We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in Udaipur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #14 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Visiting friends in Udaipur and at 7pm hadn't finalised accommodation. We were dining on the roof top restaurant and felt it would be a good place to stay! Despite being almost 100% booked there was a room, at that stage probably for only 2 nights. Perhaps we would have selected a lake front if there had been a choice but what we got was very good and excellent value. Clean tidy on third level, plenty of space and everything worked. As it turned out due to a cancellation the Front Desk fitted us in and we stayed in the same room for 9 days. We really enjoyed the place. Staff were friendly and efficient. Waiter Ali always added a bit of colour & humour! The place itself is an oasis from the bustle and noise of the city. plenty of transport or can walk to most places in the city. Both roof top at night or lunch / afternoon graze in restaurant on window loungers adds to the Udaipur experience. The food itself wasn't outstanding but acceptable. In summary, should we visit Udaipur again we'd definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palmcovetone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
There are newer reviews for Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 845 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2012

The hotel and the surroundings are amazing. Without doubt, Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel is one of the nicest places I've ever stayed at. The hotel and Udaipur itself are absolutely beautiful. My first impression when we arrived in the morning was that I had stepped into a magic kingdom. It is so peaceful and relaxing.

We stayed in room 116 which I highly reccomend. It had a romantic canopy bed and window seat overlooking Lake Pichola. The only drawback (which is why I knocked one star off the rating) is the issue we had with the hot water. It ran out quickly and required us to take very quick showers (i.e. under 5 minutes). Had the hot water not been a problem, I would have given it 5 stars. But the ambiance of the hotel and luxurious room pretty much made up for the lack of hot water.

Jagat Niwas was a great middle ground between the super expensive Lake Palace Hotel and the low budget/back packer type of hotels also found in Udaipur. Overall, great experience.

Room Tip: Room 116 was gorgeous.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_Sharma3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Spent the last two nights of our India Adventure at this hotel and it was fabulous!! Extremely clean,good food,fantastic location, friendly helpful staff and unsurpassed view from our heritage room. Only downside was that the bathroom was tiny and everything got wet when you showered but then you sit on the window seat and look at the view - makes up for it 100%!!!

Room Tip: Heritage room overlooking the lake. Ours was the very lowest so it was quite small.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed two nights in one of the better rooms overlooking the lake. The room was very large, well furnished with 3 window seats with fantastic views. We ate there on the second night and the food was good (Indian, medium spicy). Two things knock the rating down:
1) Internet was free, but only worked in the small lobby
2) For such a good room, why was the bathroom so ordinary? Old fashioned basin, open shower spraying water all over, and a tiny storage heater, albeit fairly quick to reheat.
Both these things could be remedied.

Room Tip: Lake facing only, otherwise wasting the position
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TukoPomojaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We walked into the room and saw straight out the window to the Floating Palace. The room was large, and spacious. Clean and well presented. The decor was a bit " over the top" ,being all block printed flowers , pink Just a bit girlie for some.
The staff were great. Only one fault was we never got to eat roof top as you had to book!
We had wifi in the foyer. Next door was a tour guide, his prices equaled others in the street. We used his driver Anand, for 3 days. Anand spoke great English, could drive well, new all the local spots for meals. Can recommend him anandraj1232006@yahoo.com.
Or +91 9929386958.
The view from Jagat Niwas was brillant

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank red5625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I have no words other than I absolutely loved this hotel.
I am a budget traveller, but splashed out a bit as my mom was with me, and it was so worth it. The building is beautiful, the view is stunning, this food was good and the staff were fantastic.
The beds are a teeny bit hard for my liking but that seems to be the norm in India..
We stayed for 2 nights and we were very sorry we couldn't stay longer.
I stayed in a standard room which was more than adequate, all these people moaning that the TV's too high and the phone doesn't work, did you come to India to sit in your room and watch TV and talk on the phone?
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this beautiful city:)

Room Tip: If your not wanting to spend a lot but still want the view book a standard and go sit on the rooftop...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nicola m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

The Jagat Niwas was everything and more than we expected. We had a room overloking the lake . I recommend you request one of these rooms as the view was stunning. The hotel is steeped in history and very well maintained. Dinner is served on two levels. Breakfast which was included was served on the lower level. The roof is a fantastic place to eat and watch the sun go down. Either area is a joy to be in, being spacious with captivating views. We enoyed everything on the menu. The staff are helpfull and curtious. The hotel location gives the visitor a welcome and exciting Tuk Tuk ride to it's doorstep. Loved Udaipur and would stay here
again...Excellent...

Room Tip: Request a room with views over the lake...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greg_and_sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 163 in Udaipur
2,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#18 of 163 in Udaipur
709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#8 of 163 in Udaipur
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#16 of 163 in Udaipur
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 163 in Udaipur
3,051 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 163 in Udaipur
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Address: 23-25 Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £18 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rajasthan- the state that captures the imagination of everyone who visits it, has stood the test of time and circumstances and till date it retains its heritage, values and traditions. The Rajputs of Rajasthan are famous for their grace, honesty, valour and hospitality. We, the Jagat Collection fraternity, hold these values close to our heart and by reworking these ideas to suit the needs of modern times, proudly present the legacy of ‘living heritage’. Our properties, Jagat Niwas Palace and Dev Niwas, are both heritage mansions staying true to the bygone era in context of the architecture and decor. We aim at not only providing a comfortable and memorable stay but also, to make you a part of our legacy and immerse you in the opulence of Rajasthani culture and hospitality. With more than 35 years of experience in the hospitality industry, our patron - Thakur Devraj Singh Jagat, welcomes you to revel in the effervescence of all that Rajasthan has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing