We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We upgraded to a suite with a semi-private pool and thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights there.
Great service and having the pool out your back door is just so nice. Having breakfast served out on our private terrace in the morning was really relaxing, great way to start the day.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msdsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Guest Relations Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your generous feedback.

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant and delightful stay with us. Your appreciation has been shared with the team and it cheers up our spirits to do best day by day.

Once again on behalf of entire team at The Oberoi Udaivilas, we thank you for choosing to stay with us on your trip to Udaipur. My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Thank you with kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,623
    147
    38
    18
    9
See reviews for
491
827
44
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Udaivilas is just plain wonderful in every aspect. From the reception, to the room to the food to the service, they get a 100%. And thge beauty of Udaipur and the lake just makes this resort magical.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Guest Relations Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your generous feedback.

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant and delightful stay with us. Your appreciation has been shared with the team and it cheers up our spirits to do best day by day.

Once again on behalf of entire team at The Oberoi Udaivilas, we thank you for choosing to stay with us on your trip to Udaipur. My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Thank you with kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

This hotel is a truly amazing experience.

Rooms, food, staff, spa, everything!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gosh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Guest Relations Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your generous feedback.

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant and delightful stay with us. Your appreciation has been shared with the team and it cheers up our spirits to do best day by day.

Once again on behalf of entire team at The Oberoi Udaivilas, we thank you for choosing to stay with us on your trip to Udaipur. My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Thank you with kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Reception was cold. Very average food. Staff not so professional, saw some signs of frustration(probabily low on morale for some reason). Evenings are very dull as the lighting is minimum to cut cost. Dont go if u r not in a group. Will get bored.Need i say more?

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentTravellerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ponte vedra beach
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

On the Oberai website Udavilas looks spectacular. In person it’s a dream. If you stand high up on the ramparts of Udaipur City Palace and look across Lake Pichola past the Lake Palace you see a very large creamy confection of soft golden domes set atop matching golden walls. Wait, now the domes and walls appear a gauzy pink. The sense is of a heavenly hallucinogenic vision or a CGI image out of Skywalker labs. This is Udavilas from a distance. Stepping inside the reality of the vision is a rare privilege.
Once you pass the gates you gently wind through a drive that was constructed with great care to set the stage for the drama of this unbelievable property. The greeting, I was to learn, was classic Oberoi. The Rajput version of the Swiss Guard was there along with a number of the young, professional, attractive staff that Oberoi is known for. There is no standing at a counter to bother with a quotidian task like checking-in. There isn’t even a reception desk like the great European hotels. Instead we were escorted to a sitting area underneath one of Udavilas magnificent domes and presented with a cool towel and a fresh pomegranate juice. After we had relaxed and had a chance to process the beauty that surrounded us we were escorted to our rooms. The rooms were lovely. There was a comfortable sitting area; fortunately a large dressing room with plenty of space to store our six pieces of luggage; a beautiful bathroom; and a door that led out to a private patio with lounge chairs and steps into the moat like infinity pool that looked over a nature conservancy teaming with spotted deer and peacocks. When you looked past the wildlife there was a stunning view of the magical city of Udaipur.

Udaivilas is one hotel that is worth exploring. The place is huge but has less than ninety guest rooms. There is magnificent Rajasthan art and artifacts and beautiful domes located throughout the complex. All the domes have ceilings that are photo ready. One we liked in particular was unlike all others. It was monochromatic and inlaid with glass or glazed tile the color of lapis. Maybe it was real lapis. In the center of the chamber, underneath the dome, is a large table with dozens of candles of various sizes. Around the perimeter of the room are a half dozen or so “lovers” chairs. At night the only light was from the flickering candles. Baz Luhrmann would be inspired by this setting.

After one night we moved to the gorgeous Regents Suite and Orloff Suite. And I mean luggage moved by the staff and unpacked with clothes neatly arranged in drawers and hanging in the closets. I haven’t experienced such old world valet service since my times at the Hong Kong Peninsula decades ago. The suites were gigantic and beautifully decorated. The dining room and the bedroom opened to the private infinity pool. There was a raised outside dining area draped in blooming bougainvillea that was perched over a garden sprinkled with roaming peacocks. If there are better luxury suites in the world they are well kept secrets.

We attempted to sample all of Udaivilas’ delights. The spa is wonderful. The treatment rooms on the lower level are lovely, large and well equipped with great views. Between the three of us I think we sampled every offering on the spa menu. We didn’t have a favorite. Everything was a peak sybaritic experience. My son loved the gleaming gym. The bar/lounge was a great place to have a late afternoon drink and snack. It’s a very comfortable room and very pleasing to the eye. I was told it is open 24/7. In the dining room we had our “table” under a private chandeliered dome. The food, European & Indian – veg & non-veg was delicious. During every dinner the Chef visited our table and solicited our feedback. The grounds are as lovely as any Maharaja’s garden. There are manicured lawns, colorful blooms, sculptures and magnificent water features.

Oberoi obviously takes great care in the design and care of their facilities. Oberoi takes even better care with the selection and training of their staff. Every staff member we had contact with was focused like a laser on service. They practically pleaded with us to tell them if they could improve service in anyway. I don’t believe anything is perfect but we didn’t experience a single flaw during our four days at Undaivilas. The staff was highly motivated and had genuine pride in being members of the Oberoi organization. They were proud to be a member of the team led by Torsten van Dulleman. I’ve never stayed in a hotel where so many employees mentioned how great the GM was. I don’t know what Mr. van Dulleman’s management style is but General Motors & AIG should find out and replicate. Udaivila is not only beautiful and luxurious but it is extremely well run. Even if you have no immediate plan to visit Rajasthan pick up Mr. van Dullemen’s sumptuous book, Udaipur (as it is!).

I’m not a big fan of the various readers’ polls on the best hotels in the world. Sure I read them but unless all the readers had stayed at all the properties on the list what do they really mean. Udaivilas has less than ninety rooms. How many readers could honestly vote for it? That said I find it remarkable that Udavilas always ranks at the top in all categories. I guess those polls get something right.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmoorer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Guest Relations Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your generous feedback.

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant and delightful stay with us. Your appreciation has been shared with the team and it cheers up our spirits to do best day by day.

Once again on behalf of entire team at The Oberoi Udaivilas, we thank you for choosing to stay with us on your trip to Udaipur. My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Thank you with kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We were wary to start with.....the next best options being a third of the price at Udaivilas. Udaivilas is true luxury and has a very romantic setting. From the ambience to the decor,the gardens and the size, everything is outstanding. Ideal for a romantic getaway.
The staff is friendly and helpful. We were staying with our 3-year old son - the hotel did not charge us for anything we ordered for the baby.Although the hotel does not have an activity area for children, the animals in their conservatory and peacocks around the hotel keep the children distracted. The rooms are spacious - ones with the private pool are recommended esp if you are traveling with children. They also offer the best view of the lake.
For weekend travelers, book your spa treatments as soon as you can (24 hrs in advance definitely) else you may not get a slot at all!
The cab service from the hotel is heavily overpriced. It's best if you can get hold of a local cab company's number and use their services instead of the hotel's.

Overall - money well spent!

  • Liked — Ambience
  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AditiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

this is a special hotel. It is set in extensive grounds with luxuriant vegetation, moghul architecture and well equipped and attractive rooms. Restaurants are good but the outside dining is probably best

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Guest Relations Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your generous feedback.

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant and delightful stay with us. Your appreciation has been shared with the team and it cheers up our spirits to do best day by day.

Once again on behalf of entire team at The Oberoi Udaivilas, we thank you for choosing to stay with us on your trip to Udaipur. My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Thank you with kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 161 in Udaipur
3,004 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 161 in Udaipur
2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 161 in Udaipur
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Property: The Oberoi Udaivilas
Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313 001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing