We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room overlooking the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A room overlooking the lake”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Oberoi Udaivilas in October, as part of an Oberoi Exotic Vactions package. Udaipur was a beautiful city to explore, and one of the highlights of our trip.

Udaivillas was the grandest of the Oberoi properties we visited; almost overwhelmingly so. It definitely felt busier and like there were far more rooms (and guests) than the properties in Agra and Jaipur. We initially stayed in a Luxury Suite (too large for two, and a bit too far from the main functions of the hotel, and ours was without a view over the lake), later opting for a Premier Room with direct access into the semi private lap pool overlooking the lake. These rooms are fantastic.

The Premier Rooms off the lap pool have a slightly more direct route to the terrace (for both Breakfast and Dinner), and are close to the Spa. The Spa was an excellent experience, and a beautiful part of the building – well worth a visit. The grounds to the hotel are immaculate and very impressive.

The concierge can assist with bookings for the Lake Palace (lunch or dinner), but if you’re looking to have lunch or dinner there it’s best to book ahead of your visit. We only enquired once we arrived, and weren’t able to arrange a booking.

The service is attentive and very friendly; but the veil did slip quite often (the same boat tour sales pitch a few mornings in a row at breakfast, etc). Our main gripe across all the Oberoi hotels we stayed in; the Wifi costs approximately 990 Rupee a day (USD18), progressively cheaper should you pay for a weeks worth of internet, etc. As our stay was part of an Oberoi Exotic Vacations package, it was a shame that we could not have been offered a reduced internet rate for constant access across our 12 night package.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GilbertoAndJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing on trip advisor. It was our pleasure to serve you for the stay you held at The Oberoi Udaivilas.

Your appreciation about the rooms, grounds, staff are really very special. We are glad to know that we were able to made a relaxing environment for you and it was a memorable stay with us.

We all look forward to welcome you back in not too distant future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,605
    146
    37
    18
    9
See reviews for
480
821
43
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Antionio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We have stayed in the finest hotels in Europe and Africa and have never had an experience like this. The Assistant Manager, Mr. Poornima Bhambal took responsibility for making our 10th anniversary a dream come true and the entire hotel staff worked to accomplish her perfect vision.

The property is like a fairy tale. The views and the rooms are gorgeous.

We had a Chef's table dining experience that was simply wonderful. I can not recommend any property that we have stayed in the world more than this.

Room Tip: Spend as much money as possible to get the best room you can afford. They are all beautiful however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank inlovewithafrica_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review!

We are delighted to hear you have thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for recognising Poornima personal attention.

We pride ourselves in working not only in a stunning environment overlooking the best sights of Udaipur but also to be surrounded by valuable team members who can make a difference. We are pleased to hear they have just achieved that.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Oberoi Group and Udaivilas.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to organise any Oberoi trip.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2012

an absolute dream of a hotel; superb service brought with a smile and great friendliness. The location is fantastic , our room facing the lake was fantastic with a private verandah and access to a pool in front of our bedroom. Wonderful Indian restaurant on a pontoon in the lake but also lovely choice of international meals. This hotel is a one-off and one should spend more time there instead of sightseeing

Room Tip: we had a premier lake view room , it had fantastic lake views , our own little verandah and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfgang b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing on trip advisor.

It was our pleasure to serve you for the stay you held at The Oberoi Udaivilas.

I am glad to know that you felt welcome, our cuisine and service was satisfactory and that you were delighted with having selected our hotel. We are always anxious to improve our high standards and appreciate your comments and suggestions about the service provided.

We would love to see you again soon!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This is without doubt the best hotel I have ever stayed it. In a different class to it's over-rated sister hotel in Agra. Located with beautiful views across the lake to Udaipur, the welcome is warm and personal and nothing is too much trouble The building is lovely as are the rooms.

Overall, if you are visiting Northern India and can only afford to stay in one luxury hotel, forget the Amar Vilas and stay here!

Room Tip: Rooms either face away from the lake and have a private terrace and towards the lake and have a sun...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bluehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out and for sharing your experience on trip advisor.

I am glad that we were able to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Your appreciation of our product and service is a great source of encouragement and we are motivated to preserve and attain even higher standards of service excellence.

My team and I look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits to the city of lakes, Udaipur .

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

TOTALLY WORTH THE MONEY. You know what you are paying for - the beautiful hotel, the incredible amenities, and the wonderful staff.
We only stayed one night, from morning till the night of the next day, but we loved it so much that we decided to cut the sightseeing part just to spend more time here!
The staff are incredibly friendly, well mannered, and always ready to make you feel like a king/queen.
Some of the things that surprised me the most (out of the many):
- Was at the spa pool (you'll be able to take wonderful pics here!), and the staff came by bringing cold water bottles, cold face towels, and SUNBLOCK.
- We told the management that we were leaving with a night train, and they offered us the same room to change and refresh before leaving, even if we already checked out. So grateful for that.
- We ended up taking hundred pictures in the hotel! There's even a fountain in the common bathroom next to the lobby...

Definitely recommended for couples and girls trip!

Only points to comment:
- the breakfast has a "cold" (fruits, breads, spreads) section, which is included, but for the eggs and the "warm" plates you need to pay separately, which a was a bit of a turnoff since we already paid quite a lot for the hotel(including breakfast).

- one of the water bottle provided had a weird taste, not sure if it was old or it was filtered?

Room Tip: The layouts looked all the same for the standard rooms, but the one we were in had direct access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soyola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi Hotels and Resorts.

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

Thank you also for recommending The Oberoi Udaivilas. Your support is much appreciated.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Thank you and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2012

If you want to be treated like a queen or a king,you will be at the right place at this palace.My wife and I , we felt we were in a dream, out of this world. The management and the entire team made us feel special, always eager to satisfy our wish. This is an experience you will not feel any where else in the world. This is the best hotel in the world, you have to experience it to see what you have been missing.
Wilson B.

Room Tip: You have to believe it: all the rooms are excellent, in any location. this is an experience of a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bourjol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out and giving a incredible review on your experience.

It has been our constant endeavor to offer an experience that make you feel the royal era. Our resort includes the magnificent setting combines with royal service to make your holiday a journey into the romance and grandeur of another century.

I am glad that we were able to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Your appreciation of our performance is a great source of inspiration for us to attain even higher standards of service excellence.

My team and I look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits to the city of lakes, Udaipur .

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Group of 7 couples travelling India for 2 weeks from Winnipeg Canada
All aspects of this hotel excellent ++ from location, staff, food and amenities
Truly deserves the ranking
Best ever and not the Best Exotic Marigold

Room Tip: Any of the 87 rooms spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.

Your appreciation about the rooms, grounds, staff are really very special. We are glad to know that we were able to made a relaxing environment for you and it was a memorable stay with us.

We all look forward to welcome you back in not too distant future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 157 in Udaipur
2,971 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 157 in Udaipur
2,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 157 in Udaipur
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Property: The Oberoi Udaivilas
Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing