We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi Udaivilas

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,526
    141
    36
    18
    8
See reviews for
447
788
39
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2006

Our three day stay at the Udaivilas was the best hotel experience of our lives. Because it was the off-season, we were one of the few guests at the hotel, and it felt like it was our own palace. The entire staff seemed to know us by name, and pampered us wonderfully. The complimentary yoga class and culinary experience were great perks. Truly a sublime experience. We even made it out of the hotel a few times to see the town of Udaipur, which we liked more than the other Indian cities we visited.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LailiMari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Guest Relations Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your generous feedback.

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant and delightful stay with us. Your appreciation has been shared with the team and it cheers up our spirits to do best day by day.

Once again on behalf of entire team at The Oberoi Udaivilas, we thank you for choosing to stay with us on your trip to Udaipur. My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Thank you with kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2006

If you can afford it, go! Beautiful, great service, amazing private pool and even though June is a bit hot. ...great time of the year to go since you can benefit of lower rates.
I stayed at most of the Oberoi hotels in India and this was my favourite along with Rhantambhore.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldtravellerMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Guest Relations Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your generous feedback.

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant and delightful stay with us. Your appreciation has been shared with the team and it cheers up our spirits to do best day by day.

Once again on behalf of entire team at The Oberoi Udaivilas, we thank you for choosing to stay with us on your trip to Udaipur. My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Thank you with kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2006

Just returned from 2 weeks @ 6 Indian Oberoi hotels - we got a really good feel for expected level of service, rooms and facilities. Udaivilas was definitely one of the highlights, but it has a little way to go, in my humble opinion, to catch up on the utterly magnificent Amarvilas in Agra.

There is nothing specifically at fault with this hotel, but as a lot of the rooms and the hotel main pool are under refurbishment right now (Don't worry - nothing imposing that will spoil your trip) it probably wasn't as flawless as it normally would be. (Tip - if you're opting for a semi-private pool room, no. 118 looks as though it has a magnificent setting with superb views of the Lake and Palace).....

We had a semi-private pool room but the pool itself was in need of a good clean, which it received 24 hours after our arrival. We used the spa pool and they really do treat you like royalty with all of the attention to detail. Service at dinner was amazing at Chandni (Dining al fresco) but the food was nowhere near the quality of Amarvilas.

But I feel I must clarify a detail of the reviewer from Oxford: Rana is not a personal Butler. We took the time to get to know him and he is on a Management training internship with Oberoi and 'Butler' is just one of his duties. To be honest we found it just a tad embarrassing as we certainly aren't the type to click our fingers and expect a bow and a courtesy! After you get over the initial 'shock' of undivided attention, you start to relax in to the flow and it can be very enjoyable! The people are great and I got gained a lot by getting to a few of them and how committed they are to Oberoi and Indian tourism.

For me the Oberoi hotels are magnificent, but if you're not careful you can cocoon yourself in its 5 star atmosphere, you will think you are part of the Maharana and possibly miss out on the 'real' India. For sure stay here - it's a must. For us - instead of opting for the hotel car to take us out and about, we took local rickshaws and walked. Not only did we save heaps of cash but we experienced a different side altogether and got to see so many wonderful things and people in Udaipur.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank TallyAttwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Guest Relations Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your generous feedback.

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant and delightful stay with us. Your appreciation has been shared with the team and it cheers up our spirits to do best day by day.

Once again on behalf of entire team at The Oberoi Udaivilas, we thank you for choosing to stay with us on your trip to Udaipur. My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Thank you with kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2006

Our 5 Days in the Oberoi Udiavillas was paradise on earth! Quite a statement but fully justified.

It was our Silver Wedding celebration vacation and due to unusual circumstances were upgraded to the Great Moguls Suite. Wow! Private pool, steam room , double roll-top bath, tented dining balcony - suffice it to say, it was wonderful.

The personal Butler, Rana, was the supreme professional as were the rest of the team who are a great credit to Henry Gray, the General Manager.

The hotel was immacutlately clean, with an industrious team of operatives keeping all the trees and plants beautifully manicured.

The Spa was a perfect remedy to a hard days haggling in the Udaipur shops and brought you back to earth gently in preparation for a supreme array of cuisine on the terrace.

In our view it was the pefect end to an "eventful" visit to India

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RossandJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Guest Relations Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your generous feedback.

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant and delightful stay with us. Your appreciation has been shared with the team and it cheers up our spirits to do best day by day.

Once again on behalf of entire team at The Oberoi Udaivilas, we thank you for choosing to stay with us on your trip to Udaipur. My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Thank you with kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2006

We decided to stay here after reading all of the poor reviews of the Lake Palace and absolutely made the right choice! This place was fabulous. Our service was prompt, curteous and efficient. To highlight the effortless extend to which the hotel accomodated us, we needed to book an airline flight to Jaipur but had found everything was sold out. With the hard work of the staff, we were able to secure executive class seats to Jaipur in less than an hour.

The rooms were, of course, beautiful and and semi-private pool IS worth the money. There is nothing better than an early morning swim with the amazing sounds from the animal preserve right echoing through the air. I cannot say enough about this amazing hotel! It is an absolute must!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ACSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#1 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,825 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.6 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Property: The Oberoi Udaivilas
Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing