We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing vacations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

India is an amazing place to visit. This place, Udaipur is like the Venice of the East. The city surrounds a lake and in one side of the lake, the very viewable domes of the hotel are seen. The service is very high, there's some jetty to transport guests. Every employee from the hotel will enrich your experience there.

Room Tip: Verify what you want to visit, may be is not walkable and you need to hire the hotel taxi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the incredible review.

We are delighted to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and extremely grateful when these are being recognised.

Your words about Udaivilas are extremely valuable, thank you so much for appreciating it so graciously.

Our team is an asset to the company and it gives me great pleasure to share your feedback with them.

We would love to see you again soon and for longer time!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

988 - 994 of 1,906 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was towards the end of our Honeymoon in Rajasthan. The hotel is absolutely breathtaking. Set next to a beautiful lake. The resort has amazing gardens and there is a nature reserve where animals are fed each evening. We chose the poolside room, it is absolutely amazing, with a private sunbathing area. Once in the pool you feel almost like part of the nearby lake. We eat dinner outside and enjoyed the entertainment. The chef came over to talk about the Indian food and provided us with a bag of ingredients to take home. Breakfast was probably one of the best I have ever eaten, from steak and eggs to Aloo Paratha. The hotel was very quiet and exclusive, the staff are amazing, there are loads of them, and they are very charming. The spa is out of this world, and a private sunset boat trip magical. Finally - the cocktails are absolutely incredible. We were running out of time to catch a flight to Mumbai so they packed us a goodie bag for the taxi and put our cocktails into take away cups. This place is not cheap, but you can live like a royal - you deserve it!

Room Tip: Go for a lakeside room with a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EscapedCumbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed the tranquil surroundings, accommodation, overlooking view of lake Pichola and the services extended. Your comments are truly cherished and thank you for recognizing the team efforts so well.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Oberoi Group and Udaivilas.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

At time of reservation we were confused between Taj Palace and udaivilas but now we are happy that we choose oberoi. Oberoi's hospitality was up to mark as always but the built up of the resort adds stars to it. They have built and maintained every inch beautifully.

We had our one year old kid with us and they treated him like a prince. He was served with best meals for his age any time.

We loved the food here. We had booked for one night in semi private pool room and two nights in premier room. They upgraded our one night to suit which was a very pleasant surprise. They often gave such surprises like we asked for a movie dvd and they sent popcorns along.

There is very little for kids. They do not have a kids pool. Kids play room is below average. Kids can enjoy feeding of peacocks pigs and deer in morning and evening at bar mahal

Over all it was an very good holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gpmohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilas for your stay, a fantastic review and for your elaborated appreciation of each of our services.

Our accommodation and its beautiful ambience significantly contribute to the charm of our resort. I am glad to know that you were thoroughly impressed with settings of our resort.

Service excellence with the urge to anticipate and comply with guest needs is what we believe in. I am so happy to know that you got to experience the best of our hospitality.

Many thanks again for taking the time to write the review. We hope that you will plan another holiday with us soon!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Our family of 3 had the most outstanding 3 nights at this hotel.
It was a great experience from reception at the airport till return.

The BMW 5 series car that picked us was well stocked with cold towels and water and music selection. The driver was courteous and a semi guide.
We were received at the boat jetty by name, the heat ride to the hotel was the1 st of the many great experiences that we had.

The checkinn was flawless and we has the option of checking inn at the reception or in the room.
Rooms well laid out, well stocked with complementary water, nespresso, tea , great toiletries .
We had booked a garden view room, which had its own courtyard which opened into the pool area.

We soon realized that the best rooms were the lake view rooms for their outstanding view and semi private pool. We asked for a room change and got one the next dAy .

The concierge service was outstanding, all transport and reservation needs are met.

The spa is outstanding and my wife loved it and the treatments. The spa has its own pool and outside lounging area.

There are to outdoor restaurants both with the view of the lake. The chefs are always ready to make things for you that are not on the menu. The breakfast layout is very nice. loved the ice coffee .

One of the best hotel stays that I have ever had and I do travel a lot. My family would go back for a repeat without an argument.

However something could be better:
1. The best located outdoor restaurant serves only sea food. Why does a vegetarian have to settle for the 2 nd best? For a service oriented hotel like udaivilas I would have expected to be offered a meal of my choice by this lake side restaurant.
2. The transport facility is only high end luxury cArs. Though we did use it extensively and enjoyed it , there should be options like a Toyota INNOVA. Specially if there is a family of 4 or 5 and they want to take a guide. These cars would be to cramped or one would have to take 2 which would defeat the purpose of a family holiday.

Sent from my iPad

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are well worth the extra money. And ask for those closer to the open air restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mohitoswal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Food, Service and Accomodations were the best I have ever encountered in my travels. I can't say enough about this Wonderful Palace.
Everything they do and everything they did for us during our stay has been truly appreciated.

Most special to me was each and every staff members from House Keeping to General Manager truly went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and memorable.

Thank you.

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Birdsfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing on trip advisor and for sharing your wonderful review with us.

It gives me enormous happiness to share your feedback with the team at The Oberoi Udaivilās and they are elated to fathom that they were able to serve your with best hospitality.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We went to Udaivilas for dinner as we were staying in the Leela Palace. I must say its one of the best hotels in India. Its absolutely out of the world. And you feel so mesmerised by the view their restaurant Chandani Offers.
The staff is very courteous. And helps you decide over the menu so that you don't go overboard with your order, or dont order too much.
We were attended by Sunny. Who gave us an excellent service. We ordered Rajasthani thali, with laal maans and daal bati. It was a three course meal.
And was the best rajasthani food that we had in a very long time. Price wise, its worth it with the ambience and the serenity and quality of food.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank nimishavohra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review about your stay.

Our endeavor is to be known for friendly, intuitive and personalized service and I am delighted to know that our team exceeded your expectations.

As they say, a place is because of its people and so is Udaivilas. I am blessed to be working with a team of committed and enthusiastic people. Udaivilas experience is all about people and working together to create beautiful memories for all our guests. I will personally pass your generous comments with my entire team.

It is evident that you were completely charmed by the Udaivilas experience and we look forward to welcome you back soon!!!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The pool rooms are beautiful and have their own access into a private, shared pool, no that you see anyone else. The grounds are truly magnificent and the marble elephants most impressive and welcoming.
The only negative would be the food was a little on the bland side and the swimming pool could do with being heated. We had dinner one night at the Lake Palace hotel, and although a Palace - the Oberoi is far superior except maybe for the food.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Soozywong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilas for your stay.

I am so happy to know that you were thoroughly impressed by the setting of the resort especially with our beautiful pool villas. Our private pool villa’s significantly contribute to the charm of our resort.

Please rest assured I have personally spoken to the concerned team members and shared your feedback and ensure you that it shall not be repeated in the future.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Oberoi Udaivilas very soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 165 in Udaipur
3,094 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#5 of 165 in Udaipur
2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#20 of 165 in Udaipur
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313 001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £571 - £1,138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing