We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful position, right on the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #16 of 167 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Glad we had a driver who knew where it was. The entrance is tucked away but well worth finding.
See detalles of our room below.
The restaurant was excellent although you need the time to enjoy. One word of warning, the extras add up. Breakfast is extra of course and 2 taxes to add on to everything.
Having said that it was a lovely hotel stay and we enjoyes the extra luxury

Room Tip: We opted for lake side suite on first floor for the view and extra space. Well worth the difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shadowmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

888 - 894 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

One of the best Hotel in Rajasthan!
Wonderful position on the river of the lake with most of the rooms facing the lake, each room is beautiful and very clean, the staff is kind and the management under the supervision of a woman is one of the best in all the Rajasthan (an Indian state where I've travelled 2 times).
Plus - A very good restaurant, one of the best in Udaipur with an incredible atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaGraziani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed there with my wife for 3 nights. We like to mix budget/homestays with nice hotels during our trip. This was the time for a nice hotel but we didnt want to spend a stupid amount of money. The first room they offered us ( the cheapest possible, around 1800 rp) was not so great and didnt had much of an ambient, it didnt even felt like you were in that same hotel has it was in another part of the hotel. So we asked for the next price-level room, they offered us a beautiful room with such a nice charm and finish details for around 2900rp with breakfast. Not yet the lake facing rooms but we were more than pleased with this and we could see the lake from anywhere else in the hotel anyway so....Very nice stay, very professional service, and the restaurant is actually one of the best we got in our 5 weeks trip. Loved the laying around the table facing the lake meals or the rooftop more elegant set. Nice tandooris and veg curry. Overall, it was our most expensive place where we stayed the whole trip, but also without anything to regret about it, on the contrary, loved every minute and every detail about it. Great!

Room Tip: Dont get the cheapest ones, move up until you find a satisfying relation between what you want to sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dudulisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The hotel is a renovated havela and our room looked directly onto Lake Pichola and the Lake Palace Hotel. The hotel has been attractively restored and traditional items decorate the rooms and courtyards. Service was good and staff friendly. The room was large with a pillowed seating alcove overlooking the lake. The bathroom was basic relative to most of those we had seen during our tour but worked and did its job. Dinner, which was of good quality, was served on a roof terrace overlooking the lake and an illuminated Lake Palace Hotel. Breakfast was served in a first floor restaurant where the preferred choice was to sit or rather sprawl in pllowed alcoves overlooking the lake.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flo-Mal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Seeing the Udaipur in the evening from the roof top is magical! We were lucky to have a great room with the view, beautifully decorated and furnished with old carved furniture. It was clean, good value for the money, comfortable. Truly an old palace!
There was a nice sitting area outside of the room and a very accommodating staff.
One needed only to ask...The manager was very intelligent and pleasant and helped us to deal with a family crisis back in USA.
The palace is a short walk to many attractions. We were happy with our choice!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hedvika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The approach to Jagat Niwas is through a warren of streets in the old area of Udaipur -- very atmospheric and lively. They have only a few lake facing rooms and these are definately worth asking for even though the hotel doesn't guarantee anything at the time of booking. We were lucky!

The room was nice and bathroom clean and well equipped but it lacked ventilation apart from one small exhaust fan. Having said that, converting an ancient building into a modern hotel with many rooms all with en suite bathrooms must have been a real challenge and at Jagat Niwas they have managed to do this without compromising the integrity of the structure for the most part.

Given the great location this could have been a really classy boutique hotel with fewer rooms and more attention to detail. But then this is India where the concept of 'less is more' doesn't exist. Amed Haveli across the water will be our hotel of choice the next time we visit Udaipur. We went there for dinner, had a look at the rooms and they were lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoanBananas68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

It was a really pleasant stay at Jagat Niwas Palace.
The staff were very nice and not too pushy
The views from our room onto Lake Pichola was really nice.
The hotel location is really good, everything is only just a short walk away and you are surround by some really nice shops.
Make sure you get to the cultural dance show around the corner (tickets start selling at 6pm the show starts at 7
The restaurant is fantastic but make sure you book a table. Breakfast is nice and the omelet massala is worth a try.
Note: if you use the laundry service your clothes come back smelling a bit like a tandoori oven

Room Tip: A room with a view of on Lake Pichola is recommended. Make sure you book a table for dinner and fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDixon1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 167 in Udaipur
2,363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#21 of 167 in Udaipur
733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 167 in Udaipur
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#38 of 167 in Udaipur
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#35 of 167 in Udaipur
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Address: 23-25 Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#11 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £57 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rajasthan- the state that captures the imagination of everyone who visits it, has stood the test of time and circumstances and till date it retains its heritage, values and traditions. The Rajputs of Rajasthan are famous for their grace, honesty, valour and hospitality. We, the Jagat Collection fraternity, hold these values close to our heart and by reworking these ideas to suit the needs of modern times, proudly present the legacy of ‘living heritage’. Our properties, Jagat Niwas Palace and Dev Niwas, are both heritage mansions staying true to the bygone era in context of the architecture and decor. We aim at not only providing a comfortable and memorable stay but also, to make you a part of our legacy and immerse you in the opulence of Rajasthani culture and hospitality. With more than 35 years of experience in the hospitality industry, our patron - Thakur Devraj Singh Jagat, welcomes you to revel in the effervescence of all that Rajasthan has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing