shared with the entire team and in my follow up with our Housekeeping team. I have stressed the importance of ensuring that all guest requests are taken care of with utmost care to prevent future repeat occurrences and guest dissatisfaction. This is certainly not indicative of the service levels that we pride ourselves on and we hope that you are able to forgive us for our shortcomings.

Also, your suggestions with respect to the design and architecture have been noted.

Kindly contact me personally at jan.tibaldi@Oberoihotels.com as I would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith and regain your confidence in us. I look forward to hearing from you and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Thank you and kind regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We arrived at the hotel with high expectations and we were not disappointed . The boat trip across the lake on arrival followed by the faultless service/location/decor of the Oberoi Udaipur made for a truely magical experience . We had a couple of rooms with our own semi private pool overlooking the lake , the view was stunning.
While in the bar one evening i enquired about a mable lotus flower in our bathroom and where i could purchase one locally , the next day one appeared in our room with compliments from the staff !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StueyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiUdaivilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
The Oberoi Udaivilās team wishes to thank you for having spent your precious time to share your positive comments of your stay with us. We are happy that the reviews of our previous guests helped you make your choice and we are glad to learn that you and your family were fully satisfied with our facilities and services including the unique experience of arriving at the hotel by boat.

The staff is proud to have been able to live up to your expectations. At every interaction, we take the opportunity to know our guests better so that we can make their stay the most enjoyable.

It was an absolute delight to create a “WOW” experience for you by providing the marble lotus flower that you showed liking towards.

I sincerely hope that our distinctive service will persuade you to stay at our manifold of “The Oberoi Hotels & Resorts” properties across the world in the near future and we are already burning with impatience to welcome you back among us for your next visit to Udaipur.

Thank you and kind regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#1 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#21 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Property: The Oberoi Udaivilas
Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing