We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We arrived at the Udaivilas at 08.00 and were immediately shown to our room with our own pool. Everything about the room was superb.

The location of the hotel is ideal overlooking a partially dried up Lake Pichola, the gardens are extensive and beautiful. The hotel although modern (2002) is so well designed giving a feeling of space, everything within the hotel is first class.

One of the days the hotel organised a trip to the Jain Temple at Ranakpur for us providing the most wonderful picnic, that would have easily fed 4. The temple has magnificent carvings and together with the attractive drive to reach it makes it an ideal day trip.

The food at the hotel was excellent although if staying for more than a few days the menu may become limited in choice.

The staff at the hotel are superbly efficient, friendly and all services are provided with a smile.

If this is the standard of all Oberoi Hotels we can't wait to our next opportunity to stay at one.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reded46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,628 - 1,634 of 1,908 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2009

It has hard to find fault with anything about this hotel. The grounds are immaculate, the staff welcoming and gracious without being obtrusive, and the rooms are large and well-appointed. I was a little sceptical when I found out that the property was purpose-built from the ground up in 2002 but it is done so tastefully that it still feels like a Palace Hotel without feeling at all phony. You have to see it to believe it really. It was the only property we stayed at in India, including many 5 star Taj and Oberoi hotels, where they claim the tap water is safe (I was too timid to test this out). The water pressure in the shower is sublime, by the way.

If I had to quibble, I would point out that the hotel food is not up to the quality of the rest of the property. Also, it can be a long walk to some of the rooms so if that is an issue make it clear in advance. The staff is all professional and caring and Concierge Om will solve any issues that might arise.

Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

We stayed at Oberoi Udaivilas right after we left Oberoi Rajvilas. We were so comfortable at Rajvilas that we were not really looking forward to leaving that hotel… However, the trip was worth it! As soon as we laid eyes on the jewel that is Udaivilas, we understood how it got its many awards. The buildings and the grounds are just perfect. We had never seen such swimming pools before (our rooms had direct access to one of them, from the private terrace).
The place is spotless – amazing, considering the number and size of the buildings!
The view from the spa is breathtaking. Overall, it’s the architecture and landscaping which amazed us most, but that’s not all there is to Udaivilas… Service was excellent, the staff very attentive and when our young daughter wasn’t feeling well one evening, the next day, everybody was concerned about her.
I would, again, very strongly recommend Oberoi Udaivilas, and if you love photography, Rajasthan should be your next stop.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ia_0rana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed at. The room was unreal and the service exquisite. If you can spend the money and get a room with an enterance to the swimming pool. The outside area on a swimming pool at your door was great. If I could i would spend all my money and spend the rest of my life at the udaivallis. It would be heaven on earth. The grounds are great to walk around. The architecture pr the building is fascinating

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAJSYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

There are two aspects of this hotel which set it apart from all others. Firstly the service from the staff is supreme and is at a level we have not encountered elsewhere. Secondly the architecture of the hotel is magnificant and has to be seen to be believed.

We stayed at the Udaivilas for a week as we wished to explore some of the less touristed parts of the region. While others headed to the City Palace we set off for ancient temples in the countryside. Apparently most people stay in Udaipur for only a couple of days, at the end of a tour of India. This is a mistake. If you want the holiday of a lifetime you should spend at least a week at the Oberoi Udaivilas.

All the staff without exception treated us with the utmost courtesy. They anticipated our needs and all were aware of our plans. There is a tranquility about the place which made us feel at peace as soon as we arrived. The atmosphere of tranquility is created by the kindness of the staff and the beautiful scents and gentle ambient sounds, not to mention the amazing lakeside setting.

My only quibbles would be that the evening entertainment was rather repetitive, and a glass of champagne would have been quite expensive.

The Oberoi Udaivilas is a hotel we would definately like to return to. There may be a better hotel somewhere on the planet, but we have never seen it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkSoroti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

After a couple of weeks travelling around India the arrival in Udaipur is refreshing and relaxing, the lack of traffic, noise, pushy street vendors makes this city a gem!. The all experience at the Udaivilas was outstanding, from the greeting when we arrived, the beautiful room (I would strongly recommend to book the lake view rooms with private access to the pool), the delicious food, the lovely spa, the courteous staff. The staff knew our names and greeted us with them everywhere we went around the hotel. One review mentions the confusing layout of this property. I must agree that it is not easy to get around, even if they do provide every guest with a little map, but I did think that it was rather charming being surprised by unexpected the pools, fountains, rather grand stair cases, seating areas and the lovely views that would suddenly appear around a corner. We were so happy with this choice, rather expensive for sure, but by the time we left, we thought it was worth every penny and we will surely do our best to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura_Simon_Birt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2009

we spent part of our honeymoon here last month. we stayed at 4 oberoi properties on the trip, and this was by far our favourite. unlike the reviewer from camden, we had booked a premier room, and what do you know-they upgraded us to a suite!!! we had 3 nights of pure indulgence, and felt like royality. we had room service a couple of times-who wouldn't when you have your own dining room, and an outdoor dining pavillion next to your private pool. the food and service was exceptional. the chef came along too to make sure it was perfect.

we went to the spa one afternoon, and had multiple treatments. the therapists we would highly rate, very highly.

as for it being confusing and widely spaced out. yes to being spread out over beautiful gardens and pools, but confusing-don't think so...i wish we had gone to the taj lake palace just to compare, but honestly we couldn't have been more pleased with the oberoi in general. i can agree with some of the service complaints, but feel it is more of an oberoi thing rather than the specific hotel or staff. they make the service so complicated at times(as noted below re the coke)that is does become almost farcical in execution. they could simplify some of the serving procedures to be sure.

we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone-especially if you can bag a suite...

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenk58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 165 in Udaipur
3,096 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 165 in Udaipur
2,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#20 of 165 in Udaipur
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313 001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £582 - £1,149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing