We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jagat Niwas the place to stay in Udaipur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Jagat Niwas the place to stay in Udaipur”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

The Jagat Niwas was everything and more than we expected. We had a room overloking the lake . I recommend you request one of these rooms as the view was stunning. The hotel is steeped in history and very well maintained. Dinner is served on two levels. Breakfast which was included was served on the lower level. The roof is a fantastic place to eat and watch the sun go down. Either area is a joy to be in, being spacious with captivating views. We enoyed everything on the menu. The staff are helpfull and curtious. The hotel location gives the visitor a welcome and exciting Tuk Tuk ride to it's doorstep. Loved Udaipur and would stay here
again...Excellent...

Room Tip: Request a room with views over the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg_and_sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    504
    108
    32
    23
See reviews for
250
670
77
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Excellent lake side location.Centrally located.Well maintained and clean environment.Lot of attractions nearby.Courteous & attentive staff.Serene environment.Provide perfect view if lake palace.Viewnfrom our room was excellent.

Room Tip: top rooms provide good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jitendra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This is an amazing hotel which was recommended to us by Imagine India. The view from our room of the lake was fantastic. We had a lovely window seat where we could both sit and reflect on the amazing trip, sites, colour and sounds we had seen during our trip to India.

We could also recall the James Bond film which took place on the Island.

Food was excellent and you can sit on the roof top to eat and watch the fireworks - magical. Service was outstanding.

Great location for sightseeing and shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chriswhiteside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Perfectly located, directly on the lake overlooking the Lake Palace. Many sights are within a walking distance. The restaurant offers delicious dishes. Internet is free of charge. We really enjoyed our stay there.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Spinks001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Fantastic hotel, beautiful location on the lakeside and right in the centre near to lots of attractions, shops and restaurants. We were given a lovely lake view room which had a seated bay window. A great place to relax and enjoy the bustling atmosphere of beautiful Udaipur. The restaurant is a must visit. You could not find a better view of the floating palace. The food was delicious and staff very attentive.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We looked at every hotel in Udaipur and finally decided on Jagat Niwas. It is absolutely charming, beautiful, authentic, perfectly located, and everything we had hoped for. We had a deluxe lake view room, and waking up in the morning and reading on the bench seat and looking at the lake, directly out of our window, was perfection. The rooftop restaurant has the best views of the lake and city, we thought the food was average. Rooms are comfortable, nothing fancy, but beautifully decorated and very traditional. I can honestly say, this is a no-brainer, get the deluxe lake view. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiscoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
293 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We felt like princesses as we sat in our box window, overlooking the hotel courtyard and lake in the distance. The room was simply lovely. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. And, the hotel restaurant was very good (we ate Indian food). It was also a perfect location from which to walk and explore the town.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#5 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Property: Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Address: 23-25, Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing