We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
pittsburgh pa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“loved this place”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

what a great place to stay in udaipur. right on the lake, our twin room was the best. bay windows where we could lounge with a perfect view. restaurant wonderful as well. staff excellent. just a great place to relax and still be near all the sights.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artmatterspgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    504
    109
    32
    23
See reviews for
250
670
77
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

35 nights in India, hotels of all categories, all inclusive of breakfast, except for Jagat Newas! Beware of the breakfast! I am not one to make a big deal about these things, but when all this was brought up to management and I wished for them to express some apology or correction, it became my fault for not knowing what was going on.

If you were not informed before to include breakfast with your room when booking (apparently some guests are as we later found out), something I was never offered in all of my dealings with the hotel, BEWARE! You will walk into the restaurant, be marked by your room number as breakfast not included ( on purpose to get you to spend more money), and offered an a la carte menue. My wife and I each had a bowl of mueslix with curd, coffee, and fruit(dried as it was cut up the night before) and billed around 1500 RS. We have had outstanding full dinners all over India for less than this price.

The Hotel should be ashamed of itself for this practice, as they charge a good amount for their services (plenty of other good options all over the lake region).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelonVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

If you book a lake view suite, the room itself is good. Bathroom equipment is minimal and the shower is indian style which means no curtain or glass - so expect everything to be wet after a shower... A lot of pigeons will sit outside of your window bench and wake you up in the morning. But maybe you are already awake as you can hear the chairs and tables moving early in the morning from the restaurant above all/most lake facing rooms. The restaurant and food is average, service rather slow. The location of the hotel is very good in the center of Udaipur close to Lal Ghat where you can get on a boat ride on the lake - by the way, in Udaipur the city center was the only rather clean place we found in a city (compared to Delhi, Jaipur, Jodhpur, Bundi, Nagaur, Mandawa etc.). In total I would give it a 3,5 - somewhere between average and good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phototravellerbasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharmshala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Our experience with both the hotel and the travel agent has been beyond expectations. The hotel is beautiful and the staff helpful and friendly. We have been on an 18 day trip set up with Namshakar tour with our excellent and cautious driver, Anand. We have been treated as family as if we are favorite aunties. We have been to many cities where we were provided with a selection of hotels that have been beautiful and comfortable with all arrangements taken care of for us. Anand have proved to be a wonderful companion who is resourceful and a good problem solver. He anticipates situations. Both the hotel and the travel agent is a good value and I recommend then highly. Victoria Cockerill and Gloria McConnaghy

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank VickieCockerill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This is just a fabulous place to stay... Right on the shore of Lake Pichola giving a million dollar view and ambience. It is an enchanting hotel with it's many stairs and beautiful, welcoming feel. Every review raves about the rooftop view, so do I. It was really fantastic to sit there at sunset/ sunrise and watch the different hues of colour playing on the landscape.
The Pichola Suite looks across the lake which is enchanting at sunrise/ sunset.It is a big room with a large bay window furnished with cushion so that one can enjoy the view in comfort. The room is very comfortable and clean. It is on the level of the restaurant but is very quiet at night.
The restaurant was disappointing. Breakfast was skimpy and food at dinner time was not great. They were relatively expensive too.
That it is such a wonderful place is spoilt by the fact that it is a very basic
hotel. Items like a hairdryer, facial tissue papers and extra soaps (more than just 1 for a few days stay) had to be requested before being supplied. The restaurant staff also did not know to talk softly at 5.00am in the morning. Only after our door was opened twice when I looked at them did they quieten down.
We loved this hotel, maybe a lot more if they just upgrade a little.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 78slim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We loved Udaipur and this hotel but would agree with comments re lack of WiFi access and relatively expensive food - however with a water front room all that is lost in enjoying it. Due to its location it feels very private. We would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDit54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

At the end of a very narrow winding road - a really Beautiful Hotel appears and its right next to the lake. We loved the decor of this hotel and our rooms were very spacious and looked out onto the water. The food - staff -service - location - views all were perfect. When we return to Udaipur we'll be staying there and we recommend it.

Room Tip: There are a lot of stairs to climb so if your elderly or have problems with knee joints etc I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheenaJenningsDash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#5 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#26 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Property: Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Address: 23-25, Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing