We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel with fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. The attention to detail was second to none in terms of maintenance of the grounds, with plants and beautiful candle displays everywhere. There were also lots of lovely places to sit, many with great views of the lake. The staff were incredibly helpful and made us feel very welcome, and the location was central. We had both a lake view and non lake view room when we there and both were lovely. The non lake view room in particular was very large and felt like fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h_rossbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    503
    107
    31
    23
See reviews for
248
668
77
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

At the first look it looks like to Bé à very charmful and Well located hôtel, yes but only if you havé the chance to Bé ni the rooms with lake view´ the ôther one Paid as luxury rooms are very ordinary and the worsest we see since we travel in Radjasthan ...... À gréât disApointment

Room Tip: Only lake view´ rooms.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cozofephil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Glad we had a driver who knew where it was. The entrance is tucked away but well worth finding.
See detalles of our room below.
The restaurant was excellent although you need the time to enjoy. One word of warning, the extras add up. Breakfast is extra of course and 2 taxes to add on to everything.
Having said that it was a lovely hotel stay and we enjoyes the extra luxury

Room Tip: We opted for lake side suite on first floor for the view and extra space. Well worth the difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shadowmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

One of the best Hotel in Rajasthan!
Wonderful position on the river of the lake with most of the rooms facing the lake, each room is beautiful and very clean, the staff is kind and the management under the supervision of a woman is one of the best in all the Rajasthan (an Indian state where I've travelled 2 times).
Plus - A very good restaurant, one of the best in Udaipur with an incredible atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaGraziani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisbon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed there with my wife for 3 nights. We like to mix budget/homestays with nice hotels during our trip. This was the time for a nice hotel but we didnt want to spend a stupid amount of money. The first room they offered us ( the cheapest possible, around 1800 rp) was not so great and didnt had much of an ambient, it didnt even felt like you were in that same hotel has it was in another part of the hotel. So we asked for the next price-level room, they offered us a beautiful room with such a nice charm and finish details for around 2900rp with breakfast. Not yet the lake facing rooms but we were more than pleased with this and we could see the lake from anywhere else in the hotel anyway so....Very nice stay, very professional service, and the restaurant is actually one of the best we got in our 5 weeks trip. Loved the laying around the table facing the lake meals or the rooftop more elegant set. Nice tandooris and veg curry. Overall, it was our most expensive place where we stayed the whole trip, but also without anything to regret about it, on the contrary, loved every minute and every detail about it. Great!

Room Tip: Dont get the cheapest ones, move up until you find a satisfying relation between what you want to sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dudulisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

The hotel is a renovated havela and our room looked directly onto Lake Pichola and the Lake Palace Hotel. The hotel has been attractively restored and traditional items decorate the rooms and courtyards. Service was good and staff friendly. The room was large with a pillowed seating alcove overlooking the lake. The bathroom was basic relative to most of those we had seen during our tour but worked and did its job. Dinner, which was of good quality, was served on a roof terrace overlooking the lake and an illuminated Lake Palace Hotel. Breakfast was served in a first floor restaurant where the preferred choice was to sit or rather sprawl in pllowed alcoves overlooking the lake.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo-Mal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Seeing the Udaipur in the evening from the roof top is magical! We were lucky to have a great room with the view, beautifully decorated and furnished with old carved furniture. It was clean, good value for the money, comfortable. Truly an old palace!
There was a nice sitting area outside of the room and a very accommodating staff.
One needed only to ask...The manager was very intelligent and pleasant and helped us to deal with a family crisis back in USA.
The palace is a short walk to many attractions. We were happy with our choice!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedvika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#26 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Property: Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Address: 23-25, Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing