We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, wonderful dinner, but doesn't make you feel welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We were staying at the nearby Trident and decided to walk over to the Oberoi to have dinner. It was a wonderful, delicious dinner, and we were amazed at how beautiful the hotel was. BUT, what was very disappointing was the fact that at the Bar (where we first had drinks), we were told the restaurants were booked out. We decided to go there anyway to have a look and - surprise - they HAD tables, but unfortunately there weren't any tables outside... until we decided to check the outdoor restaurant as well and - surprise - they ALSO had tables. Plenty of them!
The service after sitting down was great, but the fact that the hotel seemed very keen on getting rid of us was a bit disappointing. The Trident is a hotel of the same group afterall... Aftter this incident we were pleased to having had booked a night at the Taj Lake Palace.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for coming over for dinner at The Oberoi, Udaivilas. I am saddened to hear that the hotel and restaurant were not welcoming and left you with a feeling that was unwelcoming. I deeply apologise to you for the same.

Like our neighboring properties, priority is given to in house guest, I have noted that on this occasion more flexibility was required. We have taken necessary steps to ensure this does not happen to any other guest coming to the hotel.

Please do let me know if you are returning to Udaipur so that I can provide you with the experience that you had expected.

Best regards
Ashish Nehra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,864)
There are newer reviews for The Oberoi Udaivilas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,056 - 1,062 of 1,864 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

I love the Oberoi Hotel group. We book our trips in India around the hotel locations because they are so extremely well done. I have a hundred photos of just the views and the features of the hotel. I would highly recommend you anyone coming to Udaipur. It is a true retreat from reality but just outside its walls is a gorgeous amount of culture and true India. The service at the Udai Villas is superior to that of any other 5 star hotel I have ever stayed in, from checkin to check out everyone is there to assist with your every need. Rameez made sure every meal we ate in the hotel was done to absolute perfection. Nabeel was our personal server for our private dinner under the dome and he was amazing. He took such great care of us and did an exquisite job decorating our private area with flowers and candles. Our personal Yoga instructor taught us so much about our bodies and enlightened us to the yoga practices of India and how they are so different that those in the states. The hotel arranged a personal guide for us and we absolutely had the most magical time exploring all that Udaipur has to offer. Chinmay Dixit is a must hire for anyone coming to Udaipur that wants to embrace the culture as well as learn about the historical monuments temples and the palaces. I will never forget Chinmay as he made such a loving impact on our trip. Thank you Oberoi Hotels for another unforgettable trip.

Room Tip: Try to get a room past the spa pool, it is so quiet and the sunrise in the morning is spectacular! W...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jleahkaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you so much for the remarkable review!!

I am happy to know that you have enjoyed the accommodation, services, tranquil environment and the beautiful surroundings at The Oberoi Udaivilas.

It gives me immense pleasure to pass on a copy of your appreciations to the team about their commendable services. Thank you so much for your support and recommendation!!

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Oberoi Udaivilas on banks of Lake Pichola.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

We went to Udaivilas for Diwali. Family of 6. We booked 2 rooms with private swimming pool. Our experience was fantastic. From the time of being welcomed on arrival till we left we received warm smiles and greetings from the staff.Beautiful property, lovely architecture over 50 acres... Natural reserve forest on the property, peacocks dancing in the courtyard. It was truly mesmerizing.
Food was outstanding.. we literally tried everything on the menu. The Indian food was outstanding. The two restuarants overlooked the Pichola lake and what a view during the meals.
The only thing lacking was perhaps things to do on the property. They don't have a library or indoor or outdoor games. One can only use the pool or go to the gym which is way too small considering there is so much space available .
Highly recommended to stay here when visiting Udaipur. A slice of royalty offered in modern times

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank GurmeetB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your marvelous review and for sharing your experience with us.

I am glad to read that you had an amazing holiday experience with The Oberoi Udaivilas. It is our constant endeavor to serve our guest with best hospitality. The entire team extend their gratitude for your remarkable appreciations and assure you to deliver the unsurpassed hospitality always.

Thank you so much for your support and recommendation.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

even after 10 months of visiting this hotel i could't not forget the moments spent here otherwise i am looking more oberoi's more hotels on the net to stay for my next vacation the lawn, the enternce, the resturants, the pools, the service, the welcome, the peacock in garden, so nice always smiling staff to attend you every moment who can forget all this.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paramjitsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the beautiful review for your stay.

We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed our hospitality, services and facilities and we were able to serve you perfectly. Thank you for your kind words of appreciation

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best of Oberoi hospitality.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel and amongst the best short vacations I have planned so far. Room upgraded to room with private pool and that was truly a customer wow. Hoping to plan another vacation with oberois soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWARAJTHAMPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

I am glad to know that this trip to Udaivilas was one of the best vacation and you have taken back fond memories. The team always strive to achieve excellence in service delivery. Thank you for appreciating there good job.

We all at the Oberoi Udaivilas look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Udaipur. Please do let me know if you need any assistance in planning your holidays with us.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We visited this hotel last year, had heard a lot about it. right from landing at their gates to leaving the place the experience was simply superb.

Food, Stay & Experience was simply the best. this was our 1st visit to a oberoi hotels and it really lived up to the experience. though the room menu was small but one can always a ask the chef to make the dish that you like.

thank you udaivilas for the great experience

Room Tip: if possible one should try their amazing suits and the beautiful spa
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tejasdesai71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review.

I am glad to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind words of appreciation are extremely valuable for us. As they inspires us to continue achieving even higher standards of service excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Oberoi Udaivilās sometime soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed for two nights as part of an official offsite with a large group. Amazing property, very well maintained. Need bit of orientation as one could eaily get lost in this. But for the disappointing chat counter in the buffet set for the group, liked the food as well.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank satkrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to share your experience with us.

The Oberoi Udaivilas has been build on the hunting lounge of Maharaja, the architect and design exhibit the real Mewar and mugal culture. Thank you for your kind compliments.

I have noted your comments and we shall endeavor to offer a more detailed orientation.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you the wonderful stay with us in future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 163 in Udaipur
3,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#5 of 163 in Udaipur
2,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#18 of 163 in Udaipur
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313 001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £385 - £1,106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing