We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most beautiful hotels you will ever stay at!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 177 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We went in 2004 for our honeymoon. What a wonderful experience. We were greeted at the gate. They knew our names and we were checked in right away. The staff was helpful, friendly and surpassed an kind of hospitality that I have experienced. Our room was lovely. overlooking the lake, with a beautiful bathroom and lovely furnishings. To be sure, this is a very expensive hotel, but you will get much for your money here that in many other parts of the world.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing on trip advisor and for sharing your wonderful review with us.

It gives me enormous happiness to share your feedback with the team at The Oberoi Udaivilās and they are elated to fathom that they were able to serve your with best hospitality.

Please contact me directly when you next intend to travel to Udaipur or to any Oberoi destination, I would be delighted to have the chance of welcoming you once again and on your anniversary hopefully!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,219 - 1,225 of 2,022 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

The Oberoi Udaivilas is a superb resort, located at Lake Pichola with smashing views of Udaipur's City Palace and the Lake Palace. The resort is an architectural marvel with spectacular floor designs in marble and granite. It is ca. 10 years old with top-notch facilities.

The friendliness and hospitality of the staff is outstanding, you immediately feel the warmth and genuine affection of the people, be it giving you directions if you get lost in the huge hotel complex, arranging sightseeing trips to the many intersting sites in the area, preparing exquisite menues either Indian or continental-Italian cuisine, providing a delicious in-room breakfast when we had a very early departure flight out of Udaipur, etc., etc.

Room Tip: don't bother, just go and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterringier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out the time for sharing your experience with us . We are delighted to know that you liked our property so much and you appreciation of the architecture which indeed makes The Oberoi Udaivilas so special.

Your wonderful feedback has been shared with the team at The Oberoi Udaivilās and they are extremely happy to discover that they were successful in making your stay enjoyable & memorable.

Your positive and valuable appreciation of our performance inspires us to continue achieving even higher standards of service excellence, serving you and your family with lifetime experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Oberoi Udaivilās sometime soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The royal treatment begins as soon as you enter the property with rose petals literally falling from the sky. The Udaivilas property is a magnificent sprawling property with reflecting pools everywhere. It is the height of calmness and relaxation.

The rooms are beautiful. My room had a private but connected pool that was luxurious. The downside is there weren’t many people at the two large pools. The hotel has two additional pools, one for families and the pool by the spa where children are not permitted. This property is perfect for a romantic and secluded get-away.

The service at the pool was extraordinary. The gentleman brought an amenity tray with sun tan lotion, water, fruit kabobs and a wet rolled towel that was infused with jasmine. When I finished my book, he immediately, offered me a copy of Tatler. The hotel service is excellent.

The spa is beautiful and my massage was amazing.

I mentioned to the restaurant hostess that I was hoping for contemporary Indian food like I experienced at in Delhi. (A contemporary Indian restaurant is opening at the hotel.) The next thing I know, the Executive Chef comes into the dining room to meet me. When he realizes that I am looking for a molecular, Michelin star dining experience, he offers to prepare a special lunch on the day I leave.

I was blown away by the experience. It was exactly what I wanted and the fact that it was specifically prepared for and only me is beyond comprehension. Every single dish was FABULOUS. There are no words to begin to describe the meal and the effort that went into preparing this endeavor. I was floored. This was one of the best meals that I have ever had. I cannot begin to thank the chef for this special treat.

This is the type of service that Oberoi is known for. No other hotel provides anything close to this level of service. The Oberoi team work truly as a team to make your holiday amazing. Thank you again for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The property is sprawling so if you need to be near the pool, spa or front desk then mention that in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Intrepidtraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and for the review.

I am glad to know that you had a memorable experience at the Oberoi Udaivilas. Thank you for appreciating our team. They really work hard to deliver very high levels of services consistently.

It has given me immense pleasure to pass on your compliments to the entire team. They are thrilled with your remarkable praises and delighted to know that their hard work has been recognized..

We look forward to welcome you back. Please do let me know if you need any assistance in planning your holidays with us.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was the last of the Oberoi hotels we stayed in during our recent holiday in India. After arriving by boat, we were meet by Vincent (GM) and his staff at the main entrance; yet again, the superb Oberoi personal touch was very evident. It is almost as if the staff know what you want before you know it yourself.

We had upgraded to a suite at this hotel and all I can say is WOW - a dining room, lounge, study area, magnificent bedroom and a bathroom to die for (separate shower that also doubled as a steam room). We also had our own private swimming pool which was complimented by a raised private outdoor dining area (this was used to celebrate my birthday - great meal and service beyond words).

The hotel has been built with truly stunning architecture; each public room is stunningly decorated and is appointed in such a way that it never spills over into another part of the hotel.

The food in the restaurant was delicious (again a good choice between Indian or Western) and the service was to the very highest of Oberoi standards.

The grounds, in keeping with other Oberoi hotels, were immaculate and beautifully laid out.

All in all, a hotel that is up there with the very best - try it and you will see what I mean.

PS: Vincent and staff - thank you so much for a wonderful 50th birthday stay (and all you did for us after our flight was cancelled - we will not forget this one).

Room Tip: The rooms with the semi private pools give the best view over Lake Pichola.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHSAlnwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sparing your precious time and sharing such a beautiful compliments in regards to your stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay thoroughly at The Oberoi hotels and resorts and had a memorable stay. Your words about Udaivilas are extremely valuable, thank you so much for appreciating it so graciously.

Our team is an asset to the company and it gives me great pleasure to share your feedback with them.

We all at the Oberoi Udaivilas look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Udaipur. Please do let me know if you need any assistance in planning your holidays with us.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and I have to say this hotel is the best hotel I have ever seen. It is a truly royal experience to stay and the service makes you feel like a king.

From the time you enter the hotel you are personally greeted by your name, even the hotel GM takes time to come to meet you and welcome you.
The pool is fantastic and service by the pool is great with every detail taken care of.They serve fresh fruits, sunscreen and fresh towels by the pool.

It is an exceptionally large hotel for the number of rooms it has, and it has many spots where one can relax unwind and get ample privacy.

The food was great and service at all meals was very good.
The rooms were great and overall good size with a small private courtyard large bathroom. The actual room size could have been a bit larger but cant really complain.
We had a great deal from the monsoon package.

The spa was excellent

Overall a top notch hotel and a must stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nissan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the beautiful review.

Your appreciation about the services, surrounding and staff are really very special and exceptional. We are glad to know that we were able to made a relaxing environment for you and it was a memorable stay with us.

We all look forward to welcome you back in not too distant future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Having been invited by our friends to attend the wedding of their daughter,we booked at this hotel
After reading reviews.Actually from the airport where we have been picked up, until stepping in the Lobby, we felt the personal touch and hospitality which we never experienced else where.
Our Room had swimming pool overlooking the lake, beautiful view.
Room service is great, food is owesome, especially at the Udai Mahal. The buffet breakfast is fantastic with an array of different specialities.
The employees are terrific, friendly, always smiling and helpful. The spa has great treatments for those who have a weak spot towards SPA's.
No tips are allowed,you can deposit the tip at the end of your stay in an envelope which makes you more relaxed.

Great hotel, great people, try it and you would understand what words can't describe.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the lake is worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the beautiful review for your stay.

We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed our hospitality, services and facilities and we were able to serve you perfectly. Thank you for your kind words of appreciation

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best of Oberoi hospitality.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Once we got out of the airport we were received the hotel staff and chauffeur who took the baggage, offer cold towels, water. The drive to the hotel jetty was most comfortable.The arrival and check in process was super smooth. It is almost as if the staff in udaivilas know what you want and every one always ready to help you.The service in nothing short of exemplary and attention to every detail is amazing.
Would never hesitate to recommend udaivilas to any friends. It is a experience that can only be felt and cannot be put into words.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nvrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your marvelous review and for sharing your experience with us.

I am glad to read that you had an amazing holiday experience with The Oberoi Udaivilas. It is our constant endeavor to serve our guest with best hospitality. The entire team extend their gratitude for your remarkable appreciations and assure you to deliver the unsurpassed hospitality always.

Thank you so much for your support and recommendation.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 177 in Udaipur
3,231 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#7 of 177 in Udaipur
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#42 of 177 in Udaipur
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313 001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £423 - £949 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing