We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would go back tomorrow just to stay in this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
east midlands
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Would go back tomorrow just to stay in this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

We stayed at the Oberoi Udaivilas whilst in Udaipur during a recent tour of Rajasthan. This is an absolutely stunning hotel with beautiful grounds and wonderful views over Lake Pichola to the Lake Palace Hotel and the City Palace. I think you are supposed to arrive at the hotel by boat across the lake but unfortunately due to the fact that there has been hardly any rain for two years the lake has shrunk somewhat so this is not possible at present. We had decided to try to upgrade our room from a premier room to a lake view room (as you then get your very own semi-private bit of swimming pool) but hadn't managed to do this before arriving. We were taken to our Premier room (which was lovely) but asked if we could upgrade the room - the very helpful gentleman said he would check if a room was available as they only had a limited number. He got straight back to us to say there was a room available but it wouldn't be ready until a little later so they allowed us to stay in the Premier room in the meantime. The Lake View room was stunning with an outside terrace all to yourself. We sunbathed by the pool while watching black kites and honey eaters and we even had a couple of finches making a nest in the umbrella - they weren't bothered by us in the least. There is also a nature reserve where you can go to watch deer and wild boar being fed in the evenings. On our last day we came across a 19th century hunting lodge in the grounds and were given a guided tour by the caretaker - Mr Roop Singh Ji - who very proudly told us he was 84 years old and had been caretaker there for about 40 years - amazing man. The food was excellent and we ate out every evening on the terrace overlooking the lake. We would go back to this hotel at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seacucumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Guest Relations Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your generous feedback.

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant and delightful stay with us. Your appreciation has been shared with the team and it cheers up our spirits to do best day by day.

Once again on behalf of entire team at The Oberoi Udaivilas, we thank you for choosing to stay with us on your trip to Udaipur. My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Thank you with kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,555
    142
    36
    18
    9
See reviews for
456
804
41
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

if you want to stay in an hotel romantic with fine food ,excellent service and top location, then this is your spot in India! the city is so nice the people so sweet , a dream place. Be only careful that the lake has water only after the monsoon , when I was there April the lake was dried and the lake palace was a mud palace!

Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SotiriosB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Guest Relations Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your generous feedback.

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant and delightful stay with us. Your appreciation has been shared with the team and it cheers up our spirits to do best day by day.

Once again on behalf of entire team at The Oberoi Udaivilas, we thank you for choosing to stay with us on your trip to Udaipur. My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Thank you with kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

Its a hotel...no its a palace... no its superman!! Is this the best hotel in India? Perhaps such a comment is too exorbitant since one would need to first stay at all top hotels in India first to judge...but having stayed at my fair share of many, this must come close!!

1) property: even if not overall, surely the property is unparalleld and unsurpassed in this country. sprawling, magnificent and obscenely luxurious, princes and Kings of lesser Kingdoms probably spent lives in planning to build a residence such as this. see it to believe it
2) Locatio: fabulous, right on lake pichola. The view and ambience at its open air restaurant chandni, at dinner, over the lake , is to die for. the only reason it gets a 4 is that its rival...sits in the midlle of the lake!!! too bad!!
Cleanliness, rooms, sleep quality: spotlessly clean (expected froma five star, nothing special)..but the rooms...ohh the rooms...you may well forget who you are and think you are a prince...certainly the best rooms I have seen among Taj and Oberoi properties in India( and we had only a delux room!!, God what will the suites with private pools and terraces be like?). Stand alone Victorian tubs, private courtyards, swimming pool view from the bathtub!!!!! enough pillows (in number and variety) to cater to a platoon ( I usually use 4-5 pillow to sleep at home..I know, its obscene...and we couldnt figure out what to do with the remaining)!
Service: even after all the above, it is the service...the royal greeting at the airport, the personal welcome by the manager on arrival, the unbelievably smooth check in (when did we check in?? did we sign anything??) make this hotel stand apart!
Value: mortgage your house...and then if its not enough, rent out your kids...before coming here.
Negatives: Mainly for a quiet, peaceful, luxury break. not too much life around the place. not for young people looking for a pulsating holiday, more for middle aged millionaires looking to relax. apart from chandni, other restaurants very limited in variety and character. no buffets, even for breakfast. pool atmosphere very tame( but utterly classy).

again: the property...oh the grounds and lawns and domes and arches and fountains and corridors..

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrews_sameer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Guest Relations Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your generous feedback.

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant and delightful stay with us. Your appreciation has been shared with the team and it cheers up our spirits to do best day by day.

Once again on behalf of entire team at The Oberoi Udaivilas, we thank you for choosing to stay with us on your trip to Udaipur. My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Thank you with kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2010

The property is absolutely stunning. There are no words to describe the beautiful grounds which even has its own wildlife park where I saw deers and peacocks. I just love the gardens and the view onto the lake is memorable. I would sat that this is easily one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in.

As for the rooms - special too. I love the furnishing especially the bedspreads. 2 lovely pools and as for the spa - it's a must go. My mother says that its the best massage she has had in the whole world.

Although there are only 2 restaurants, the food is absolutely heavenly.

But once again, the best thing about the hotel is the stunning service. Nothing was too much trouble, the restaurant waiters even provided a tissue box at every meal after they noticed I had a cold.

Stayed March 2010
Helpful?
Thank snwong48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Guest Relations Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your generous feedback.

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant and delightful stay with us. Your appreciation has been shared with the team and it cheers up our spirits to do best day by day.

Once again on behalf of entire team at The Oberoi Udaivilas, we thank you for choosing to stay with us on your trip to Udaipur. My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Thank you with kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Petersburg,Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

We have travelled to 120 countries and NEVER stayed at a hotel that comes close ( except for the other Oberoi Hotels). This is an amzingly beautiful hotel with an unmatched staff.
Our only problem twas that we only scheduled 3 nights there!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertandlynell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Guest Relations Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your generous feedback.

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant and delightful stay with us. Your appreciation has been shared with the team and it cheers up our spirits to do best day by day.

Once again on behalf of entire team at The Oberoi Udaivilas, we thank you for choosing to stay with us on your trip to Udaipur. My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Thank you with kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

Had a fantastic two-night stay at Udaivilas. It's a beautiful hotel, just a few years old but designed in keeping with Rajasthani palace tradition so it looks historic. The rooms are spacious and well-thought out. The service is typical Oberoi service: gracious and attentive. Food at the restaurants is excellent.

The pool and spa at Udaivilas are so beautiful that we cut our Udaipur sightseeing short in order to spend the afternoon relaxing at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Guest Relations Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your generous feedback.

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant and delightful stay with us. Your appreciation has been shared with the team and it cheers up our spirits to do best day by day.

Once again on behalf of entire team at The Oberoi Udaivilas, we thank you for choosing to stay with us on your trip to Udaipur. My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Thank you with kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

staff is arrogant and with a lot of attitude...i wouldnt say that about all of them but yes most of them.....they behave more like the guests rather than the hosts....a lot of unnecessary attitude....it spoils the mood and you feel uncomfortable no matter how good the property is....

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,876 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#21 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Property: The Oberoi Udaivilas
Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing