We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth !”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

If I had to imagine what heaven looks like, it would be this hotel ! It is truly "heaven on earth" . The property is breathtaking and as beautiful as its photos are, they don't do it justice. The staff is unreal .... It's like your in a dream and you don't want to wake up ! I just came back from a 10 day trip to north India to see Rajistan and the Taj Mahal . I stayed at all great hotels , but this place rivaled my feelings with seeing the Taj Mahal , it is that majestic and wonderful , I visited the spa for a Blissful 2 hour Ayurveda treatment and I thought for sure I was in Heaven . If you are lucky enough to go to this area of India you will be in for a real treat if you pick this hotel !!!!!! I would go back to India if I could
Just to experience it again !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for a great review and rewarding us as the “ Heaven on earth”!

Your incredible appreciation about the staff, service, Spa has been shared with team and they are extremely delighted to know that their services has been recognized.

We all look forward to your continued visits and shall strive our best to create some more magical and wonderful memories for you.

Thank you with kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,603
    146
    37
    18
    9
See reviews for
479
821
43
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
CALGARY
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This hotel has appeared on just about every "Best Hotel" list going and with good reason. It is staggeringly beautiful throughout - common areas, rooms, exteriors, gardens and pools and has the most amazing view over the lake towards the palace. The service is unobtrusive and impeccable - with butlers to help with setting up sunbrellas, or bring cool drinks as needed. And then there's the food - a signature dish - Lal maas, (spicy lamb) is so good it should be illegal. Service in the dining room was friendly, with many great suggestions for dishes to try. This culminated in a special tour of the kitchen and a chat with the chef - a highlight of our trip. The "swim out' rooms with patios are perfect paradises to while away a day or two of blissful indolence, but Udaipur is a fascinating place so make some time to visit the city, stroll its markets and see the sights. Udaivilas was the perfect place to finish off a long trip (if we'd started there we'd never have left!), we felt very pampered, and were rested ready for the long flight home.

Room Tip: If you can, book one of the super deluxe rooms with a view over the lakeand private steps to the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your exceptional review on our grounds, rooms, décor, gardens, pool and service.

I am happy to know that we are able to serve you with high degree of benevolence and excellence. Your feedback boost up our confidence and encourage us to deliver the best service and attention always.

Once again we thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilas and we look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best of Oberoi hospitality.

Thank you with kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The Oberoi Udaivilas is not a hotel - its a palace. They uphold the Rajasthani traditions and make the guests feel more than royal. This by far has been the best hotel I have ever stayed in - the staff are extremely well trained and make you feel so much at home. You can never have enough of this palace.

Room Tip: Do take the rooms with the pool and overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venkumurthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your remarkable and fabulous comment. I am happy to know that you had a memorable stay with us.

Your compliments have been shared with Roop Singh ji (Sher Singh) and he is delighted to know that his services have been recognized.

We all look forward to your continued visits and shall strive our best to create some more magical memories for you.

Thank you with kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stay in udaivilas was one of the most memorable.the staff was warm and friendly without being intrusive.made us feel so special.great experience

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neerjasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing feedback about your experience with us. I am extremely glad to know that we surpassed your expectations.

Your comment about the staff is extremely encouraging and has been shared with the team. They are delighted to know that they have been recognized.

The team joins me in welcoming you back to The Oberoi Udaivilas in the not too distant future.

Thank you with kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto, ON
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Udaivilas was hands down the best hotel / resort experience we've ever had. We were there for 4 days, and the service, friendliness, professionalism, and amenities of course - were out of this world.

Even Sher Singh, the septuagenarian manager of the property's hunting lodge was absolutely delightful and took such pleasure in his work. I could break it down, but there's no point - everything about the experience was just a little bit magical. I highly recommend it and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roma e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Guest Relations Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilās for your stay. We are grateful to you for having spared a few moments to share your experience and appreciation of our product and services.

Your feedback has been shared with our entire team, and they are delighted to know that they have lived up and exceeded your expectations in making your stay here, a memorable experience.

I sincerely hope that our distinctive service will persuade you to stay at many beautiful properties of The Oberoi Hotels & Resorts across the world in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Oberoi Udaivilās sometime soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

the visit to the Udaivillas Oberoi is one of the most memorable visit soooo far for me.. the kind og Hospitality and care u receive from the team in uncomparable with any other hotel...

i have stayed in most of the 5 stars hotel in india but this is really the best... amazing experinece...

smile on all the members of the hotel increase your happiness quotient...

we just loved the trip sooo much....

UdaiVillas Team u rock..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anujgureja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your generous feedback and appraising us as The Best Hotel!

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant and delightful stay with us. Your appreciation has been shared with the team and it cheers up our spirits to do best day by day.

Once again on behalf of entire team at The Oberoi Udaivilas, we thank you for choosing to stay with us on your trip to Udaipur. My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Thank you with kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Amazing experience...Probably the best hotel we have stayed in. We cannot say enough about how we enjoyed our time in the Udaipur Oberai. From the rose petal shower as we entered the hotel to goodbye walk with colorful umbrellas.The service was excellent and so were the goodies left in the room.. Every staff member seems to know your name and who you are. The Orloff suite was to die for. We really enjoyed the private swimming pool and the sunset romantic boat ride on Lake Pichola. The breakfast was excellent and so was the dinner. The grounds are stunning. We definitely plan to come back.

Room Tip: The suite with a private pool is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawood H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing feedback about your experience with us. I am extremely glad to know that we surpassed your expectation.

Your generous and inspirational thoughts about check in experience, accommodation, ambience, cleanliness and overall services encourages us to give our best day after day.

We all look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and will always strive to enhance your experience at The Oberoi Udaivilas

Thank you with kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 157 in Udaipur
2,968 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 157 in Udaipur
2,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 157 in Udaipur
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Property: The Oberoi Udaivilas
Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing