We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply spectacular with a few minor misses.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Simply spectacular with a few minor misses.”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Had the pleasure of being at the Oberoi Udaivilas in early January 2014. This property is simply stunning! Absolutely beautiful. There might not be any other property in the entire world as beautiful as The Oberoi Udaivilas.

The architecture, the interiors, the greenery, the landscaping, the location - everything is simply spectacular. This hotel has to be on everybody's bucket list. Once in a lifetime at the very least one has to stay at The Udaivilas. The service is wonderful, the staff remembers your names, the cuisine is delightful.

Superlatives fail to describe what The Oberoi Group has accomplished in creating this property.

The only hiccups we had was the nonavailability of cigar cutters on a beautiful chilly January morning. The waiters made two or three attempts to source a cigar cutter at the restaurants but we were told - "We are so sorry - but the two cigar cutters we have are being used in some room." No effort was made to source us a cigar cutter. When you are asked to pay a small fortune for a stay here, small annoyances like this must be avoided.

Other than this minor snafu, The Oberoi Udaivilas nailed it! Special thanks to Vedvati who made our breakfast very special. Rekha also dances brilliantly and dazzled us with her performance on a blistery cold January evening.

This is a beautiful experience waiting for you. Absolutely loved everything. We will be back.

Room Tip: Every room has a spectacular view - take one with a lake or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nfl49ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Oberoi Udaivilas.

I am delighted to know that you had a good stay and were satisfied with all the services and facilities at the hotel. Your appreciation are very special and I have shared your encouraging feedback with the entire team.

I sincerely apologize for the disappointment caused to you due to the Cigar cutter. I have addressed it with the team and have corrected immediately.

There are opportunities for us to improve and with targeted training and monitoring that our services standards are consistently adhered to, we will ensure that such issues do not re-occur.

I apologize once again and really do look forward to welcoming you back at The Oberoi Udaivilas.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,576
    142
    36
    18
    10
See reviews for
462
812
42
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New york
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Udaipur is the third City we are visiting in India in this trip- Udaivillas is until now the best of them. The hotel is breathtaking, the service is immaculate and the food is superb. We had yesterday a wonderful dinner in the terrace overlooking the lake with performing Indian dancers.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jorgemariaperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing the wonderful review.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful hotel. The Oberoi Udaivilas is ideally situated on the shores of lake Pichola overlooking the city palace and the old city. With large gardens and multiple swimming pools the Oberoi Udaivilas is a destination in itself

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This place is luxury at its best!One must stay in the rooms with a semi private pools...the room is gorgeous and they offer stunning vies of Lake Pichola!!Overall a FANTABULOUS property..it is surreal!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anindita_Chatterjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying and for sharing your experience with us.

Our resort is the reflection of the rich heritage of Mewar, designed with Mugal and Mewari architecture. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed these moments and have carried back cherished memories of your stay with us.

Our rooms with private pool is truly unique overlooking Lake Pichola and no doubt you loved it.
Thank you very much for your everlasting compliments, support and recommendation!!

Please contact me directly when you next intend to travel to Udaipur or to any Oberoi destination, I would be delighted to have the chance of welcoming you once again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is one of those once-in-a-lifetime hotels that you will never forget. From the arrival boat ride across the lake to the hotel jetty, to the gorgeous rooms with butler service, stand alone baths and private pool access, to the wonderful grounds and gardens ... this hotel is truly luxurious.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GDoherty79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a extraordinary compliments.

We are delighted to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and extremely grateful when these are recognized.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Udaipur.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
289 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

It was especially wonderful to return to this hotel after being out of the streets of Udaipur…. It was a relaxing retreat from the noise and bustle of the city. What makes the hotel special is not only the spacious, luxurious rooms that feel comfortable, but the property itself has vast spaces for reflection and walking. There is a little nature preserve on the property (one can view 2x a day the feeding of the animals) besides a quiet boat area near the water, a heated pool, and a spa.

This is the last Oberoi hotel (number 4) on my journey through Royal Rajasthan state.
Each hotel was was more beautiful then the next, and this hotel is spectacular. Not only does it have quite large rooms, but also a window alcove (a day bed sized window alcove with colorful pillows) , a bathroom with your own private garden view so that one has the feeling of being in nature, while one is dressing or bathing, it also has a special dressing room/very large closet, and a safe. There are always the signature soft cotton robes, turn down services with slippers, fragrant soaps, and hair dryer, makeup table besides the sink area.

In the room there is a special coffee maker one would find at a high end kitchen store, reasonably priced liquor, daily newspaper service, a sitting area with a sofa and comfortable armchair, fresh flowers. It is quite a wonderful suite room and am glad we stayed here 3 nights.

The breakfast if it is included in your plan includes the buffet AND one may order a hot breakfast item. It was all very good. We especially liked the Parsi eggs, scrambles eggs with ginger, and the mushroom omelets. One can dine either outside with an expansive view of the boats and water, or inside.

The views are spectacular, Udaipur is certainly the "Venice of India" with the ethereal morning and sunset views of the Lake.

Some upper priced rooms have their own pool and face the lake, and some face the quiet garden. We were originally placed in a north facing room and asked to move to a south facing or more sunny room. We had an issue with one of the beds that was quickly solved.
It was a very busy season, but Vincent, the manager did his best to accommodate our request, and we were moved to a more quieter sunny room, farther from the lobby. I recommend our room 125+, because it had a side partial view of the water and is quieter. It's a little funny but the closer rooms to the lobby can be mildly noisy when people walk by and return to their rooms at night. The floors of the hotel rival Italy in their extensive use of marbles and carved stone lattices, and the stone echoes the sound of footsteps at night.

The bar has 360 degree views of the Lake which makes it a good spot to view the sunset and all day water and boat views, but because of all those windows, it doesn't have the cozy feeling of other Oberoi bars.

The service was quite good, but as others have stated it didn't feel as warm as other Oberoi hotels. I don't know why this is, just a feeling. The manager was always visible and available and friendly to guests. It was the busiest season and it seemed like a bigger hotel with more rooms than the others.

There is one small gift shop that has nicely priced gemstone rings, and bracelets and necklaces, scarves, along with other souvenirs. The spa also sells some beautiful robes and flowing shirts, besides spa lotions, etc.

One outstanding characteristic about the Oberoi hotels is their tipping policy. One simply does not tip individual people, for they have a shared tipping system. At the end of one's visit, one can leave a gathered tip, and one can mention/write down the names of people who were helpful, or who stood out. By the end of the India trip after being accosted for pens, rupees, gum, etc, this was a very welcome policy. One can simply leave a 'gathered' tip for all the services, food, massages, etc, and it seems to work for the staff. It makes for a more pleasant experience when one does not have to constantly have bills available.

We preferred to walk to the City Palace and Market from the hotel. Maybe it was a fifteen minute walk, thru the town. There are always Tuk Tuks available to take one places, but find out the charge before you get in the vehicle. We had no problem with this, and were quite happy to walk, even though the streets are really crowded with kids, people and livestock.

It was especially wonderful to return to this hotel after being out of the street of Udaipur…. It was a relaxing retreat from the noise and bustle of the city. What makes the hotel special is not only the spacious rooms that feel comfortable, but the property itself has vast spaces for reflection and walking. There is a little nature preserve on the property (one can view 2x a day the feeding of the animals) besides a quiet boat area near the water, a heated pool !

Room Tip: Each room is its own suite. One may prefer to be closer to the lobby, or one may prefer to be a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcopolopaloalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such expressive review.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we all are glad that we were able to serve you with warm hospitality and perfectly. Your such words of appreciation encourage us to thrive the best.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Oberoi kingdom - on the bank of Lake Pichola, overlooking the many sights of Udaipur for more cherished memories.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,023 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,072 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Some may prefer the historic background and unique setting of the Taj Lake Palace, but the restricted space on the island and the EXTREMELY dated bedrooms (badly in need of a major renovation) are limiting factors. With its beautiful 30 acres of gardens, numerous activities (spa, animal rides, mini golf, etc), larger rooms with modern facilities, the Udaivilas is definitely the best hotel in Udaipur. We stayed at four Oberoi properties; in terms of physical assets (grounds, architecture, rooms), the Udaivilas is by far the best (most complete, most modern, most beautiful). Service, in typical Oberoi style, is hard to fault. Yet, it was not my favorite. Difficult to analyse why...the kitchens have problems (see separate reviews), and are much less impressive than at the Rajvilas in Jaipur. Service, while excellent, seems less 'sincere', personal than at the Rajvilas or Amarvilas - almost like acdifferent 'culture'.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I am happy to read that we have met or exceeded your expectations in overall delivery of services and were successful in making your stay enjoyable.

Thank you so much for the descriptive and constructive suggestions in regards to our restaurant. We can assure the reader that we are not sparing any efforts to groom the new team members.

I am confident that all our guest will continue to received a personalized and efficient service from well trained hospitality professionals and you will experience the difference on your next visit to The Oberoi Udaivilas.

We look forward t your return visit to Udaipur..

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I have stayed there for my birthday. on arrival had a nice cake ready with decoration in the room. The hospitality of staff is so good I don't have words to describe. I just can sum up in one word "EXCELLENT" in each areas. they will soak you in their hospitality and you will be rejuvenated when arrive back.

Room Tip: go for rooms with personal swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hemalshah00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your magnificent experience with us on trip advisor and for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilas for your birthday celebration.

I am extremely delighted to know that you have enjoyed each and every moment spend over here and had taken back lifetime memories. Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to showcase our property.

All of us at The Oberoi Udaivilas look forward to welcome you back and assure you exceptional experience on your next visit to Udaipur.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,905 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Property: The Oberoi Udaivilas
Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing