We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful haven on the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #14 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A peaceful haven on the lake”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for one night on our recent tour of Rajasthan. The hotel is central, but in a quiet spot. We had a Pichola suite facing the lake. It was beautiful - spacious, well equipped, and clean. All the staff were friendly and helpful, the service was first class and the food was pretty good too. We had dinner on the rooftop, overlooking the lake, which was delightful.

Room Tip: Facing the lake for the views. The Pichola Suite was very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    507
    109
    32
    23
See reviews for
253
672
77
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-aulaye, France
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

This charming 17th century haveli is ideally situated on the very edge of Lake Pichola and our room actually overlooked the water, with a stunning view of the Lake Palace. You can walk out of it and be in the centre of fairytale Udaipur within minutes The haveli is delightful, full of interest and character and though the rooms are not luxurious they are very clean and simply but tastefully furnished. From the point of view of "western tourists" who live in India, we did not find the restaurant overpriced as the quality of food and service was very good and being able to eat in a padded window seat or on a starlit rooftop terrace overlooking the lake was a unique and special experience.The evening puppet show was an added attraction.

Room Tip: Do try and get a room overlooking the lake....go around the monsoon when there's plenty of water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Here is where we shied we would have stayed....Jagat Niwas Palace.... An immaculate 17th century Haveli that is spotless, well run and in a quiet spot overlooking the lake and famous Lake Palace.   We did not stay here as we prepaid our room somewhere else but looked at one of their rooms and wished we would have.   We went for breakfast and enjoyed the view from the rooftop restaurant, the good service and food so much that we came back for dinner.   Great sunsets, a quiet spot away from city noise and a plus was the musicians playing Indian folk music on a 21 string instrument and tabla ( drums) Recommended for food and lodging.....

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishnflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Rooms offer nice lake-view but are a bit stuffy. Overrated and overpriced restaurant attended only by western tourists. Very good puppet show in the evening.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaiwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faridabad, Haryana, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

It's not Udaivilas and Leela but the quality of place, service, hygiene, price, location, ambiance if makes it a must place to stay in if you are in Udaipur

We went there in mid October and loved our stay plus the service we got

The only negative we saw was the food price which can really make a dent in your pocket if you are traveling with your family but overall we would highly recommend this place

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NiteshNagpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We had a lakeview room and the view was really beautiful. We enjoyed sitting on our window seat just watching. As in all heritage hotels we stayed, there are a lot of narrow stairs.

The location was excellent for walking although the narrow lanes made our driver a bit nervous.

We felt the restaraunt staff wasn't very friendly and could ignore you for a quite a long time.
The food wasn't bad, we just had had much better food elsewhere.

The service at the front desk wasn't anything special either.
There is no wi-fi in the hotel, just an internet desk on the travel shop outside the entrance.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We loved this heritage hotel- beautifully restored merchant house with airy courtyards, a roof top restaurant and rooms with lovely lake views. There were window alcove seats both in our room and in the main restaurant where we could lie and watch the world pass by on the lake. The hotel is right in the middle of the old part of Udaipur so we could walk straigth out to the bazaar and temples- but at the same time the hotel itself was a peaceful haven. All the staff were helpful and food was great. An added bonus- indian music and a puppet show during dinner.

Room Tip: Get a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 157 in Udaipur
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 157 in Udaipur
2,274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 157 in Udaipur
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#22 of 157 in Udaipur
1,048 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#13 of 157 in Udaipur
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 157 in Udaipur
2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Property: Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Address: 23-25, Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing