We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in a wonderful city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #14 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in a wonderful city”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We were given the stand alone room right at the top of the hotel. The steep stairs were a challenge to me but we would not have swapped our room for any price. Our door and windows looked over the roof top restaurant to the city the mountains and the whole lake....breathtakingly beautiful. The hotel is a gem with first class service and very classy food in the restaurant. We ate at the hotel both the nights we stayed in Udaipur. Walking distance from the palace, the temple and the boat cruise terminal. The room was spacious and the bed was great. Some small problem with shower pressure probably because of the room's elevation but perfectly adequate. I would never tire of staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    507
    110
    32
    23
See reviews for
253
673
77
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Staying in this hotel was a highlight of my 2 week trip to India. We LOVED the lakefront window seats (seriously, so relaxing and comfortable) and the rooftop restaurant was delicious and had the best sunset views. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and had character. The staff was also super friendly and accommodating. Hoping to return soon!

Room Tip: Lakefront rooms are obviously ideal, but the other rooms are nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Well maintained charming heritage hotel with clean spacious rooms. It has its own character. Very attentive and friendly staff. Beautiful courtyard. Very good for rest after a full day of touring. Location is unbeatable: all Udaipur attractions can be explored on feet from the hotel. Breakfasts and dinners in the restaurant were delicious and accompanied by a beautiful lake view. This hotel was selected and booked by Maavalan Travels (www.maavalanindiatravels.com) for our month long private tour to India.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Spend two days at this hotel as part of a 10 day tour of northern India with Trinetra Tours. Hotel is situated right on the lake bank. Our room had a lake view and was decorated in Indian decor with a comfortable, large bed. Room was very clean and we had good service both from hotel staff and the restaurant staff at the hotel's restaurant located on the second floor overlooking the lake. The stairs up are somewhat steep and the hotel has no elevator. There is also a roof top section to the restaurant which we did not use due to the cold weather. The main restaurant itself is not walled so was open to the cool air. There are a number of upscale shops at the enterance to the hotel and also a currency exchange very close by the entrance.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJSellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This hotel offers a very beautiful view of the lake during sunset. To enjoy your stay during summer, get a room with the lake view. The rooftop restaurant offers a picturesque view of the lake palace especially at night. The food was excellent! This hotel is strategically located and you can walk to City Palace, Jagdish Temple and the surrounding market area.

Room Tip: Get a room with the lake view during summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nagen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel has such a wonderful location and beautiful decor that you can forgive some of the poor points - surly restaurant manager, no tea and coffee facilities etc, as mentioned in other reviews.
We had a small room with a great view of the lake. The cleanliness could have been better as the duvet cover wasn't clean.
Wifi was erratic but free.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The hotel has a wonderful lakeside location with great views out over the lake and attractions. We had a lakeside room which was small but very comfortable and it was lovely to be able to lie in the window seat and take in the lake. The rooftop restaurant has a stunning location. Food was good but not exceptional and the staff were quite friendly.

Room Tip: Go for a lakeside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 157 in Udaipur
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 157 in Udaipur
2,275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 157 in Udaipur
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#22 of 157 in Udaipur
1,048 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 157 in Udaipur
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 157 in Udaipur
2,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Property: Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Address: 23-25, Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing