We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, peaceful, great lake views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #14 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful, great lake views”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

The Jagat Niwas Palace hotel is a beautifully decorated hotel located on the shore of Pichola Lake. Its roof-top offers wonderful views. Lush plants, statues of Hindu gods and Buddha make the place look lovely and peaceful, particularly at night as the soft lights illuminate the full house and give it a romantic glow. We have a lake view room- I think there are only 3 rooms with lake view and all are on the first floor. The room is very clean and the sofa window is a very comfortable and pleasant place to sit/rest while enjoying the lovely lake view. From our room we can see the Lake Palace floating on the lake. AC is in excellent working condition and staff is very friendly and offers helpful assistance. We were lucky to have the lake view room because we had to spend so much time in the room. The room is quite small; it feels a little crowded and does not have sufficient surfaces to put all the stuff. The shower is part of the bath room and it does not have a curtain to block out water from spreading all over. After shower, the floor in the bathroom is dangerously slippery. Toiletries were basic, no conditioner was provided. The In-room water-heater size is small, so the shower is rushed and the second person needs to wait for water to be hot again. Breakfast was the usual fare- nothing particularly special.
The hotel restaurant is rated as the best option for dining both for food quality and lake view. Our dinners were delicious.

Room Tip: splurge on a lake view room highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    509
    110
    32
    24
See reviews for
255
676
77
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level 6 Contributor
580 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We've moved to Jagat Niwas after staying in another hotel and being sick for two days in a claustrophobic room. We've stayed in a Heritage room and it was a relief: spacious, big bed, small couch, great. Bathroom was also good, spacious and good shower - although you have hot water for about 5/10 minutes because of their heating system. After that you have to wait to heat again.
TV was working, with lots of channels (yes, this is important when you're sick). And the hotel building is beautiful,with nice courtyard and rooftop with great view of the lake.
Their restaurant is among the best in Udaipur, service is good and courteous. Internet is free and works in the lobby area only.
I highly recommend paying more to stay here instead in one of its cheaper neighbors.

Room Tip: Heritage rooms are nice, but lake view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove Village, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Absolutely surreal location, food, rooms, views, tiles, courtyards combine to make one memorable experience. We were on a level just below the roof. Getting to our room always seemed to be walking in an M.C. Escher drawing. The stairs seem to be everywhere in every direction. A magnificent grand old hotel today, built in the 1600,s as a palace for the gentry. The restaurant at the hotel is delightful. It is on two levels with rooftop tables for quiet evening dinners. The rooms are very nice for a heritage hotel. The view being right on the shore of Lake Pichola is the stuff in fairy tales.
If stairs are an issue for travellers then you will not have a good time at this property.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenMcLaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
598 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

When we arrived we discovered that instead of the twin room we had booked there was only a double available. They converted the window seat to a 2nd bed for the night, which was adequate with regards to size, but certainly not comfortable. They also came to sort out the bathroom drain, from which a terrible stench was coming and despite 'freshening the air' ... the stench came back by morning.

The next morning they confirmed that we could be changed to a twin room (as booked!) and it was great. The only issue was the bathroom, which didn't smell bad at all, but was poorly designed. The shower (with great pressure and hot water) was in the corner of the room but there was no barrier/curtain/glass to separate it from the basin/toilet area, so the entire room essentially gets wet when showering!

Both rooms were waterfront, with lovely views of the sunset. Mosquitos were plentiful, although the hotel does its best to keep them at bay. We ate at the hotel restaurant dinner and found the selection somewhat limited and the dishes average. Breakfast was rather ordinary as well. The wi-fi in the lobby was good.

The location is certainly good and they capitalise I think on their waterfront location.

Room Tip: Waterfront has great views, but check the bathroom layout first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seabird21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Cove, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Visiting friends in Udaipur and at 7pm hadn't finalised accommodation. We were dining on the roof top restaurant and felt it would be a good place to stay! Despite being almost 100% booked there was a room, at that stage probably for only 2 nights. Perhaps we would have selected a lake front if there had been a choice but what we got was very good and excellent value. Clean tidy on third level, plenty of space and everything worked. As it turned out due to a cancellation the Front Desk fitted us in and we stayed in the same room for 9 days. We really enjoyed the place. Staff were friendly and efficient. Waiter Ali always added a bit of colour & humour! The place itself is an oasis from the bustle and noise of the city. plenty of transport or can walk to most places in the city. Both roof top at night or lunch / afternoon graze in restaurant on window loungers adds to the Udaipur experience. The food itself wasn't outstanding but acceptable. In summary, should we visit Udaipur again we'd definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmcovetone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

The hotel and the surroundings are amazing. Without doubt, Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel is one of the nicest places I've ever stayed at. The hotel and Udaipur itself are absolutely beautiful. My first impression when we arrived in the morning was that I had stepped into a magic kingdom. It is so peaceful and relaxing.

We stayed in room 116 which I highly reccomend. It had a romantic canopy bed and window seat overlooking Lake Pichola. The only drawback (which is why I knocked one star off the rating) is the issue we had with the hot water. It ran out quickly and required us to take very quick showers (i.e. under 5 minutes). Had the hot water not been a problem, I would have given it 5 stars. But the ambiance of the hotel and luxurious room pretty much made up for the lack of hot water.

Jagat Niwas was a great middle ground between the super expensive Lake Palace Hotel and the low budget/back packer type of hotels also found in Udaipur. Overall, great experience.

Room Tip: Room 116 was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_Sharma3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Spent the last two nights of our India Adventure at this hotel and it was fabulous!! Extremely clean,good food,fantastic location, friendly helpful staff and unsurpassed view from our heritage room. Only downside was that the bathroom was tiny and everything got wet when you showered but then you sit on the window seat and look at the view - makes up for it 100%!!!

Room Tip: Heritage room overlooking the lake. Ours was the very lowest so it was quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 161 in Udaipur
2,287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#17 of 161 in Udaipur
703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#8 of 161 in Udaipur
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 161 in Udaipur
1,058 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#15 of 161 in Udaipur
564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 161 in Udaipur
3,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Property: Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Address: 23-25, Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing