We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #14 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We loved this heritage hotel- beautifully restored merchant house with airy courtyards, a roof top restaurant and rooms with lovely lake views. There were window alcove seats both in our room and in the main restaurant where we could lie and watch the world pass by on the lake. The hotel is right in the middle of the old part of Udaipur so we could walk straigth out to the bazaar and temples- but at the same time the hotel itself was a peaceful haven. All the staff were helpful and food was great. An added bonus- indian music and a puppet show during dinner.

Room Tip: Get a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    508
    110
    32
    24
See reviews for
255
676
77
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

As it was pretty famous and I was not able to reserve a room, I went upto Jagat Niwas only for dinner. The service was lovely. I was early and alone but the staff rallied around to make me feel completely at home. I had one of them take a picture of me.

Jagat Niwas has an uncomparable view of the lake and the palace amid it. The jharokhas are not blocked with glass and you enjoy the cool breeze from the lake in the restaurant. I could only imagine how lovely it would have been had it rained

When I wanted a daylight view, the staff asked me to come early in the morning and happily let me click pictures of the palace and the lake.

My drink and accompaniment were upto expectation. I was happy with the portions served and would definitely return, perhaps with the opportunity to rent a room sometime there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiji_Thattil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Been to Udaipur three times! All three times stayed at Jagat Niwas!
Will talk about that last time (August 2011): I hardly moved out of the hotel. In fact I hardly moved far from any cushion at all! The ultimate romantic laziness, blissful doing-nothingness!....
The rooms are gorgeous and the lake views breathtaking, the restaurant serves glorious food so why to go out?
Breakfast, lunch and dinner all taken at the hotel (well once we went for dinner across the lake) lying down in the white cushions at the upper floor of the restaurant...
Being birdwatchers we did some of the best lazy birding ever: more than 35 species without moving from the cushions!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms only! Why you came to Udaipur?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petrosisaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The Jagat Niwas is a lovely old hotel in a lovely place. Our room had a fine view of Lake Pichola and the Lake Palace Hotel. The rooftop restaurant also has a fine view and serves good food. The hotel's location deep in a narrow lane in Udaipur is one of its charms. One warning: the hotel is in an old building, which means that you have to climb steep stairways to reach the restaurant or your room. There is no elevator.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are bigger and more attractive than the other rooms, and of course they have bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed in many luxurious hotels in India but this was our favourite (and far from the most expensive) for several reasons
The views of Lake Pichola from our bedroom, the restaurant and the roof top terrace.
The extraordinary contrast of being one moment in the hurly-burly of the downtown streets and then the next - the most serene and quiet atmosphere of the hotel.
The courtyards with outdoor stairs to other levels.
The easy walking distance to major attractions such as the City Palace.
The front desk was always friendly and helpful. The food and restaurant service was excellent with one exception - the coffee was instant; we had to go to a nearby restaurant to get a well-brewed coffee.
There are more pretentious and larger hotels around Udaipur (Lake Palace, Oberoi...) but we could not have had a better three days than we had at the Jagat Niwas.
The f

Room Tip: Get one with windows on the lake side. We were on the second level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArnoldOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Me and my wife had booked this hotel after reading great reviews on tripadvisor. We were super excited for our vacation and looking forward to stay in this hotel but our excitment was shattered by the room 103 given to us. We had booked lake view Heritage room worth Rs. 3800 with taxes. The view was good alright however the room was terribly small. There was no room for us to move around. The bathroom was even smaller. This hotel is a heritage hotel hence my wife thought this room 103 would have been used by maid when the raja used to stay there. Such a small room it was.

When we highlighted this to the on duty supervisor he was reluctant to give us any choices of room claiming that the hotel is booked till April 2012. WOW !! This looked to be a complete lie because if this was true than I would not have been able to book a room just 15 days before our vacation.

The above experience totally overshadowed the beautiful roof top restaurant experience, tasty food which we had in that restaurant.

And yes I felt the supervisor and others were partial towards foriegner tourists. So indian tourists beware of this before booking this hotel.

Room Tip: Never ever take room 103 in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhijit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

After a brief walk up and then down a small steep road too narrow for our bus to navigate, we arrived at this lovely haveli after a long day of travel The courtyard full of glass mosaic and reception very friendly. Next our room took our breath away as we were right on the lake with a beautiful bay window seat in red furnishings. Next the roof top restaurant overlooking the beautiful lake. Next the discovery we were so close to the palace. Loved everything about this hotel and city.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enid24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 161 in Udaipur
2,286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 161 in Udaipur
702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#9 of 161 in Udaipur
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 161 in Udaipur
1,057 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#15 of 161 in Udaipur
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 161 in Udaipur
3,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Property: Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Address: 23-25, Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing