We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #14 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Splurge and upgrade to a room with a lake view. They may be smaller but sitting in the window alcove watching the lake is unbeatable. Food was good although service in restaurant indifferent. Room warm. Hotel is stunning.

Room Tip: Lake view!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekelly051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
There are newer reviews for Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

659 - 665 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

Jagat Niwas is a very good property and one of the best places I have stayed in Udaipur. The rooftop restaurant has a wonderful view and good cold beer and cocktails. But be careful with the street boys and commission agents outside the entrance who make up stories about going to your country for exhibition and art and culture exchange programs, which they're not going to. They just want to make a fool out of you and sell you stuff. Other than that, the stay was lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maddiegeegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Jagat Niwas has a memorable spot in our travel because it found this last minute as we were driving into Udaipur from Jaipur after rejects from 5 hotels, they had a room one day and suite one day available. We found it on google maps and drove upto Jagdish temple before which our GPS went crazy and was not able to show direction. In the mean time we were stuck in a tiny tiny gaali in the udaipur afternoon frenzy. We asked our way around and reached lal ghaat and the lanes became narrower and narrower. Mohit was sure we were not staying in a place like this until we came to a ghat of lake pichola and found jagat niwas. Tempers were high because of the narrow roads and general lack direction but then we walked into the hotel and saw the room and the view. I was floored, I have been to beautiful places but to actually stay in a room that doesn't just overlook Lake pichola but starts where the lake ends was spectacular. The staff takes no responsibility of your car which you have to part near the Lake ghat, around 500 m away. Feels very unsafe but our car survived 2 days with 2 scratches.
More about the hotel, we were in room 111 which was lovely, then got out to a suite 101, which was expensive but completely worth it. You feel like royality with 3 jharokas, a seperate changing room and huge jharoka in the bedroom where you can sit for hours and hours and still not have admired the view enough. The location is spectacular we walked to every place which is awesome. We had only breakfast at the hotel, which was average. Good chai, lack of Rajasthani cuisine. I highly recommend the suite and taking the time to enjoy sitting in the rooms jharoka.

Room Tip: Get the suite, we were in 101 it was perfect.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrschax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This is a really great hotel in the centre of Udaipur right on the lake. It has good views of the Palace and the Lake Palace Hotel. We ate on the roof terrace even though it was the end of December and the views were outstanding. Service was good and the food was one of the better meals that we had whilst in India. Extensive menu and good surroundings.
Would definitely visit again for the restaurant experience and would probably use the hotel to stay in if needed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaMontenegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This place was really nice and absolutely beautiful heritage style.
Awesome view from the rooftop, located in the very city center though very calm and peaceful inside. Very helpful staff. Best bed we had soar in India.
Prices in the restaurant are little bit high, but at night it is really worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unclesam_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

the hotel is located at the pichola lake. most of the tourist spots are located at a waking distance. the rooms are tastefully done up in indian fabrics and decor. the only problem i had was that there are too many lizards roaming about the hotel in the night. for someone like me who fears them, it was a nightmare.

the restaurant is also nice with great views of pichola lake and the lake palace.

Room Tip: all rooms are different.. suggest you take a look at 2-3 rooms before settling for one.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shr_Mod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

this hotel located in the bustling city of udaipur is a rare find. located at the pichola lake, many rooms have city palace and lake facing views.the rooms are tastefully done up. the restaurant is also very nice. service is great. we stayed at the place for 2 nights. most of the tourist destinations are walking distance which is great as udaipur is best explored by foot.

Cons--
1. having a lake facing room has its own share of problems -- a peculiar smell in the rooms and mosquitos
2. the hotel is a boutique hotel.. no two rooms are similar.
3. there is no lift.
4. they are quite fussy about the check out time.. they wont even give you even an extra hour.
5. in the night, all kinds of insects roam about the hotel... the lizards come out in hoardes. very creepy if you have a insect phobia. thankfully, the rooms are well insulated.

Room Tip: try taking a room that does not directly face the lake but still has a good view of the restaurant a...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandeip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 163 in Udaipur
2,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#17 of 163 in Udaipur
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#9 of 163 in Udaipur
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#16 of 163 in Udaipur
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 163 in Udaipur
1,061 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 163 in Udaipur
3,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Address: 23-25 Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £19 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rajasthan- the state that captures the imagination of everyone who visits it, has stood the test of time and circumstances and till date it retains its heritage, values and traditions. The Rajputs of Rajasthan are famous for their grace, honesty, valour and hospitality. We, the Jagat Collection fraternity, hold these values close to our heart and by reworking these ideas to suit the needs of modern times, proudly present the legacy of ‘living heritage’. Our properties, Jagat Niwas Palace and Dev Niwas, are both heritage mansions staying true to the bygone era in context of the architecture and decor. We aim at not only providing a comfortable and memorable stay but also, to make you a part of our legacy and immerse you in the opulence of Rajasthani culture and hospitality. With more than 35 years of experience in the hospitality industry, our patron - Thakur Devraj Singh Jagat, welcomes you to revel in the effervescence of all that Rajasthan has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing