We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent Oberoi Udaivilas in Udaipur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent Oberoi Udaivilas in Udaipur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

The best of the best; amenities, service, location all 5 star. We stayed at the Oberoi Udaivilas the final three nights of our ten day trip across Rajasthan. As with the previous Oberoi's in Delhi, Agra and Jaipur and Taj Hotel in Jodhpur, accommodations were first class, restaurants excellent, and service impeccable. We really got to unwind in Udaipur and enjoy the hotel for the luxurious experience it was. Food and service were excellent. Great yoga classes and a fabulous Spa. We upgraded to the Executive Suite our final night and was it ever worth the few extra dollars; accommodations fit for Royalty with our own private pool and complete privacy. We highly recommend the Oberoi Udaivilas for anyone seeking a truly special experience.

Room Tip: there are two upgrades available; one set of rooms has a wonderful view of the lake and the Palace a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi Hotels and Resorts.

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

Thank you also for recommending The Oberoi Udaivilas. Your support is much appreciated.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Thank you and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,548
    142
    36
    18
    9
See reviews for
453
801
41
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

There is no better than the Udaivilas in Udaiphur. The hotel itself is something to explore, the grounds are magnificent, the view even better. I will have to return as I hardly saw Udaiphur as the hotel was just too amazing to leave!
The staff were beautiful and the food, amazing!
If I could rate this 6 dots I would!

Room Tip: All rooms are great however tehre are private pool access rooms, that look devine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear Guest,

WOW!! What a comment. Thank you for your unending praises of the team and the hotel.

I am delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments about the hotel and in particular of our staff are appreciated and have been communicated to the entire team. They will serve as a further source of inspiration for us, in achieving even higher standards of excellence.

Once again, thank you for your support and we are looking forward to your returning soon.

Thank you and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

The moment you enter in hotel, it comes from mounth, WOW!!. But when you take entire view of its ambience, it comes from heart, wowwwwwwwwwww!!!!!!!!!!!!. Warm hospitality, Mind blowing ambience, excellent services, large room space and interior & good feeling surprises from hotel team made my stay much pleasent and life-time experience.
Best wishes, Mukesh Moradiya

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MukeshMoradiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing on trip advisor. Thank you once again for your WOW review!!

Your feedback has been shared with the team and they are elated to fathom that you enjoyed your stay thoroughly .

Your appreciation of our performance is a great source of encouragement and we are motivated to preserve and attain even higher standards of service excellence.

I sincerely hope that our distinctive service will persuade you and your family to stay at other beautiful properties of The Oberoi Hotels & Resorts across the world in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back amongst us again.

Thank you and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

My wife and I were fortunate enough to stay at this wonderful Oberoi establishment for six nights in October of 2012. We knew that it was going to be a memorable experience from having digested the various reviews by other travellers but we were, nevertheless, astounded at the sheer luxury of this complex which seems to have been created with the unqualified pursuit of excellence in mind. The setting on the shore of Lake Pichola is picturesque and the hotel complex is beautifully constructed and architecturally delightful. Service is of the highest standard and the genuine friendliness of all the staff at every level is a credit to India and its people. The dining arrangments are elegant and romantic and the fare is well prepared by a team of professional chefs. We coold not fault any aspect of our stay and have no hesitation in concurring to its current ranking of the best hotel in India and one of the five finest in Asia.

Room Tip: The suites are wonderful and have their own private swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafferty5268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for writing on trip advisor. It is an exceptional review.

I am grateful for your appreciation of our facilities and services provided by the team, particularly your comments to our friendliness and positive attitude from our staffs.

It gives me pleasure to pass on a copy of your comments to the team. They were pleased to know that their efforts were so well appreciated.

I sincerely hope that our distinctive service will persuade you and your family to stay at other beautiful properties of The Oberoi Hotels & Resorts across the world in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back amongst us again.

Thank you and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Went there with the team at office. Nice place. Cold. Scenic. Warm People. Quiet. Good for a quick recharge. Also, fly some kites and ask them for a traditional turban. Must head out and visit the Maharaja's Car Museum if you like Vintage. Good places for shopping around. A walk along the lake at dusk is something you shouldn't miss. Do Visit Jag Mandir (Island of Pleasure) on the lake.

Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Liazuf0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write on trip advisor and sharing your wonderful feedback with us.

Vintage car museum, Jag Mandir, Lakes are few of the favorite places to be visited during your holiday in Udaipur. We are delighted to note that your stay at The Oberoi, Udaivilas was a memorable experience.

My team and I look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits to the city of lakes, Udaipur .

Thank you and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We just returned from an excellent vacation at Udaipur. Since we were travelling with our 3 yr old boy, our hotel choice was narrowed down to Udaivilas (luxury, great location, vast open spaces, lush green lawns, jungle trail etc - everything that our boy would have wanted)

After a comfortable ride in the hotel car, we were dropped off at the jetty for a small boat ride to the hotel for check-in. I personally was not too sure about how the hotel would turn out to be, since its not a real palace - surprisingly, it looked & felt like a real one.

Our room had a semi-private pool as well & we made the most of it. Room are well appointed, comfortable and have all the amenities that one would need. The staff was extremely professional, courteous, and accommodating.

Hopefully our travels will bring us back to this great city & great hotel SOON.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms a must if travelling with small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rohit s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the fabulous review.

I am extremely elated to know that our people, products and processes were able to make you feel like a real palace. Thank you so much for your kind appreciation.

Your compliments encourages us to enhance our services to surpass excellence.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in not too distant future.

Thank you and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Accolades about the magic carpet ride of our stay…
1. Since the Udaivilas was inaugurated on former royal hunting grounds, it includes an historic princely retreat with mural frescos tended by a venerable local resident. He also feeds the deer and birds on schedule. The hotel features much more than prefabricated splendor.
2. The property offers swift road access to the city yet is isolated next to a hilly preserve that lends one the feeling of sojourning on an island, especially if disembarking in season by boat. It is worth allocating time to scout the varied pathways of the natural grounds.
3. The Udaivilas unfolds a grand outdoor dining terrace as well as chefs who will impart some of their secrets to you. Expeditions to eateries elsewhere led only to less personal, less romantic cuisine. From our experiments, at least, we established that other recommended restaurants in Udaipur were inferior both in their nighttime views and in their gastronomy.
4. I arrived an awkward, skeptical Yoga-phobe, but the morning Yoga sessions with the infallible Kamal were pitched at a level suitable for beginners as well as for the advanced. Kamal mysteriously knows how to make unfamiliar exertion a balm for both psyche and body. To my astonishment he initiated me into Yoga as a therapeutic pursuit.
5. Reviewers can try, but no one can quite capture in words the personalized service here. It creates a unique experience for each individual that exceeds mention of any particular gift or favor from staff.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to a room with a private or semi-private pool. Worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biernacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write on trip advisor and sharing your wonderful feedback with us.

Your generous compliments will surely encourage us to extend another “better yet” experience on your next visit!

Your kind appreciation has been shared with Kamal, Chef’s and team and they are extremely happy to hear it.

My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in not too distant future.

Thank you with kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,871 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Property: The Oberoi Udaivilas
Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing