We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 177 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Do recommend Udaivilas. We stayed in April 2013 with 2 kids for a week. The weather's still not too hot. We stayed at Jaipur last year same time and that weather was lot hotter, Udaipur had some nice clouds, showers and wind every day. Oberoi has really nice offers from April (http://www.oberoihotels.com/india/exotic_vacations_summer.asp, you get another free room for kids). We were given rooms with semi-private pool - you've got a large pool acces from your veranda with the most stunning views of the lake and its palaces. The vibe is of a relaxed luxury, you are pampered in an utmost manner, whereas staff might even be taking a bit too much care of you. But they managed to get this done with an actually happy feeling, you kind of give up some privacy as you don't want to make them genuinely sad. The spa is quite heavenly. The property's chandeliers and other interior is royally beautiful. And they have a conservatory to feed wild animals and birds, a spot that was once used to teach princes to hunt. Udaipur's old town itself was surprisingly calm, even the shopkeepers didn't bother too much, some even did not trouble to interrupt their siestas while the others were servicing you.

Room Tip: rooms wih semi-private pool, I guess they were 102, 104, etc, about 10 rooms overall. super location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJaanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful and descriptive review.

Udaipur is the jewel of Mewar, beautiful city surrounded by tranquil water lakes and Aravalli ranges of Rajasthan. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay thoroughly in this region of Rajasthan.

Our resort is the reflection of the rich heritage of Mewar, designed with Mugal and Mewari architecture. It is build on the hunting grounds of Maharajas and “ Bada Mahal” is the wild life conservatory where our guests can feed the wild animals and birds. I am glad to know that you had enjoyed these moments had the cherished memories. Our rooms with semi private pool are truly unique with the overlooking view of the Lake Pichola and palace and no doubt you loved it. Thank you once again for your support, recommendation and for appreciating our efforts so well.

We sincerely hope that our distinctive service and product will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels and Resorts in the future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,296 - 1,302 of 2,020 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

Don't miss this paradise. Stay for at least 3 days to take advantage of the pools, spas, boats, cuisine. Have travelled around the world and experienced many great hotels. This is one of the top. Staff so genuinely friendly and efficient. Also visit the phenomenal Agra Oberoi.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritz1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are pleased to hear you have thoroughly enjoyed our hospitality, services and facilities and we were able to par your expectations. Thank you for your kind words of appreciation, support and recommendation.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best of Oberoi hospitality.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

My title sums it all up!

Worth special mention is the exceptional service we received. I even visited the furniture shop Oberoi recommended and bought some pieces, yet to be finished, to be shipped to me. Their staff graciously offered to check up on my order for me to make sure the finished products were up-to-standard. This is what I call service!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cr1557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your incredible appreciation. These are really very special!!

Your compliments have been shared with the team members and they are extremely pleased to know that their good job is so well recognized.

Thank you once again and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our properties worldwide, in the near future.

Should I be of any help to facilitate any of your reservations, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Our north Indian tour consisted of visiting 5 locations and staying at the Oberoi's on each occasion. Udaivilas was number 4. The arrival is special with the most delightful entrance way which showers you in rose petals, it made my gasp with delight.

We were shown to our room and initially we were very disappointed with the location by the pool and the room smelt of smoke. I asked the check in clerk to see if this could be rectified and within 10 minutes we were shown the Cullinan suite. The room favoured by Mr Oberoi I was informed. Well words cannot describe it and we felt like we had won the lottery. Lovely rooms, infinity pool and shady pergola in the garden. Views across the lake and of the palace. Just superb.

Service levels exceptionally high and even though we did not see any management over the first 2 days of our stay, Sat/Sun, this was immediately rectified on the Monday morning when a number of managers and the GM, Vincent Guironnet, personally introduced themselves.

We ate on the promenade over looking Lake Pichola. It was a little cold but the heaters and blankets soon warm you up. The food was very interesting and had a number of modern twists on the local cuisine. We also had in room dining and ate in the main restaurant, Suryamahal. Food was excellent and service impeccable. A special thank you to Executive chef Deep Mohan Singh Arneja and his chefs, who allowed me to have access to the kitchens and a cookery demonstration.

It is fairly clear to me why this is the top hotel in India, if not Asia or the world. It has everything and more.

Room Tip: The Cullinan suite just amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebTwoHoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi hotels and resorts for your holidays at India.

The petal shower is a traditional way in Rajasthan which symbolize happiness. I am extremely delighted to know that our accommodation and services have made your stay comfortable and one of the best stay in India.

Promenade is a restaurant with the most breathtaking view overlooking the stunning City Palace and Jag Mandir. Thank you for your special appreciation and for recognizing Chef Deep for his personal attention. Our Chef aims to satisfy every palate with the very best of International and Indian Cuisine.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our properties worldwide, in the near future.

Should I be of any help to facilitate any of your reservations, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We have just returned from a 9-day stay at the Oberoi Udaivilas over the Easter/Holi period and it would be hard to exaggerate how wonderful it was. We had travelled on from the (superb) Oberoi that overlooks the Taj Mahal in Agra (!) and thought that would be hard to beat. But this setting is equally breath-taking - you sit on a veranda for dinner admiring what is surely one of the most beautiful views in the world, the palaces of Udaipur glimmering on the waters of Lake Pichola. The design and architecture of the hotel is magnificent, and though recently built, it is in total harmony with the ancient surroundings. The food was outstanding from start to finish and the attentiveness, charm and thoughtfulness of the kitchen staff in preparing special meals for one of our daughters who has a digestive condition was truly remarkable. Indeed, the 'family' of staff at the hotel were always helpful, gracious, friendly and skilled without ever slipping into the corporate hotel mode where warmth can come across as a tad automatic. Spa - fabulous, pools - spectacular, gardens - enchanting. The combination of Udaipur and this amazing hotel pretty well trumps everywhere we've been. There really is no downside, no room for improvement, no quibble: the management of this hotel do seem to have thought of everything. Udaipur is of course a world-heritage destination with more than one classy hotel, but staying here, if you can afford it, is a no-brainer: We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FancourtFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking time and for sharing your experience with us.

We all are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay completely at The Oberoi Udaivilas. Thank you for describing in detail your experience, which gives the reader a clear representation of the Oberoi Udaivilas, its surrounding, the ground, the property and the services extended.

The team at the Oberoi Udaivilas is truly an asset and it gives me immense pleasure to pass on a copy of your compliments about their commendable service. Thank you for appreciating their efforts so well.

We all look forward to welcome you and your family back in not too distant future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The best stay ever - unbelievable, amazing customer service, great luxury, overall a must stay in Udaipur.

I have stayed in many hotels before but Udai villas stands apart as by far and wide as the best one possible

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvikBhandari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us and for sharing your experience.
We are looking forward to welcome you on your next trip to Udaipur.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We visited Oberoi Udaivilas for our wedding anniversary last December and it was truly an out of the world experience!
I had read about this place quite a bit from their website and all the reviews on trip advisor. My husband did not talk too much about this place before the trip as he did not wanted to steal the charm by talking too much before (He had visited this place for a biz conference earlier and had made up his mind to bring me here)!

As we landed in the Maharana Pratap airport in udaipur at noon, 2 people dressed in traditional royal rajasthani attire welcomed us and took us in the BMW limousine to udai vilas. The chauffeurs are very friendly. Its about 45 mins of drive from the airport and the driver explained to us the history of the place and showed us the monumental places en-route to the hotel. As we were approaching the hotel, the driver stopped and there is a small surprise for us and said you will be taken to the palace in a boat from here, while the luggage would be transferred to your rooms directly.. !
Udaipur is a city of lakes also called the Venice of the East. It was a wonderful experience as we were very warmly welcomed by the hotel staff on to the boat and given a warm pot of herbal tea! We had a breath taking view of the entire city from the waters as we were driven in the boat.
As we went to the shores of the lake near the palace, we were taken in by another set of hotel staff. As we entered the reception through the royal pathways and extraordinary structures brimming with richness, red rose petals showered on our head from top and it was nothing short of feeling like heaven! We were greeted by very hospitable staff who put the traditional "teeka" on our forehead wishing us prosperity and good. We had yet another surprise waiting as we were bumped up to the pool-side room as a complimentary gift for our anniversary!
After the smooth check-in, we went to a really well appointed room. Every little detail had been thought of and words cant describe enough of that!

The hotel staff made our anniversary very special with a beautiful decor for the room and a complimentary anniversary dessert which was so delicious and very creative!

All in all, our anniversary was really an out of the world experience and many thanks to all the staff of udaivilas! You really care for your guests and worth the visit!

Room Tip: Choose the pool side room... Awesome view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to describe your experience in such details.

I am glad that we were able to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and it encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best of Oberoi hospitality.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 177 in Udaipur
3,227 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#7 of 177 in Udaipur
2,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#40 of 177 in Udaipur
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313 001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £421 - £1,059 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing