We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel with Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and I have to say this hotel is the best hotel I have ever seen. It is a truly royal experience to stay and the service makes you feel like a king.

From the time you enter the hotel you are personally greeted by your name, even the hotel GM takes time to come to meet you and welcome you.
The pool is fantastic and service by the pool is great with every detail taken care of.They serve fresh fruits, sunscreen and fresh towels by the pool.

It is an exceptionally large hotel for the number of rooms it has, and it has many spots where one can relax unwind and get ample privacy.

The food was great and service at all meals was very good.
The rooms were great and overall good size with a small private courtyard large bathroom. The actual room size could have been a bit larger but cant really complain.
We had a great deal from the monsoon package.

The spa was excellent

Overall a top notch hotel and a must stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nissan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the beautiful review.

Your appreciation about the services, surrounding and staff are really very special and exceptional. We are glad to know that we were able to made a relaxing environment for you and it was a memorable stay with us.

We all look forward to welcome you back in not too distant future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,141 - 1,147 of 1,933 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Having been invited by our friends to attend the wedding of their daughter,we booked at this hotel
After reading reviews.Actually from the airport where we have been picked up, until stepping in the Lobby, we felt the personal touch and hospitality which we never experienced else where.
Our Room had swimming pool overlooking the lake, beautiful view.
Room service is great, food is owesome, especially at the Udai Mahal. The buffet breakfast is fantastic with an array of different specialities.
The employees are terrific, friendly, always smiling and helpful. The spa has great treatments for those who have a weak spot towards SPA's.
No tips are allowed,you can deposit the tip at the end of your stay in an envelope which makes you more relaxed.

Great hotel, great people, try it and you would understand what words can't describe.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the lake is worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the beautiful review for your stay.

We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed our hospitality, services and facilities and we were able to serve you perfectly. Thank you for your kind words of appreciation

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best of Oberoi hospitality.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Once we got out of the airport we were received the hotel staff and chauffeur who took the baggage, offer cold towels, water. The drive to the hotel jetty was most comfortable.The arrival and check in process was super smooth. It is almost as if the staff in udaivilas know what you want and every one always ready to help you.The service in nothing short of exemplary and attention to every detail is amazing.
Would never hesitate to recommend udaivilas to any friends. It is a experience that can only be felt and cannot be put into words.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nvrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your marvelous review and for sharing your experience with us.

I am glad to read that you had an amazing holiday experience with The Oberoi Udaivilas. It is our constant endeavor to serve our guest with best hospitality. The entire team extend their gratitude for your remarkable appreciations and assure you to deliver the unsurpassed hospitality always.

Thank you so much for your support and recommendation.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We, a family of three generations of three family, stayed at the Oberoi Udaivilas in July 2013.

The personalised touch in each aspect of service rendered to us was the most pleasent aspect of our stay. And this was being delivered right from the top - Mr. Vincent, GM Oberoi Udaivilas. He ensured that we were picked up from the airport in BMW 5 series cars, were brought into the property throught the lake route (via the boat) and he was personally there to receive us! Where in the world do you get such a reception involving the GM himself and that too at a property which is one of the best in the world?

The property is beautiful/very well maintained, the staff is pleasing/always smiling, the warmth/hospitality extended to guests is exceptional. The summer package is a steal and worth every penny to enjoy the hospitality at the world's best hotel brand.

The Executive Chef - Deep Arneja and his team (Chef Akash Singh, Chef Rupak, Chef Sachin), Executive Housekeeper - Deepak Srinath and his team (Ritu Khare), F&B Team (Payal Singh and her team), Front Office Team and Driver Pratapji were just brilliant.

The aspect of pools in front of the rooms, combined pools for a few rooms, personalised pools in the suite are a sight to see. The lake in front of the property is beautiful, the small zoo inside the property and the sight of deers/peacoks makes the kids go crazy. After sunset when the property is lit, the property resembles a Golden Palace and it is a sight you cannot imagine!!

The food is superb, very tasty and the service of the The Chefs and the F&B team makes you overeat!!!! The choice of foods is great mixture of continental, south Indian, north Indian and Rajasthani. The inroom dining is prompt and efficient.

The rooms and the amenieties are the best you can get in the world and the concept of "Jharokha (sitting space below the window)" in each room is great.

I would like to sum up by saying that, staying at this property should be on your list of "100 things to do before I die".

Kudos to The Oberoi Group for creating such a beautiful property in Udaivilas and for Vincent and his team for making the stay of the guests absolutely wonderful!

Room Tip: Try the rooms with semi private pools to enrich your stay experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanditabhaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you so much for the remarkable review!!

I am happy to know that you have enjoyed the accommodation, services, tranquil environment and the beautiful surroundings at The Oberoi Udaivilas.

It gives me immense pleasure to pass on a copy of your appreciations to the team about their commendable services. Thank you so much for your support and recommendation!!

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Oberoi Udaivilas on banks of Lake Pichola.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I must admit I did not stay in this superb hotel: we were in the near hotel Trident, of the same owner. Very nice hotel, but we were told that the Oberoi next door was probably the best hotel in the world, so we walked to the hotel, and asked the reception manager if it was possible to visit some parts of the structure. He was extremely kind and professional, and took us (we were altogether 5 people) along the halls, and common areas, the swimming pool, and also one room, communicating directly with the pool. Everything we saw was extremely luxury, elegant, eccellent. At the end we thanked the reception manager who dedicated almost half an hour to escort us, and wanted in some way to show our gratefulness to have been received so nicely: he refused any kind of tip, and stated that we would be welcome to stay in this beautiful hotel next time in India. He gave us a nice sensation of professionalism and pride for being the host of such a fabulous place!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Shakyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your compliments with us, they are really very special.

We are delighted to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and extremely grateful when these are recognized.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Udaipur.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Great looking hotel, wonderful location, keep in mind that if you go for a suite with 'semi-private' pool then it really will be shared.

The suites with private pools are excellent.

Maintaining such a vast property seems to mean that details in serving meals and general standards are often a little chaotic, retaining confident staff who enjoy their roles also seems like a real issue.

In general it's a beautiful hotel and gym/spa with excellent space but the luxury feeling isn't met by service of the same standard.

Room Tip: If you don't mind sharing the 'semi-private pool' with many others- then those suites ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseSaleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying and for sharing your experience with us.

Our resort is the reflection of the rich heritage of Mewar, designed with Mugal and Mewari architecture. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed these moments and have carried back cherished memories of your stay with us.

Our rooms with private pool is truly unique overlooking Lake Pichola and no doubt you loved it.
Thank you very much for your everlasting compliments, support and recommendation!!

Please contact me directly when you next intend to travel to Udaipur or to any Oberoi
destination, I would be delighted to have the chance of welcoming you once again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

It was quite an enchanting experience and a refreshing one too, away from a hustling city like Mumbai where life is so buzzing and work hours are too late a holiday @ Udaivilas was just apt and needed to refresh our souls. The ambience, not needing a specific mention, was ecstatic and the pool view room is the one where guests would like to opt for. Overall a soothing holiday and a one to be cherished for a very long time.

Room Tip: pool view rooms are a wise choice over garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allstate901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out the time for sharing your experience with us . We are delighted to know that you liked our property so much and you appreciation of the ambience, which indeed makes The Oberoi Udaivilas so special.

Your wonderful feedback has been shared with the team at The Oberoi Udaivilās and they are extremely happy to discover that they were successful in making your stay enjoyable & memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Oberoi Udaivilās sometime soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 165 in Udaipur
3,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 165 in Udaipur
2,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#38 of 165 in Udaipur
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313 001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £577 - £1,180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing