We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #14 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013

In the heart of lovely Udaipur, city of lakes, this many tiered hotel is close to the magnificent City Palace but even better located on the lake's edge with views to enjoy (lake, lake palace, hills). The food is good at the two level rooftop restaurant. Service was very efficient and unobtrusive. Free Wi-Fi was available in the downstairs courtyard. This was a relaxing, clean and very attractive hotel.

Room Tip: A Lakeview room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neill46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
There are newer reviews for Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

791 - 797 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

As part of a group of eight painters (no decorating!) we stayed at this wonderful hotel for three days. Wow, wow wow! Words nearly fail me. Situated right next to the lake it has wonderful views from all the rooms. You can enjoy breakfast looking out across the water as Udaipur wakens or enjoy dinner beneath the bright stars and balmy skies sitting on the roof. Super staff, super service, super hotel.

Room Tip: Go for room 119 - ground floor - it has its own waterside veranda with tables and chairs. In the roo...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dusty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Our room was small but stylish with the lake view. We enjoyed the lovely location with the ability to walk out of the hotel to explore Udaipur. Rooftop restaurant served good food with wonderful views over the lake. Staff excellent.

Room Tip: Lake view room
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Without a doubt, the place that made me feel pampered and spoiled, as I completely fell in love with my large window seat overlooking Lake Pichola! The room is spacious and comfortable, and there is a separate nook for our suitcases. The extra cost of the lake-facing room was worth it to me, as it gave me the opportunity to fantasize and really feel like royalty. The only odd thing about this place is the open shower in the bathroom (but I didn't mind it). The restaurant on top is also a wonderful amenity of the hotel. The hotel is elegant, with a very polished and professional staff.

Clearly, I was fortunate to have the room with the large windowseat overlooking the lake, unlike the earlier reviewer.

We also ate in the restaurant, which we found to be very good and a great setting.

Room Tip: Lakefacing room
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Despite having booked a lake view room 7 months in advance of our trip, we were notified only 3 weeks before departure that the lake view rooms were unavailable, and we would get a non-lake view room. When we checked in we were assigned to (sub)standard rooms, three levels below our original booking. Here's what we got: Rooms with no windows, no bedside lamps, no on-demand hot water (we did get our own hot water heater which had to be started 15 minutes before you needed the hot water, and was then only enough for one brief shower), no A/C, no in-room safe to secure valuables, no place except a cement shelf to put clothing, shabby furniture, no place to put your suitcase, and no complimentary drinking water. To add insult to injury we had to endure a surly front desk clerk who presided over his fiefdom replete with signs "Visitors Not Allowed in Rooms" and "No Washing Clothes in Rooms". We checked out the same day we checked in. Absolutely for the only most intrepid traveller who can't afford more and is willing to sacrifice basic comforts for price. Badly needs a complete overhaul from staff in pseudo-military dress to rooms lacking too many basics to basic courtesy. Not recommended!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

When asked for dining recommendations in Udaipur, most people would get either Amet Haveli or Jagat Niwas - the two hotels serving the best food with the best view. We were privileged to have tried both and true enough, both made an impression.

We tried Jagat Niwas on the day we arrived at Udaipur as it came highly recommended and was only a five-minute walk from our hotel. Upon ordering, we realized that they had stopped serving main courses as lunch time was long over (we were there at 3-4ish) and only snacks / finger food were available. We were extremely disappointed to hear from the waiter that orders for main courses would only resume at 6pm. Immediately, I explained to the waiter that we had just arrived and were starving since we haven't had lunch and requested that they make an exception for us. Fortunately for us, he was VERY kind to oblige. As Udaipur was the last stop of our two-week India journey, we thought we had enough of Indian food and was craving for anything other than Indian. After thorough flipping of the menu, my partner opted for Fish & Chips while I went for the Chicken Pesto Fusilli. We ordered the conventional Chicken Briyani for our Indian Driver.

The Fish & Chips, I must say, was a major disappointment. All we could taste was flour and the fish fillets had a sickly pink colour! If without the tartar sauce, it was almost inedible. Thankfully, my Chicken Pesto Fusilli tasted fine but it got cloy-ish after a few mouthfuls. I had to munch on the chips to get some variations in my food. But but but........ the Chicken Briyani was surprisingly good or rather exceptionally good. It tasted very different from the numerous Briyani Rice we had before. It was so yummy that I regretted not taking a photo of that dish to possibly study the ingredients that made the dish so flavourful. If given a chance, I would definitely want to visit Jagat Niwas again just to have the Briyani and probably also to discover its secret. Haha.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenmomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

what a great place to stay in udaipur. right on the lake, our twin room was the best. bay windows where we could lounge with a perfect view. restaurant wonderful as well. staff excellent. just a great place to relax and still be near all the sights.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artmatterspgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 163 in Udaipur
2,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#18 of 163 in Udaipur
709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#8 of 163 in Udaipur
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#16 of 163 in Udaipur
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 163 in Udaipur
3,051 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 163 in Udaipur
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Address: 23-25 Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £18 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rajasthan- the state that captures the imagination of everyone who visits it, has stood the test of time and circumstances and till date it retains its heritage, values and traditions. The Rajputs of Rajasthan are famous for their grace, honesty, valour and hospitality. We, the Jagat Collection fraternity, hold these values close to our heart and by reworking these ideas to suit the needs of modern times, proudly present the legacy of ‘living heritage’. Our properties, Jagat Niwas Palace and Dev Niwas, are both heritage mansions staying true to the bygone era in context of the architecture and decor. We aim at not only providing a comfortable and memorable stay but also, to make you a part of our legacy and immerse you in the opulence of Rajasthani culture and hospitality. With more than 35 years of experience in the hospitality industry, our patron - Thakur Devraj Singh Jagat, welcomes you to revel in the effervescence of all that Rajasthan has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing