We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we would have”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #14 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Here is where we shied we would have stayed....Jagat Niwas Palace.... An immaculate 17th century Haveli that is spotless, well run and in a quiet spot overlooking the lake and famous Lake Palace.   We did not stay here as we prepaid our room somewhere else but looked at one of their rooms and wished we would have.   We went for breakfast and enjoyed the view from the rooftop restaurant, the good service and food so much that we came back for dinner.   Great sunsets, a quiet spot away from city noise and a plus was the musicians playing Indian folk music on a 21 string instrument and tabla ( drums) Recommended for food and lodging.....

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishnflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
There are newer reviews for Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

933 - 939 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2011

Rooms offer nice lake-view but are a bit stuffy. Overrated and overpriced restaurant attended only by western tourists. Very good puppet show in the evening.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jaiwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

It's not Udaivilas and Leela but the quality of place, service, hygiene, price, location, ambiance if makes it a must place to stay in if you are in Udaipur

We went there in mid October and loved our stay plus the service we got

The only negative we saw was the food price which can really make a dent in your pocket if you are traveling with your family but overall we would highly recommend this place

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NiteshNagpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We had a lakeview room and the view was really beautiful. We enjoyed sitting on our window seat just watching. As in all heritage hotels we stayed, there are a lot of narrow stairs.

The location was excellent for walking although the narrow lanes made our driver a bit nervous.

We felt the restaraunt staff wasn't very friendly and could ignore you for a quite a long time.
The food wasn't bad, we just had had much better food elsewhere.

The service at the front desk wasn't anything special either.
There is no wi-fi in the hotel, just an internet desk on the travel shop outside the entrance.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We loved this heritage hotel- beautifully restored merchant house with airy courtyards, a roof top restaurant and rooms with lovely lake views. There were window alcove seats both in our room and in the main restaurant where we could lie and watch the world pass by on the lake. The hotel is right in the middle of the old part of Udaipur so we could walk straigth out to the bazaar and temples- but at the same time the hotel itself was a peaceful haven. All the staff were helpful and food was great. An added bonus- indian music and a puppet show during dinner.

Room Tip: Get a lake view!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

As it was pretty famous and I was not able to reserve a room, I went upto Jagat Niwas only for dinner. The service was lovely. I was early and alone but the staff rallied around to make me feel completely at home. I had one of them take a picture of me.

Jagat Niwas has an uncomparable view of the lake and the palace amid it. The jharokhas are not blocked with glass and you enjoy the cool breeze from the lake in the restaurant. I could only imagine how lovely it would have been had it rained

When I wanted a daylight view, the staff asked me to come early in the morning and happily let me click pictures of the palace and the lake.

My drink and accompaniment were upto expectation. I was happy with the portions served and would definitely return, perhaps with the opportunity to rent a room sometime there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jiji_Thattil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Been to Udaipur three times! All three times stayed at Jagat Niwas!
Will talk about that last time (August 2011): I hardly moved out of the hotel. In fact I hardly moved far from any cushion at all! The ultimate romantic laziness, blissful doing-nothingness!....
The rooms are gorgeous and the lake views breathtaking, the restaurant serves glorious food so why to go out?
Breakfast, lunch and dinner all taken at the hotel (well once we went for dinner across the lake) lying down in the white cushions at the upper floor of the restaurant...
Being birdwatchers we did some of the best lazy birding ever: more than 35 species without moving from the cushions!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms only! Why you came to Udaipur?
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petrosisaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 163 in Udaipur
2,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#17 of 163 in Udaipur
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#9 of 163 in Udaipur
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#16 of 163 in Udaipur
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 163 in Udaipur
1,061 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 163 in Udaipur
3,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Address: 23-25 Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £19 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rajasthan- the state that captures the imagination of everyone who visits it, has stood the test of time and circumstances and till date it retains its heritage, values and traditions. The Rajputs of Rajasthan are famous for their grace, honesty, valour and hospitality. We, the Jagat Collection fraternity, hold these values close to our heart and by reworking these ideas to suit the needs of modern times, proudly present the legacy of ‘living heritage’. Our properties, Jagat Niwas Palace and Dev Niwas, are both heritage mansions staying true to the bygone era in context of the architecture and decor. We aim at not only providing a comfortable and memorable stay but also, to make you a part of our legacy and immerse you in the opulence of Rajasthani culture and hospitality. With more than 35 years of experience in the hospitality industry, our patron - Thakur Devraj Singh Jagat, welcomes you to revel in the effervescence of all that Rajasthan has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing