We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtakingly beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
211 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

As their apparent flagship hotel, Oberoi can with right be proud of this property. Right on the lake, the gardens and spread of buildings are impressive yet pales to unnecessary detail compared to the service. The lasting impression of a visit to this resort hotel is that there is nothing that the staff will not do to make your stay unforgettable.

A romantic dinner at the seafood restaurant - candlelit on the edge of the lake - is a must and breakfast is superb.

There are so many details that may be mentioned, but a big part of the pleasure probably lies in the constant surprises and I would not want to spoil that for prospective guests by giving it away.

Go and see! Pity there is not an option for ratings beyond excellent as this one deserves it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwandrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review.

The resort is spread over an expanse of 30 acres, and its carefully planned design has evolved as a seamless assimilation of spaces resembling the old palaces. Courtyards and walkways, gently rippling fountains and reflecting pools, exquisitely landscaped gardens, sculptures and frescoes, arches and domes, niches and alcoves – the building lends itself to discovery and continual surprise.

Your compliments about the team and product are the mark of respect and they made all of us to feel proud of being a part of Oberoi and they encourages us to always present our finest services.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,575
    142
    36
    18
    10
See reviews for
462
811
42
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I visited udai Villas in the end of Januaray for 2 nights.
It was my honeymoon.
The hotel is amazingly built and widely spread.
The guard that opens your car door welcomes me addressing me with my last name that makes you feel special.
There is hotel staff who waiting for you at the gate and escorts you to the hotel lobby that makes you feel even more special.
that is the thing you expect from Udai Villas.
As they know its ur honeymoon there is a cake and card in your room this is makes it more amazing.
there were many other special services offered.
i liked the rooms too but yeah it was a very long walk from lobby to the room.
The only thing I didnt liked about the hotel was when I and my wife went for breakfast in the morning. The service was poor. The staff gave preference to foreigners. We could see butlers swinging by there table at the same time we had to call them thrice or even more then that.
We could see the difference in which we were treated compared to other foreign guests that made us feel pathetic and felt like choosing Udai Villas was a wrong decision. And after I came back I shared the same with an uncle of mine and he said he had the same experience.
The hotel should not give us rooms if they cannot serve us well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank hansmittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your taking the time to review the Oberoi Udaivilas facilities and thank you for choosing us for your first stay on your honeymoon.

As previously shared we were glad to know you appreciate the property, its architecture, gardens and also appreciated the personal services extended to you on your special occasion. Your comments on departure were shared with the team and they appreciated you recognizing their efforts in making your stay most comfortable.

However please accept our sincerest apologies once again for the way your felt preferences were extended to other nationalities. The team was sad to hear that they left you with such impression. As one can see from the many reviews, our main clientele derives from India and we, at The Oberoi Udaivilas, strive to deliver constant service parity to all. However the team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon and regain your confidence.

With warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Everybody is very friendly and welcoming the hotels is gated so you feel safe the lobby looks like a palace. What I liked about my room is you step out bnd there is a pool and a view of the lake palace and city palace. The food is great and the gardens are great

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking out time and for sharing the fantastic review! Your generous words of appreciations about the property, food and services are really immeasurable.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and extremely grateful when these are being recognized.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Oberoi Group and Udaivilas

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We loved this hotell! We arrived at night and the lighting on this architecturally gorgeous hotel literally took our breath away. The service was outstanding and the food delicious. Having travelled extensively, we couldn't recommend this stunning hotel more highly.

Room Tip: Get a view of Lake Pichola!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review.

I am glad to know that you loved architecture of Udaivilas, it represent the continuity of the grand Mewar tradition. With domes and arches, pavilions and balconies, turrets, niches and jalis (screens), it is a reflection of the rich history of Rajasthan.

Thank you for appreciating our services, room, food and staff. Your words are exceptional, it makes us proud to be the part of this beautiful hotel and team.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at some stage for longer days in our properties worldwide.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I visited Udaivilas in March with my family for a short break and it ended up to be one of the most memorable holiday for all of us.
This property is exceptional and only thing better that this property is the people managing it. They will walk many extra miles to make you feel special and your stay a memorable one. The team went to exceptional lengths to keep my son engaged and entertained during the stay. The chefs took time to give him a lesson in their kitchen. We were delighted with the pizza and cake he made for us there. The kids room was well stocked and attended by staff to keep kids safe and busy. Every one else, from the door man to front office manager to butler to boat driver were very hospitable. Overall, we are delighted to have stayed there and we so eagerly look forward to visit here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BhavyaJoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a such a thoughtful review.

I am privileged to be working with a team of highly motivated and committed individuals who have consistently made me proud by looking after our guests so well. Our culture of genuine care for all guests was demonstrated so beautifully in attending to you.

The team will be thrilled to receive your heartwarming appreciation of their efforts. It means a lot and is certainly their biggest motivation.

I am sure that we have won a friend and an ambassador in you and that you will consider to celebrate other special occasions with us.

Entire team at The Oberoi Udaivilas looks forward to welcome you back.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
140 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel was the 5th Oberoi on our trip through India. It has a phantastic location right on the banks of the Lake Pichola with breath taking views on the lake palace as the city of Udaipur. The hotel exterior and interior is pure luxury with green marple floor, painted domes, candalabras etc.
However, all this luxury stands in strong contrast to the cool atmosphere we felt here right from the beginning as the insufficient cleanliness and the poor service we faced. A few examples:
- Coming to the breakfast buffet at 8:30am we found no knife for the bread. After complaining it was brought, however, it took another complain to get the needed napkin to hold the bread.
- After returning to our table there were no salt and pepper shakers. When asking for them the staff brought two with pepper.
- I had to notice that the first plate I took from the buffet was not cleaned properly, so was the second. I put them aside and took the finally clean third. However, when leaving the breakfast room 45 minutes later the first two plates still stood at the place I had put them.
- The terrace of the room is obviously not on the service as it was not swept during our stay nor did they empty/clean the ashtray there
- The glasses as the cutlery of the room's minibar were not clean.
- Toiletries were not checked/filled up during turn down service
etc.
Compared to the other Oberoi hotels the staff seemed neither to be well organized nor motivated nor really friendly which might be an indication for an appropriate leadership by the management.
The topics above were addressed to the management at our departure. They arranged a free dinner as a compensation in the next Oberoi we stayed. However, the stay at the Oberoi Udaipur was the disappointment of our trip through India

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiroSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Front Office Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

The Oberoi Udaivilās is designed as a Mewari palace, recreating the luxurious ambience of a royal residence, complete with decorative water bodies and carved stone pillars. Located on the banks of Lake Pichola, it commands a beautiful view of the City Palace and two 17th-century island palaces on the lake – Jag Mandir and Jag Nivas.

As per our conversation upon your departure, please accept our sincerest apologies for the lapse of service you have experienced during your stay. These are not representative of the service we are known for. We have received your constructive feedback and are treating with the utmost seriousness. We look forward to your return and we shall spare no effort to extend once again the best of our hospitality.

Warm regards and safe travels
Roopal Pande.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zambia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

What an amazing experience. The hotel itself was part of our India experience as opposed to just being a place we spend the night after our various tours. The architecture, the customer service, the welcome we received is unparalleled.

My husband and I have travelled extensively throughout Africa, Europe, Asia and UAE, but none of the 5 star hotels we have stayed in have matched our experience at the Oberoi Hotels (Udaipur and Delhi). At each turn there is a smiling member of staff trying to make your stay better. It wasn't cheap, but worth every penny.

There was a mistake when we arrived with our room and three levels of staff came to apologised for this, they were truly mortified by this error and regretted that this was our first impression of their hotel. Their earnestness really impressed us and made up completely to us.

The room was spacious though I found the windows were too small for us to really appreciate the magnificent view from our room.

The spa treatment was so amazing we ended up doing two treatments.

All the staff made an effort to chat with us without being intrusive, the chefs went the extra mile with recommending different foods for us to sample.

We ADORE this hotel and will look for other Oberoi Hotels going forward when we travel.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room so that you can a bigger swimming pool outside your room if you select the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZedTraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review.

The Oberoi Udaivilās has been conceived as a splendid palace, wonderfully creating the romance of the past, embellished by beautiful works of art and craft from in and around the region. I am glad to know that you enjoyed the property, product and services thoroughly.
The Oberoi Spa is a sanctuary of peace in an environment totally conducive to relaxation.

Thank you very much for appreciating the efforts made by the team.

The Oberoi Udaivilās is the perfect venue for a special celebration, a family holiday, meetings and conferences or as a weekend retreat. The rich cultural heritage of Udaipur makes the city a fascinating place to explore and discover at leisure. We look forward to your repeat visit to Oberoi Hotels and Resorts and please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,905 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Property: The Oberoi Udaivilas
Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing