We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at the Lake Palace instead”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stay at the Lake Palace instead”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2008

This hotel is really very good, it's beautiful and the staff are very attentive. The rooms are great, the gym is great, but you're a bit isolated from town--you have to take a car pretty much anywhere. When compared with other Oberoi hotels, we found it lacked soul. Most of the staff seemed to have just arrived in the last year. We'd recommend the Lake Palace instead, a Taj hotel, which is incredibly romantic and right in the middle of the lake. This hotel was limited to one restaurant (it was low season). You can't go wrong staying here, but we were surprised that some magazines rate it 'the best hotel in the world,' which we didn't think it was.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,548
    142
    36
    18
    9
See reviews for
453
801
41
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2008

The hotel is beautiful, the grounds are gorgeous . There are beautiful public rooms throughout the property, even a candle room to walk through. Very over- the- top decor. The pool goes through every room and it is outstanding in design. This is true luxury. Combine this with outstanding service where your every whim is attended to and you can see that staying here will be a memorable experience. Highly recommend this property as a unique, classy great place to stay. Great food and nice setting for the restaurant.

  • Liked — Hotel design, Great Service ,Terrific Staff
  • Disliked — loved everything
  • Stayed January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TandLtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
127 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

By the time we arrived in Udaipur we had stayed in three other Oberoi hotels during our visit to India and so were ready for the excellent levels of service and courtesy. This hotel is spread over a huge area and both hotel and the grounds are simply gorgeous. We particularly liked the animal sanctuary, which is situated within the grounds.. We chose to stay in a lake facing room with semi-private pool which was wonderfully relaxing. Even though the waters of Lake Pichola were low, the view was still beautiful and it was terrific to step from our own private little courtyard into the pool which runs the length of 10 other similar rooms.

As with all the Oberois, the staff are only interested in making each guest's stay as comfortable and as memorable as possible.
There is definitely a reason why this hotel (indeed the whole Oberoi group) has been ranked amongst the best in the world!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Chocolateloverlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2008

Having more than 400 rooms this is by far the best hotel in the world...the great views, the huge lawns, the palatial setting just takes you in...i went there for my honeymoon and the experience was tereffic..the staff is extremely helpful and the service is prompt..it took us almost 2 days to see the entire hotel and every nook and corner was fabulous with attention to detail given to each section of the hotel..Since this is an off season for the hotel the main pool was under maintainance but the spa pool was equally great with a scenic backdrop..we had a room with a garden view and there were peacocks in our garden at any given point in time...just marvelous...the food was also excellent and the rooms are huge compared to other hotels..

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jainb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2008

We have stayed at beautiful hotels in the past, but this far exceeds any of them. Udaivilas is spectacular. Can't fault the service or anything else at the hotel. Staff are extremely helpful; food is exceptional, especially the Indian food. Our only complaint, and it is minor, is that a couple of the waiters in the restaurant have a tendency to constantly ask if your food is OK and to try to make conversation when you really want some privacy. Otherwise, I can fully understand why this hotel is rated so highly in the major travel magazines. Do yourself a favor and stay here even though it is expensive.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank norm5Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2008

The Udaivilas is definetly one of the greatest hotels I have ever been to. Set at the famous lake in Udaipuar (where the James bond movie was shot) it has less than 100 rooms, most excellent service, lots of space, great food, marble everywhere.

The rooms are just great to the smallest detail. Great white marble bathrooms, private garden.

The staff is very friendly and always helpful. The central tipping systems avoids the nuissance of feeling to have to tip everybody everytime.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aaliibaabaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2008

The hotel was built only a few years ago on a huge site on the West bank of Lake Pichola straight across from the Lake Palace and City Palace. The hotel rooms are off long corridors which are open to the gardens and the rooms are huge, with private courtyards. The grounds are full of water cascades, pavilions and features and it took us about 30 minutes just to walk around the gardens admiring the flowers and views.
Service,as you would expect is impeccable, and the restaurant food was excellent. In terms of design, appearance , service and location this hotel is hard to beat.
My only moan is that prices for some things were downright silly. A 40 minute trip round the lake costs 2500 rupees. From the other side of the lake it costs 350! It is a short tuctuc trip to excellent retaurants or into the city centre so you are not tied to eating there.

  • Liked — The beautiful building and grounds
  • Disliked — The price of some extras
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Normski3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Property: The Oberoi Udaivilas
Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing