We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch - bring your credit card and best acting skills”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 167 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We dined for lunch at their main restaurant.

Yes, the service is impeccable, and yes the setting is gorgeous ..... but you better be very rich, or on business expenses, and a good actor.

We were staying in a nearby hotel, and had an empty few hours, so decided to find out if the lofty reputation was well deserved :

1. The gardens are stunning
2. The decoration and quality is of palace standard
3. You will be treated like royalty.

But ....

4. You better be rich, or pretend to be rich, because everybody there is dripping in designer clothes, and looking around to see if you rank above or below them. After a couple hours this can become quite unnerving.

If you are not somebody, you better be a good actor, as almost everybody else there is somebody.

If you are not a captain of industry, nor famous, then good luck trying to keep your act going.

Summary - dazzling, but extremely pretentious. Is that you?

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
9  Thank Travel-Luxe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us .

Whilst we appreciate that your experience may have been marred by the elaborate described exclusivity, we at the same time are thankful of your detail appreciation of your experience and the recognition towards the quality of the
establishment and services extended.

Should you travel to any Oberoi destination, please do let me know, I will be happy to assist in helping you to further discover The Oberoi Hotels and Resorts.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,099 - 1,105 of 1,966 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife and I travel a great deal. We have stayed in the finest hotels all over the world. We have occasionally said of a hotel, "This is one of the best in the world."
We have never before been able to say "This is the best hotel in the world." But we now can say, "The Oberoi Udaivilas is THE BEST HOTEL IN THE WORLD."
Thank you for your hospitality, the wonderful experience we have had here and the treasured memories of India that you helped create.
Jacqueline and Barry Panter, MD

Room Tip: The Orloff Suite is Fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barryp15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing on trip advisor and for sharing your wonderful review with us.

We are pleased to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed our accommodation, hospitality, services and facilities and we were able to par your expectations.

It is the encouraging feedback from patrons like you which keeps us motivated to strive for excellence in all aspects. Thank you once again for your support, recommendation and for appreciating our efforts so well.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Oberoi Udaivilās. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for assistance with reservations.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Outstanding service, Great rooms, fabulous food, beautiful hotel with a great view of the lake.

Well I can't think of anything that I would ask more from this hotel. The staff goes out of their way to make sure you get what you want.

Truly amazing hotel and well deserving of the top resort hotel of the world badge !

Room Tip: Rooms with direct access to private pool(shared by 8-9 rooms) are well worth the extra cost !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed the tranquil surroundings, accommodation, overlooking view of lake Pichola and the services extended. Your comments are truly cherished and thank you for recognizing the team efforts so well, for the reward and recommendation.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Oberoi Group and Udaivilas.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to organize any Oberoi trip.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was the highlight of a 2 week holiday in India...This hotel is very special and one of the best hotel experiences "ever"...excellent staff (especially the gorgeous Vani) , beautiful luxurious surroundings, fabulous facilities and stylish rooms and great food.... its a very special hotel and completely lived up to my husbands and my high expectations - Thank you to all the staff who made my birthday so special...this is a wonderful hotel and we would love to return again soon..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubaiDiva50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you so much for the remarkable review!!

I am happy to know that you have enjoyed the accommodation, services, tranquil environment and the beautiful surroundings at The Oberoi Udaivilas.

I have shared your comments with the team and as always they are delighted to received such feedback. We have a young and dedicated team whom strive everyday to expand their knowledge in the service industry and become true professional. Such feedback encourages them to do better every day as they realise the value of their efforts.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Oberoi Udaivilas on banks of Lake Pichola.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife i rate this is our best hotel experience ever! I have stayed in more then 20 properties (India and abroad) in last 3 years, but this one is out of the box! Staff, ambiance, location, service and everything is just out of this world.
The only you don't wish for checking out!

Room Tip: Semi pool rooms are no less then heaven!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhavin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your compliments with us, they are really very special.

We are delighted to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and extremely grateful when these are recognized.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Udaipur.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The Udaivilas are a 5 star property in Pichola lake and are the most expensive one. The food in the restaurants is fantastic and service is very pleasing too. The view of the lake is great and the gardens of the hotel are brilliant. The collection of dessert liqueurthat they have is something I really will remember for a long time. Do enjoy that if you visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devdarshini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.

We strive everyday to deliver the best attention and services to our guests. I am proud and delighted to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time with us.

Please contact me directly when you next intend to travel to Udaipur or to any Oberoi destination, I would be delighted to have the chance of welcoming you once again.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

this hotel is situated at the bank of the lake. with a beautiful view of the lake place hotel, the lake itself and the city palace. You are surrounded in a hotel that has been designed to look like a palace and are treated as royalty too. The staff is extremely friendly and there to meet every one of your need. the food is amazing and the chef will make anything you like. the pool near the spa has a view one can't forget. definitely i would recommend this hotel to all couples.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hm2852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing on trip advisor and for sharing your wonderful review with us.

Our resort is the reflection of the rich heritage of Mewar, designed with Mugal and Mewari architecture. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed these moments and had taken back unforgettable memories.

Your words of appreciation is a tribute for us. We are extremely pleased to receive such comments as it helps us to in turn recognize them and ensure that they keep taking initiatives in delighting our guest. So once again many thanks for doing so.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to organize any Oberoi trip.

We are looking forward to welcome you on your next trip to Udaipur.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 167 in Udaipur
3,151 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 167 in Udaipur
2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#38 of 167 in Udaipur
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313 001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £566 - £1,027 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing